We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hit and Miss”
Review of Raven Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Raven Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenscar
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hit and Miss”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We visited the Raven Hall Hotel in May 2013 for friends' wedding. The venue and reception were really good indeed - very nice room and worked well for such an event.

Unfortunately, our room was a let-down by comparison. It felt very dated and small (others who'd paid the same price were treated to much bigger and newer rooms). Luck of the draw I suppose but we'd expected more for the relatively large outlay. We ultimately decided to upgrade (at cost) to one of the lodge rooms separate to the main building - this was a much better room with an amazing view across the bay - but led to a rather expensive weekend all round.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenjcarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    429
    134
    60
    41
See reviews for
217
708
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
FriesianLover
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed for 1 night in March and we were not disappointed. The hotel is charming, with loads of character and with a lovely atmosphere. The staff were excellent, friendly and very attentive. We paid extra for a bay view room...well worth the extra £10! We were on a DBB basis and the food was excellent, fresh and well presented. We will definitely be back :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a 1st Floor room with a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaIlkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Staff are all very attentive and helpful. Bedrooms clean and warm. There is a small pool which is adequate for say two people really.
The only downside I found was that the downstairs public rooms are a bit on the cool side, so take something warm with you!
Plenty of lovely walks from the hotel either north or south along the coast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Beautiful views, nice location. Room was ok, we paid £49 so we got what we paid for and it was fine. I'm guessing there are better ones...but I'm not complaining.
The wifi was strangled seemed to have an excellent signal but was limited. Apart from that the hotel was top notch...really worth a visit.
Breakfast was a buffet...but not a dried up one! Really nice. Didn't try dinner but it looked good :)
Great staff, that do look after you. Please stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackfrostsfinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed here for two nights In March and had a wonderful time. The staff were very helpful when I telephoned to make the booking and suggested a room that was suitable for my elderly father and only a short distance from the dining room and lounge. I paid a little extra for a view of the bay and it was definitely worth it. The bathroom was quite small but the bedroom was a good size.
We had breakfast, lunch and evening meals at the hotel and they were all good. The evening menu was varied and changed each day.

We walked along the beach to Robin Hoods Bay, played tennis and really had a wonderful time. We will definitely return before long.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Bay View on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 629ChristineD629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

My husband treated me to two nights here for my birthday,had a beautiful room overlooking the bay,breakfast was lovely,and dinner cooked beautifully,we have been coming to Robins Hoods Bay for years.,so we know the area well.we walked from the hotel to the bay taking two hours and forty minutes,but it was muddy and had a lot of steps to climb up and down,we walked back the cinder path way back which was far easier,and no steps! But glad we walked it as the weather was beautiful and really enjoyed it.would love to return one day,we had a lovely room with a bay view,so we could lay in bed and enjoy the amazing view.
r

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gmathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed for two nights at Raven Hall in March and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The building is old (18th century) which adds to the experience of the stay.
We paid a little extra for a 'Bay View' and it was worth it, stunning view!!!
Good menus for breakfast and dinner and the food was cooked well and presented well.
The view from the restaurant adds to the enjoyment of the dinning. A little cosmetic work needed here and there but nothing to detract from a relaxing stay.
We would defiantly book again. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a room with a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenscar
9.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
2.8 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
6.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
9.6 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raven Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raven Hall Hotel

Property: Raven Hall Hotel
Address: Ravenscar, North York Moors National Park YO13 0ET, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Ravenscar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenscar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Raven Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel situated on the clifftop overlooking Robin Hoods Bay with Panoramic award winning views, wt in 100 acres of National Park including free 9 hole golf course, gardens, tennis courts and putting also indoor swimming pool and sauna. The main hotel has 54 en-suite bedrooms including family rooms and suites and there are 8 eco friendly log lodges with some self catering facilities within 150 metres. A perfect Wedding venue and ideal for a leisure break or exploring holidays with close proximity to Sacrborough, Whitby and the North Yorkshire Moors. A unique property in an enviable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Raven Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raven Hall Ravenscar
Hotel Raven Hall
Raven Hall Hotel Ravenscar, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing