We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The views say it all”
Review of Raven Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Raven Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenscar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My partner and I have just returned for a weekend break at this hotel. I initially booked on the last minute for the Friday night. The weather was so awful and the traffic that bad that we did not arrive till around 6pm so it was dark, on booking I had requested a room with a view but this was understandably based on availability. When we opened the curtains Sat morning we were delighted to see a remarkable view and promptly asked at reception if they could accommodate us for a further night. The receptionist went out of her way to help. The service at this hotel was great and although some people may think that the decor is a little dated in the communal areas, the rooms were immaculate.
The breakfast was fine, I ordered the smoked haddock and poached eggs on the second morning and it was lovely, I also had some homemade onion bread which was fabulous.
My partner and i travel over to the east coast frequently and have been searching for a long time to find the perfect place for us to return to - on our opinion we have found it - no longer will we trawl the internet in earnest.
In fact I will be ringing shortly to see if I can make a group booking for a landmark birthday celebration next year.
If you are hoping for a pristine 5 star luxury hotel with fine dining – then I don’t think this hotel is for you, however if you are looking for a good base, with good service and a great relaxing ambiance then look no further.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 108 - wonderful view - but looking at the hotel i think there are some with even b...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,244)
There are newer reviews for Raven Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

754 - 760 of 1,244 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Just had an amazing weekend at Raven Hall. Visited Friday night with friends then Saturday just the two of us.. The place itself has a lovely feel, sort of old world with a relaxed feel. The staff were instantly friendly & helpful. We were fortunate to get a top floor room & even though the weather was awful the views were breathtaking. We had a few drinks in one of the cosy snugs which was really pleasant. Then the food in the restaurant was of excellent quality & once again staff excellent. The bed are the comfiest I have ever slept in..breakfast is very substantial with again amazing panoramic views of robin hoods bay. There are plenty of places to walk from the hotel or Whitby & Scarborough are only a short drive away.. Would highly recommend for a lovely break. We will definitely be returning...

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank tait142428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My experience begins once I had booked a lodge for the night, it was our first holiday away with our 2mth old baby and the excellent customer service from Kimberley meant a very successful and relaxing weekend away! On arrival we were checked in very quickly and were able to park very near to our lodge, we opened the door and wow a fantastic view of robin hoods bay even in the wind and rain was amazing. We soon settled in and lit the log fire, it had everything we needed and more, we then went and enjoyed afternoon tea in the relaxing and informal lounge area, very nice especially with a cheeky wine!
We then used the games room (Tip- you need a 50p coin for the pool table) and then enjoyed the leisure facilities (changing rooms a bit cold). We then asked about room service due to the high winds and not wanting to bring our baby back out to the restaurant, it was all sorted with the manager who understood our situation and this meant a truly relaxing evening with our baby in the lodge, excellent food!!
We didn't need breakfast as still full from evening meal however, we did enjoy toasted teacakes and coffee in the lounge though whilst reading the papers! Everyone we met said they were enjoying their time at the hotel.....then to end a special weekend the snow arrived before we left which resulted in some lovely pictures! Will definitely recommend a lodge and heard good reviews on main hotel as well, all in all a very very memorable first family mini break and we will return in the warmer weather!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank y30amgDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Isolated but the view over Robin Hood's Bay, the food - breakfast is exceptional - the staff, the service and the surroundings are what it's all about. View from our room was a bonus.

Escape there and leave the world behind!

Room Tip: Ask for room 112!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dadbob11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

From the moment we booked our wedding with Raven Hall we received an excellent service.
We visited the hotel several times before deciding on the food and drink plus the order of the day.
Every time we visited we were greeted with polite, warm and welcoming staff. We did sample quite a few drinks before finalising our choice :0) Nothing seemed too much trouble and all staff were more than happy to help with any of our questions.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone planning a wedding.
Our special day was made all the more special from the efficiency of all the staff and the breath taking views that surround the hotel.
The night before the wedding I stayed in one of the cabins with two of my bridesmaids. These cabins are perfect for the bridal party. Away from the main part of the hotel. The rooms are tastefully decorated and spacious. My new husband and I also stayed in a smaller cabin that we choose for the wedding night. we loved the colours and the decoration in the room. All cabin rooms benefit from the amazing views.
The Wedding meal was superb with everything timed to perfection.
We cannot praise the quality of food and service enough. It is the first wedding breakfast I attended where guests were also asked if they required any further servings of food.
The buffet during the evening again was exceptional with so much choice and quality of the food.
We both would like to thank Ben and the team with all of their help in making our day perfect.

We certainly will be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRSC2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We arrived here on 17th January 2013 and immediately had the most amazing view over the bay.The reception staff were very helpful and although we didn't get a sea view room because of our late booking, the room we had was very comfortable. Probably the most comfy bed I have slept in at a hotel. The walks from the hotel are very good and the location is good for Scarborough and Whitby. On reading other reviews we were a little concerned about having an evening meal in the hotel, but the experience was great, staff ever so polite and food was amazing.Breakfast was also great and not swimming in grease, and again staff and service excellent. We did not try out the leisure facilities but will definatley be going back again, hopefully this year to try them out. Cannot fault this hotel and would give it 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My husband and I booked this hotel on a late deal just to go somewhere to relax with cosy room, log fire and hopefully a nice restaurant. We got all 3, our room had a sea view as requested, we used the swimming pool, lovely and warm, had a relaxing drink in the bar, the afternoon teas looked lovely, but we waited for our meal and it was worth it, yes it wasnt cheap but you didnt have to have all 3 courses, we had 2 and it was 22pnd each the quality and service in our minds was worth it for what we wanted, I do not understand some of the poor coments, the weather spoiled our trip but the hotel did not, I can recomend room 109 big, newly refurbed, clean , warm, huge bed bay views, we will go again .

Room Tip: Its an old building so if creaky floors annoy u above then ask for a high floor, we where on 1st flo...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank couplePonteftact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenscar
9.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,077 reviews
2.8 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
826 reviews
6.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
17 reviews
9.6 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
849 reviews
23.9 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raven Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raven Hall Hotel

Address: Ravenscar, North York Moors National Park YO13 0ET, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Ravenscar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenscar
Price Range: £74 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Raven Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel situated on the clifftop overlooking Robin Hoods Bay with Panoramic award winning views, wt in 100 acres of National Park including free 9 hole golf course, gardens, tennis courts and putting also indoor swimming pool and sauna. The main hotel has 54 en-suite bedrooms including family rooms and suites and there are 8 eco friendly log lodges with some self catering facilities within 150 metres. A perfect Wedding venue and ideal for a leisure break or exploring holidays with close proximity to Sacrborough, Whitby and the North Yorkshire Moors. A unique property in an enviable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Raven Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raven Hall Ravenscar
Hotel Raven Hall
Raven Hall Hotel Ravenscar, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing