We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceelent location for East Midlands airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Long Eaton
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Exceelent location for East Midlands airport”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Booked via booking.com and found this hotel for the two of us including breakfast for £51. Absolutely brilliant price. The room was clean and spacious. A large comfy bed and coffee making facilities. Efficient and friendly reception staff. Only a few miles from East Midlands airport, just one junction down on the M1 for the intersection for the airport. A large free car park. Excellent breakfast (full English). I would definitely use this hotel again if flying from East Midlands as it takes away the stress of the M1 and all the current problems that happen on a daily basis on the road due to extended and very long road works.
Rob and Jan

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferriby10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear ferriby10,

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review on tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.
We are glad to read that you awarded us 5 stars and enjoyed our outstanding levels of hospitality and received value for money.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Nottingham East Midlands when you are next in the area.

Kind regards

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    385
    206
    64
    54
See reviews for
268
240
75
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed here for seven nights and my experience was positive overall.

The hotel looks quite dated on the outside, it certainly seems as though it was built in the 1960s or 1970s. This look also extends to the rooms, which have woodchip walls and key (rather than card) operated doors. It is easy criticise it for the appearance but in a way it does add to the charm and individuality of the hotel.

Breakfast was great; a wide range of cooked and continental-style. The dinner menu was rather expensive, and I only tried a couple of items from it. One of which was the spicy chicken wrap, which was fine. I also tried a Margerita pizza, which wasn't great. For me there was far too much cheese on it though I imagine some people might like it.

The room was clean, comfortable and spacious, and was well equipped. I also found the temperature fine. The bar area is also great, it's a good area to chill out and watch a sporting event.

I'd recommend the hotel as a good budget place to stay near Nottingham.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPW83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear GPW83,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.
I am glad to read that you experienced good value for money and that you would recommend our hotel.
I have noted your constructive criticism and thank you for bringing these to our attention.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Bed was very low so not ideal for older travellers. Room was very hot and if you opened window motorway noise was deafening all night long. Over all it was shabby and food and drink very expensive. You can eat at the bulls head in breaston 4 minutes away

Room Tip: There was no air conditioning and walls just bare white. Lift landed with a thump.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Valerie G,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We have noted your constructive criticism which is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.
We do hope that you will consider staying with us again when you are next visiting the area thus allowing us the opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel.

Kind regards

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Long Eaton hotels

Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Shame about this hotel really. It is in a great position, plenty of car parking and a decent local pub round the corner. As soon as you pull into the car park you realise that this is a hotel that needs updating. The window curtains/netting is out of date. Check in was easy and pretty quick (it was 10pm). The room was spacious but very dated. Comfy bed and a settee, tea & coffee etc but again the kettle and cups looked like something from the 80's. Better than the ironing board that had more holes in the cover than a sieve! The bathroom was clean but very very dated. The shower was very powerful and warm. Great choice of breakfast and friendly service which I would say is the best part of the hotel. A disappoint for a Novotel and wouldn't recommend a family to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Steve W,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We have noted your constructive criticism which is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.

I am glad to read that you experienced our high levels of hospitality and breakfast offering.

We hope that you will consider using us again when next visiting the area.

Kind regards

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The hotel bedrooms are very dated but they have tried their best to make the hotel decent within it's dated shell. The rooms are as clean as they can be with the old decor and they have been updated at some point to new beds and new tables. Unfortunately the rooms have that rather awful artexing on the walls which will make it difficult to modernise the shell and make it look good without some serious and expensive work. This Novotel is like a rather dated 1970's/1980's roadside motel. The doors as well are dated using a key system rather than a card system and you get the feeling that the handles and key locks are not exactly safe. The shower over bath was functional and clean and the toilet was seperate to the shower and wash basin. All that would have been more forgiveable though if it was possible to have a good nights sleep. What I would say about your nights sleep, is it's an ideal hotel to stay in when it's cold, because you will stay as warm as possible with two sets of windows. However it was hot when we visited and it was extremely difficult to sleep. The heat was immense. We had to open the windows because the heat was just unbearable and gave us a headache. However when opening the window there was loud traffic noise all night. It's kind of understandable considering we were next to a motorway in a roadside motel, however the fact that we didn't get much sleep in a place where the purpose was sleeping comfortably meant that we probably wouldn't stay here again. The only things that made it a really bearable stay is that the stay were friendly and good, there was breakfast available, the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Simon Y,

Thank you for posting such a detailed and comprehensive review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay.
We have noted your constructive comments which is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.
It is great to know that you awarded us 5 stars for both service & cleanliness and 4 stars for value.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next visiting the area.

Kind regards

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anlaby, East Riding Of Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel looks as though it was built mid 70s, and not much appears to have changed since then apart from installing free WiFi.

A visit to this hotel really is like stepping back in time, with the tied decor and unloved furniture and fixings. On the plus side the staff were friendly and the building and rooms were tidy if a little neglected in places.

The bathroom only just scraped as acceptable in my opinion, the amount of wear and tear in the sink made it look very dirty although I would imagine it had been cleaned before our stay. There was black mould along the seal on the bath, and I personally avoided using the bath mat and favoured the risk of breaking my neck over the risk of contracting a verruca.

Food was expensive but looked nice enough. The bar was a bit lively but couldn't be heard from our room. The beds were comfortable. Ironing board and iron in room. Room was a good size.

We paid £30 for one night in a triple room, would return for same price but not any more.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sclv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear SCLV,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We have noted your constructive comments in terms about our product and we expect to undertake a major refurbishment in the not too distant future.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed the service levels from our team and I know that they will take a great deal of encouragement and inspiration from this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when you are next visiting the area.

Kind regards

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

A group of colleagues stayed here ahead of a business meeting. Booked based on photos on website the reality was very different. Very dated. Wood chip paper on walls. Very old beds and once white bedding. Carpets badly stained. Food very average.
However service was well organised and very friendly. Meeting room was not great with badly stained carpets.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLB288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear SLB228,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We have noted your constructive criticism pertaining to your stay and your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.

I am glad to report that we have just had the carpets in our meeting rooms commercially shampooed.

It is great to read that you found our hospitality levels of a high standard and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when you are next visiting the area.

Kind regards

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Eaton
0.1 mi away
Best Western Nottingham Derby
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1
2.4 mi away
Village Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#5 of 49 in Nottingham
1,445 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#3 of 7 in Castle Donington
1,638 reviews
6.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby

Property: Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby
Address: Bostock Lane | M1 Junction 25, Long Eaton NG10 4EP, England (Formerly Hotel Novotel Nottingham East Midlands)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Long Eaton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Long Eaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Nottingham East Midlands is currently a AA 3 star rated hotel 8 miles from Nottingham, Derby and East Midlands Airport. Ideal for a weekend or short break exploring the Peak District, Derbyshire Dales, Alton Towers, Sherwood Forest, Donington Park and the Royal Crown Derby porcelain factory. For conference guests, we offer 11 meeting rooms for up to 220 people. Enjoy room service or a meal in our Elements restaurant. The hotel also features free onsite parking for hotel residents. Please note the outdoor swimming pool is currently closed. The hotel will be having a multi million pound refurbishment of all bedrooms/bathrooms & corridors to commence from May 2015. Once complete the final product will be of a modern 4 star standard hotel and include free high speed wifi and individually controlled air conditioning plus eco power showers in all bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Nottingham
Nottingham Novotel
Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby Long Eaton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing