We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful views friendly helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Raven Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raven Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenscar
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“beautiful views friendly helpful staff”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

the staff at raven hall make the hotel, polite friendly and helpful ,add that to the stunning views lovely hotel, fantastic food , large rooms and comfy beds you get a perfect weekend.
facilities at the hotel are good ,swimming pool sauna , golf course etc.
the only downsides we encounted were the hotel was a little tatty in places, like the stairwell, and the menu didn't change very much , although the food was excellent a bit more variety would have been nice, breakfast was amazing , really nice well cooked tasty food .
we will visit again , soon and often .
dave

Room Tip: ask for room 112
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mezzzz1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    426
    132
    59
    41
See reviews for
213
699
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My wife and I first visited the hotel some 13 years ago. We always feel at home and relaxed. After evening meal we retire to our room fairly early for us to watch TV and read the paper. We have revisited the hotel most years since for a short break and really enjoy the walks to Robin Hoods bay and also Robin hoods bay to Whitby. We find the food excellent and good value. Most of the rooms have been refurbished and again are very welcoming. There are a number of leisure facilities that are included in your stay at no extra cost.
The only reason I have not given the hotel 5 stars is the fact it is rather isolated and no convenient public transport travel, which may be a plus for some people.
Ps have stayed in the lodges also which again are excellent.
.

Room Tip: The bay view rooms add something extra to your stay. although extra it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

if you want to escape and enjoy beautiful countryside by the sea,this is perfect. Close enough to commercial British Seaside if you desire,yet ideal for those who enjoy walking,cycling or outdoors unspoiled by commercial seaside locations Friendly and Non intrusive and will return/reccomend..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

My husband, chi and I have just returned from our third visit in the last four months. As always staff perfect in every sense. The food,atmosphere is second to none.
We were allocated our usual room(112) with superb views without any problem.
We are very much looking forward to our next visits in March(for my special birthday) and then again in June. Then....
Our own opinion of the building is that it is full of character and this is what makes it special and it has been so since I worked there more than 40 years ago!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kath990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Nice dog friendly hotel with plenty car parking spaces. Décor was nice & comfortable & the room was spacious. However... the games room was outdated, the lunch menu was poor & rather expensive and as there are no shops, pubs or restaurants anywhere within walking distance we found ourselves confined to the hotel. On a good note the staff were very polite & it was an overall nice stay.... Peter, Rachael & 'Leo - the Springador'

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachyPea2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

First impressions...good - smart, comfy downstairs if a little chintzy. First room I got appeared good, big comfy bed...on the downside...bathroom was rather tired & very chilly...there was a hole under the sink letting in cold air! Unfortunately the shower was either too hot or off...thermostat broken. Was kept awake all night listening to the next door room snoring...that said...morning came and a polite complaint resulted in helpful staff finding an alternative room....still dated and a bit shabby... but at least quiet! Bed in this room somewhat aged I would have suggested! Summing up....was probably great in 1950 but not much has changed since - shame as beautiful views from every window & a rather graceful building....just needs a serious restoration job!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank olivervardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My partner and I have just returned for a weekend break at this hotel. I initially booked on the last minute for the Friday night. The weather was so awful and the traffic that bad that we did not arrive till around 6pm so it was dark, on booking I had requested a room with a view but this was understandably based on availability. When we opened the curtains Sat morning we were delighted to see a remarkable view and promptly asked at reception if they could accommodate us for a further night. The receptionist went out of her way to help. The service at this hotel was great and although some people may think that the decor is a little dated in the communal areas, the rooms were immaculate.
The breakfast was fine, I ordered the smoked haddock and poached eggs on the second morning and it was lovely, I also had some homemade onion bread which was fabulous.
My partner and i travel over to the east coast frequently and have been searching for a long time to find the perfect place for us to return to - on our opinion we have found it - no longer will we trawl the internet in earnest.
In fact I will be ringing shortly to see if I can make a group booking for a landmark birthday celebration next year.
If you are hoping for a pristine 5 star luxury hotel with fine dining – then I don’t think this hotel is for you, however if you are looking for a good base, with good service and a great relaxing ambiance then look no further.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 108 - wonderful view - but looking at the hotel i think there are some with even b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenscar
9.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,940 reviews
6.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,807 reviews
2.8 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
697 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
9.6 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raven Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raven Hall Hotel

Property: Raven Hall Hotel
Address: Ravenscar, North York Moors National Park YO13 0ET, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Ravenscar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenscar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Raven Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel situated on the clifftop overlooking Robin Hoods Bay with Panoramic award winning views, wt in 100 acres of National Park including free 9 hole golf course, gardens, tennis courts and putting also indoor swimming pool and sauna. The main hotel has 54 en-suite bedrooms including family rooms and suites and there are 8 eco friendly log lodges with some self catering facilities within 150 metres. A perfect Wedding venue and ideal for a leisure break or exploring holidays with close proximity to Sacrborough, Whitby and the North Yorkshire Moors. A unique property in an enviable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Raven Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raven Hall Ravenscar
Hotel Raven Hall
Raven Hall Hotel Ravenscar, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing