We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Raven Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Raven Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenscar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This was our 3rd visit in as many years and everything about this hotel has just got better with
each year. The service is second to none from the moment you enter to the moment you leave. Although not an extensive menu the food is out of this world, well presented and delivered by a smiling courteous staff.
Although only booking this visit a couple of weeks before our visit we were pleasantly surprised to find we had been allocated the same excellent room we have enjoyed in the previous years. The views are stunning and everything has such an air of tranquility that we have arrived home totally relaxed.
My husband surprised me with a booking for next March as it is a special birthday for me then. To say I can hardly wait to return is an understatement.!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kath990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

816 - 822 of 1,264 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

As first-time visitors, and having read some reviews, were not sure what to expect.
All I can say is the word WOW! was used so many times - on arrival, room, views, restaurant table, arrival of food and ... the sunsets. The staff could not have been more helpful and caring. The one thing that abides for us is how peaceful it is. Coupled with the views and sunsets and wonderful service what else could you ask for. Raven Hall is now our top choice for a time of peaceful rest and recharge. Have already chosen dates for a return visit. You will be disappointed!.

Room Tip: Request a sea-facing room. The views and sunsets are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjfclily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I have just had my Wedding at Ravenhall on Saturday 5th October and I can honestly say it was perfect. The staff are amazing nothing is too much trouble for them and the organisation was excellent. I am very particular and wanted things done in a certain way and they did everything I asked for and more. Both Ben's were excellent, Ben Lambert was unfortunately ill on the day but Ben Weiss was excellent in taking over and directing the team. A very special thank you to Dragos, he was amazing. He was so thorough and professional and was there until the very end. Everything we asked for they did. We had room 114 which was perfect with views over the bay and then we moved to a log cabin for the Sunday evening which was out of this world. We will definitely be returning on our anniversary. Niki and Sandy on reception were great and always knew what I wanted when I asked. The staff are all so friendly and professional. The food was perfect, we had hot roast beef sandwiches on the evening and hot bacon sandwiches with chips. We didn't want to come home.

Room Tip: 114 or Log cabin 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Have stayed at Ravenhall many times and have never been disappointed, Food and service excellent, rooms very comfortable, sea views spectacular, always upgrading of rooms in process. Staff mostly make your stay special they are always there for guests. Access to small pool and sauna no problem. Food exceptional and views from restaurant very pleasing. Access to lovely Chapel where it was arranged we renewed our wedding vows, wonderful. Disabled facilities good as facilities for all cannot wait to return

Room Tip: Seaview rooms a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Booked very last minute and felt very happy with the help and advice given from Amy. Arrived late afternoon and the two of us were delighted with the lovely room we had been allocated, a double aspect, two views from one very clean and crisp room, dinner was booked at check in, a stroll round the gardens in the late afternoon provided us with the most stunning sunset and views. Staff at dinner were very helpful , food was beyond expectations , a reasonable choice of wine , breakfast was a buffet but with service and sourced locally. We had the most delightful time, the hotel exceeded our expectations in relation to the cost and standard of our room and I cant wait to get the chance to go back !

Room Tip: We had room 114, I'm not sure I should be sharing this as I want it to be always available just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MandaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This hotel takes the bet that because it has exquisite views that it can charge a ridiculous amount for old, tired, smelly rooms despite booking 4 months in advance. When we asked to change rooms there were none available and when we queried the price for such an inadequate room the manager said they could do nothing. The food was cold, unimaginative and poorly cooked. Visit this hotel at your peril. Staff were hit and miss, some were great others clearly working in the industry under sufferance and guests were clearly an inconvenience. Never again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flufferamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Can not fault raven hall with views to die for excellent service left to your own divices with no fuss i didnt use the swimming pool but wife did .we are definatly returning here again in october next time for longer than a day/night

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cuzz42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenscar
9.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#1 of 20 in Whitby
2,097 reviews
2.8 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
833 reviews
6.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
17 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
759 reviews
9.6 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raven Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raven Hall Hotel

Address: Ravenhall Road, Ravenscar, North York Moors National Park YO13 0ET, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Ravenscar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenscar
Price Range: £67 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Raven Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel situated on the clifftop overlooking Robin Hoods Bay with Panoramic award winning views, wt in 100 acres of National Park including free 9 hole golf course, gardens, tennis courts and putting also indoor swimming pool and sauna. The main hotel has 54 en-suite bedrooms including family rooms and suites and there are 8 eco friendly log lodges with some self catering facilities within 150 metres. A perfect Wedding venue and ideal for a leisure break or exploring holidays with close proximity to Sacrborough, Whitby and the North Yorkshire Moors. A unique property in an enviable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Raven Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raven Hall Ravenscar
Hotel Raven Hall
Raven Hall Hotel Ravenscar, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing