We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel OK, restaurant terrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Nottingham Derby
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Eaton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel OK, restaurant terrible!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with my three children, aged 16, 13 & 11. We had a one night stay before a flight from East Midlands Airport. The lady on Reception was very helpful and we were allocated a family room, luckily on the side away from the M1 (though the traffic noise was still quite loud with all the windows open- our room was really hot). The beds were comfortable, but the fan was inadequate and the TV was pretty rubbish.

We went to the hotel's restaurant and were all very disappointed with our choices and there was a lot of food left. I'm sure they could do much better!

We booked two week's parking as part of our package and the whole thing was very reasonable at £74. Glad we were only staying one night though!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your recent stay.

I am pleased to read that the staff were helpful and pleasant during your stay.

In regards to the rooms, none of our rooms have air conditioning, therefore in Summer and on warmer days we do advise our housekeeping team to leave windows open before a guests arrival to keep the room cool and we also have fans available for guests to use if needed. I apologise for any inconvenience this caused.

In regards to the restaurant and standard of food I will pass on your comments to the restaurant manager as this does not live up to our usual high standards. I can assure you this will not happen again.

We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    266
    139
    52
    13
See reviews for
150
197
31
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Better than Travelodge and Premier Inn. Great for stay night before travelling via East Midlands airport.

Staff informative and friendly.
Room very comfortable.
Hotel very clean.
Would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Glyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you had a comfortable stay with us and that the staff were very helpful. I will pass this feedback on to all those mentioned.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the future

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just stayed here for 2 nights whilst in the area visiting friends and family and it met our needs really well. Friendly staff, dog-friendly, free parking and free wifi all for under £100 you can't go wrong. Rooms are spacious, love the shower - it's huge!! Disappointed the TV only had 4 channels (not even channel 5!!) but I suppose with free wifi you can just watch it on demand at the hotel's expense so not all bad. The restaurant is opposite and because we had our dog who wasn't allowed in there they said we could bring food back over to our room. We only made use of the breakfast take-out facility where you could have a sausage or bacon bap plus drink for £5. The orange juice was gross but the sausage bap very good! There's also a vending machine in the lobby for drinks and snacks.
There was no noise from the motorway but we were on the opposite side of the hotel, although we were told the rooms by the motorway have triple glazing. We found the hotel to be very quiet which is great when you have a dog who barks at every little noise! The room was warm and the temp seems to be centrally controlled but we opened the window which helped and there is a fan provided.
Plenty of free parking, barrier system in operation, just get the code from the front desk.
In summary a great hotel for a short break, good location for Nottingham & Derby, very handy for the motorway if you're breaking up a longer journey North or South, good value for money, comfy beds, oh and did I mention free wifi?!

Room Tip: The non-motorway side would probably be the quietest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolShortcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving us feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and the staff were very friendly and accommodating.

In regards to the orange juice at breakfast I will pass your comments on to the restaurant manager as this may be something they change in the future. I apologise for any inconvenience this caused.

I am pleased to know that you had a comfortable nights sleep and encountered no disturbances.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
358 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 659 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

It's always good to re visit a place, just to see how it's going. We were very pleased indeed with our last visit to this hotel ( see previous review )
We were pleased that standards have been maintained, the whole place is very clean, thanks to the dedicated staff. We were in the same bedroom as before, at our request. The shower cubicle must be re decorated as it is starting to look quite grubby, same as last time. Come on Management/ Owners get it done, yes I know it costs money, but if you want repeat guests, then you simply must look at the detail.
It was a very very hot couple of days, and the room was well overheated, even though we had the windows wide open. The Management really should consider air con as a matter of urgency.
Prior to our visit, we had just spent a week in London in the same heat, fortunately our room had air con, and it was great. Once again it must be worthwhile investing in this for the comfort of guests.
The restaurant was good, and special mention to Luke, who did a really good job.
All in all we had a good stay and have re booked for later in the year, in the same spacious room. We will look forward to see if anything has been done with the shower cubicle.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the motorway, the triple glazing works well, and you should sleep well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTravellers222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that the standards have been maintained since your last visit and the room was very clean.

In regards to the shower I will report this to our maintenance team to ensure this is looked in to and resolved.

In regards to the rooms, none of our bedrooms come with air conditioning. In Summer we do advise our housekeeping team to leave windows open before a guests arrival to keep the room cool and we also provide fans for guests to use if needed. I apologise for any inconvenience this caused.

I am pleased to read that the food and service you received in the restaurant was great. I will pass on your comments to the restaurant manager.

We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Very clean tidy hotel. Great location for Nottingham,Derbyshire. Great breakfast, really nice pleasant staff. Helen on reception especially. Great shower too! Quiet even though is close to M 1

Only complaint is the bed was a little too soft.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stashmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay.

In regards to the great service you received I will pass on your comments to Helen at reception as we use all feedback productively.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Eaton
0.1 mi away
Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1
2.5 mi away
Village Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#5 of 50 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Donington A50
Days Inn Donington A50
#1 of 1 in Shardlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Nottingham Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Nottingham Derby

Property: Best Western Nottingham Derby
Address: Bostock Lane, Long Eaton NG10 5NL, England (Formerly Java Hotel Nottingham / Derby)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Long Eaton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Eaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Nottingham Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at Junction 25 of the M1 and only 10 minutes from Nottingham, Derby and East Midlands Airport, the Java Hotel offers everything you need for a comfortable, yet affordable, night’s stay. 101 modern, comfortable bedrooms, 2 conference/meeting rooms. Ample free parking for hotel guests (150 spaces), FREE wireless internet (Wi-Fi) throughout the ENTIRE hotel. 24 hour reception. Delicious buffet breakfast, including cooked English – 7.00am – 9.30am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Nottingham Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nottingham Derby Hotel Long Eaton
Best Western Nottingham Derby Long Eaton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing