We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ohhh yeah :)”
Review of Raven Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raven Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenscar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Beautiful views, nice location. Room was ok, we paid £49 so we got what we paid for and it was fine. I'm guessing there are better ones...but I'm not complaining.
The wifi was strangled seemed to have an excellent signal but was limited. Apart from that the hotel was top notch...really worth a visit.
Breakfast was a buffet...but not a dried up one! Really nice. Didn't try dinner but it looked good :)
Great staff, that do look after you. Please stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackfrostsfinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

760 - 766 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed here for two nights In March and had a wonderful time. The staff were very helpful when I telephoned to make the booking and suggested a room that was suitable for my elderly father and only a short distance from the dining room and lounge. I paid a little extra for a view of the bay and it was definitely worth it. The bathroom was quite small but the bedroom was a good size.
We had breakfast, lunch and evening meals at the hotel and they were all good. The evening menu was varied and changed each day.

We walked along the beach to Robin Hoods Bay, played tennis and really had a wonderful time. We will definitely return before long.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Bay View on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 629ChristineD629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My husband treated me to two nights here for my birthday,had a beautiful room overlooking the bay,breakfast was lovely,and dinner cooked beautifully,we have been coming to Robins Hoods Bay for years.,so we know the area well.we walked from the hotel to the bay taking two hours and forty minutes,but it was muddy and had a lot of steps to climb up and down,we walked back the cinder path way back which was far easier,and no steps! But glad we walked it as the weather was beautiful and really enjoyed it.would love to return one day,we had a lovely room with a bay view,so we could lay in bed and enjoy the amazing view.
r

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank gmathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed for two nights at Raven Hall in March and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The building is old (18th century) which adds to the experience of the stay.
We paid a little extra for a 'Bay View' and it was worth it, stunning view!!!
Good menus for breakfast and dinner and the food was cooked well and presented well.
The view from the restaurant adds to the enjoyment of the dinning. A little cosmetic work needed here and there but nothing to detract from a relaxing stay.
We would defiantly book again. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a room with a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Well worth the £10 a night extra for a bay view . Stunning on a clear day. Only downside was the pool quite small so had a good walk instead as we were lucky enough to have beautiful weather. Really relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We had trouble with this hotel as two days before we was due fo leave they rang us and said the hotel was double booked and there was no rooms avaible.
Well after much agro they upgraded us to a four poster bed suite even though there was no rooms!

The hotel is lovely rooms are nice a littled dated but are warm and cosy and you get a good nights sleep.

Pool area is lovely and clean and usually empty!
Brekfast waa divine having a full english and options for other choices!
A dinner will cost 16.20 each! For one course but it is really nice!

All in all the hotel is lovely with amazing views jusy our booking problem took the shine of it!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Herbsandtings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We booked into this hotel at short notice having glimpsed a couple of reviews on a ropey internet connection in Whitby. We stayed on a Monday night in early February, as low season goes it probably doesn't go any further. Both my partner and I spent our youth in the 80s working in hotels and we both had flashbacks on stepping into the hotel. In fairness, we paid £50 for B&B and for that we got much more value than we would have got in a Travel Lodge. The staff were very helpful and welcoming and the hotel had an air of people making themselves comfortable. The surroundings are superb and views aplenty. Our room was large and reasonably well appointed circa. 1989, albeit with a large LCD tv. We could have forgiven the retro charm, but for the rather dodgy four poster bed that whilst comfortable, creaked alarmingly. The restaurant was pretty uninspiring and breakfast pretty limp compared with the fare that most boutique-style B&Bs serve nowadays. The hotel has a small pool that is big enough for two people to have a quick dip and there seems to be a range of sports equipment and activities on offer, unlike many it was refreshing to see that no charge was made for this. The hotel has been through a number of reincarnations over the years, but part of its charm seems to be an old fashioned sense that you could book in for a week and entertain yourselves around the hotel in a fairly genteel fashion.

Room Tip: A lot of rooms may have a sea view, or at list mist! Avoid a four poster bed room unless you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vince B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenscar
9.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,121 reviews
2.8 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
840 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,930 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
773 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raven Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raven Hall Hotel

Address: Ravenhall Road, Ravenscar, North York Moors National Park YO13 0ET, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Ravenscar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenscar
Price Range: £56 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Raven Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel situated on the clifftop overlooking Robin Hoods Bay with Panoramic award winning views, wt in 100 acres of National Park including free 9 hole golf course, gardens, tennis courts and putting also indoor swimming pool and sauna. The main hotel has 54 en-suite bedrooms including family rooms and suites and there are 8 eco friendly log lodges with some self catering facilities within 150 metres. A perfect Wedding venue and ideal for a leisure break or exploring holidays with close proximity to Sacrborough, Whitby and the North Yorkshire Moors. A unique property in an enviable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Raven Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raven Hall Ravenscar
Hotel Raven Hall
Raven Hall Hotel Ravenscar, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing