We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful view”
Review of Raven Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Raven Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenscar
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a wonderful view”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I came here for a break at Easter. On arrival you are unsure what the hotel if going to be like inside as the exterior is very tired looking and in need of a spruce up. The hotel inside is very clean but dated and in need of a refurbish.

We only ate in the restaurant on the second night and at best the food was second rate with the food being very basic and overly priced. My partner was still hungry after two courses as well.

I think the best thing about this hotel is the location and the view and I think that if you want a quiet break but not too fussed about top quality food then this is the place for you. There is a small pool and a sauna and as there are mainly older people staying here then the chances are if you want to use it you will have it to yourselves for a couple of hours as we did.

Overall there's nothing wrong with this hotel but it definitely needs a makeover and a new menu.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    431
    135
    61
    45
See reviews for
221
719
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night and having seen some pictures booked a sea view. The hotel is in a fantastic location and the view from the lovely garden is outstanding and as good as anywhere in the world for this alone it would get top rating. The hotel however harks back to a different era however in some way adds to its charm. A large wood panelled lounge with comfy seating. The sun shone in through the bedroom which was large and clean. The decor is dated in style but not tatty. The view was slightly interrupted by the flat roof extension ( horrible )which was a shame and the windows could do with a clean but I kept looking at the fabulous view. The bed was huge and very comfy. Linen good. The bathroom clean and adequate. We had a meal it was well cooked and very hearty but the menu did not offer a good selection nor did it seem to fit together. Wine fine. The service was good and we enjoyed a sea view again which made it special even if the food wasn't. The breakfast was good we had the smoked haddock which was cooked to order and took about 10 minutes only. The walk from the hotel along the cliff was beautiful and to be recommended . The receptionist was helpful and efficient as were all the staff. There was a wedding on but this did not seem to affect the service or public areas. Would I go again? Yes because the location is very special . Value for money ok probably less slick than chains for similar price but more individual .

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank qwertyBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
326 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

You have to review hotels for what they are. If you are expecting a luxurious five star experience at Raven Hall you would score it badly.
If however you want something homely, fabulous views and in the country with no pretensions of being anything other, it scores well.
My daughters wedding was here and that was superb. Obviously gambling with the weather, which luckily was good, but the whole wedding went exceptionally well and was superb.
However back to the stay.
I stayed for two nights and having known this hotel since I learnt to swim in the late 50s in its famous outdoor pool I didn't really know what to expect.
It is homely, and the first thing that surprised me was just how very good dinner was on my first night. We were thinking of dining out in Scarborough but then everyone was tired so reluctantly decided to stay and eat in, the food was exceptional! The view just stunning!
Next surprise was how good breakfast was, and how nice for it to be quite formal with crisp white tablecloths and staff in uniform.
The rooms are ok, mine was a bit on the small side but not too bad and everything worked. Good shower, plenty of hot water.
There are things which I believe could be tackled better and I am sure over time they will be, after all attention to detail is everything but I wouldn't hesitate in going back.
It needs investment and a bit of TLC but it is what it is today, a good straightforward proper hotel in the country not a "grand country hotel", there is a big difference!
Thank you to the whole team for making my daughters wedding and my stay very enjoyable!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arthurh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Arrived at the hotel for drinks with my fiance and parents. A visit to the toilet resulted in a brand new item of clothing being snagged on the toilet door. My mum decided to inform reception staff who did appear to be concerned by this and brought it to the attention of the Duty Manager Stanislav Radilov. I then showed the manager where this had occured and all he could say was thank you for highlighting this! No apology was given, no empathy for the inconvenience, and all he could say, quietly, was that he would note it down. There was a protruding screw on the brass push plate. I did say to him it was a good job I was not wearing a £2000 wedding dress! His response to this was that brides generally used the disabled toilet. He then disappeared into a side room down the corridor from the toilet. It would not be a place I would recommend for anyone wanting first rate service and attention. There was a total disregard for customer service. An expensive night out for over priced drinks and a ruined item of clothing.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank andrea d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The views over the bay are amazing - the setting is wonderful but very cold even in April.

Our room (201) was large but very underwhelming where decorative flair, was concerned - a cheap and nasty piece of metal art sculpture over the very old fashioned dressing table . The most modern aspect of the room being a flat screen TV. Furniture was late 60's early 70's vintage - dark , cheap and depressing.
Room was very hot and stuffy and the heating could to be controlled so I opened a window and it became draughty .

Bathroom old fashioned and the basin tiny and cramped - bath very stained and needs replacing ,grouting very dirty - made me not want to bathe in it to be honest. Very cheap complimentary toiletries - again, I wouldn't use them even if I had forgotten my own.

Bed was a Super King size - which is good because thats what we have at home. OK but no mattress protector on it . I did request extra pillows, preferably feather ( if not , I would bring my own ) and although we did have extra pillows they were decidedly NOT feather and as hard as rocks .
Bedding was decent quality cotton.

The windows on the inside were dirty as was the mirror behind the 1st door into the room , neither had been cleaned in a long time

Breakfast was a joke - half the items on the "self service " hot breakfast were not available - there was a 20 minute delay between getting toast and bacon and eggs being available .No black pudding at all, soggy mushrooms , only two sausages left in the tray - one for each of us The yolks of the fried eggs were rock solid. How long does it take to cook off more bacon and sausages ? Certainly not 20 minutes !!

When you are paying over £140 a night for B&B is it really too much to expect breakfast cooked to order ? I don't think it is personally

Breakfast plates are not the the normal sized dinner plates , they are actually fish course plates , presumably to give the illusion that the plate was full of food when in fact things fell off because the plates are too small

The public areas are in dire need of a coat of paint , and an update - the breakfast restaurant carpet hasn't change since I last stayed there over 20 years ago - a depressing , dirty brown thing.

Some of the public areas have this weird faux marble / stone paint effect on them which looks really cheap , tatty and dirty - some of the areas are actually tiled in bathroom tiles which is an odd thing to do .

Finally, the staff are largely disinterested - loads of them milling around and yet doing very little to earn their money but it must be hard to work up enthusiasm for working in such a dingy place .

We were there for a wedding - the areas in which the wedding was held were such a contrast to the main hotel - bright, clean and classy - with good food and great service - which is why it made the main hotel experience all the more disappointing .

The extensive grounds seemed to be well cared for which , again, is a direct contrast to the inside of the place - this would have been a one star review had it not been for the wedding areas and the grounds - the rest needs millions spending on it - its stuck in a time warp that hasn't moved on since I stayed there back in 1989 .

We didn't check out the pool - we are very fussy where pools are concerned because if they are too small they are usually very unhygienic .

Cant recommend this place - loved the wedding but the hotel overall is a gloomy , expensive for what it is and the staff don't seem to care - but if management don't care - and clearly they take no pride in the place because its a aesthetic mess - staff wont either .

There are nice places to stay - the views are amazing but once the curtains are drawn at night , you need luxury and comfort - this place lacks any redeeming interior features. Sorry .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 55something
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lallytap, Managing Director at Raven Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
This is obviously a rather personal, bordering on insulting review which is not offering a fair impression of Raven Hall, but we accept the reviewer has the right to their opinion and perception which fortunately isn't the general consensus of our very high volume of repeat guests. The room in question is one of our popular requested rooms overlooking the bay, and the kingsize bed does in fact have a new mattress protector. The decor is a matter for their personal taste which we accept.

In respect of cleanliness I was most surprised to read the comments given that the AA Inspector had visited several weeks ago and had specially noted the cleanliness of bathrooms, bedrooms and public areas and the standard of the hotel generally.

The restaurant carpet described as brown and grubby, is in fact green with gold leaves and was changed several years ago to match the entrance and lounge areas. All of the corridors to bedrooms have also been re-carpeted . There are no tiles on the far staircase to the first floor, this is in fact painted effect as part of that area including the original roman stone wall by the lift which has been opened up, and again is subject to the guest's taste. It is difficult to redecorate public areas such as corridors when the hotel is open and busy all year round and it's something undertaken overnight during the winter period, but fortunately we have been exceptionally busy this winter and we will schedule this work at an approriate time as part of our ongoing work programme.

We apologise if the breakfast service and food was not up to our usual standard, as it's always difficult on a busy morning following a wedding when all guests tend to come down later en masse for breakfast to keep the buffet stocked as all the food is freshly cooked. Most hotels from 3 to 5 star now offer self service buffet breakfasts, and we do offer cooked to order, haddock, kippers, poached eggs etc.

The staff are certainly not disinterested and we have numerous comments on their welcome and service, and apologise if this guest didn't experience this. Our staff retention is very high and they are happy to stay working here.

We appreciate the positive comments about the Wedding and Function rooms, which reflects the high volume of weddings we host, and with respect a large amount of money has been invested in improving the Hotel in the last 10 years with an ongoing programme of refurbishment and upgrading.

Diane Uhalde
Managing Director Epworth Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

There can be few more fabulous settings for a hotel than the Raven Hall. We have know the place for many years - used the open-air swimming pool in the 1950's (but that is long gone). We stayed here in 2012 for our 50th wedding anniversary and they did us proud, so we fancied another three-night break - its an ideal centre for exploring the Moors and coast of North Yorkshire.From the outside the building looks as if it has seen better days and has had lots of ugly bits tacked on to the Edwardian house it once was. Never mind what it looks like, the gardens are glorious with fabulous views across Robin Hood's Bay.
Do you enjoy changing into something comfy for the weekend? - an old woolly perhaps, and a pair of patched trousers or a tweed skirt that you feel really comortable in (never mind if its out of fashion). If that's comfort for you, that's the Raven Hall. Spacious, panelled public rooms with lots of big sofas, helpful staff to bring you a drink or a tray of tea. (Where is Lord Emsworth?)
Upstairs the bedrooms provide space to move without bumping into each other. (Pay an extra bit to get a Bay view room). Don't look too closely at the slightly chipped paintwork and the faulty double glazing (misty in places) - it won't affect your comfort.
The food is well prepared with an attractive menu and service is prompt and friendly and not too much of the "everything OK for you?" which can be a problem in some places.
There is no question that we shall return because the cost for a 3-day break was amazingly reasonable. If in any doubt just go for a cup of tea and take a look - I bet you'll book in!

Room Tip: Pay small extra charge for a view of the bay from your bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed at Raven Hall towards the end of March with quite a large group of friends for a few days of walking and bridge. Despite there being so many of us, the hotel made us extremely welcome and not 'just part of the group'. Our bedroom, although relatively small was comfortable and adequate. When we reported a problem with the bedside light, it was fixed within 20 minutes of reporting the problem. Our only complaint about the bedroom would be the TV which was incredibly complicated to tune and was totally unreliable. Fortunately, we did not spend much time in the room.
We were on half board and could not fault the selection of food either at breakfast or dinner. As well as the normal menu, there was an excellent choice of main meals on the vegetarian menu. The portions were plenty big enough for hungry walkers with no shortage of vegetables.
Our only suggestion to the hotel would be to buy some proper bridge tables, playing on rectangular dining tables is not easy! I am sure that other bridge groups would book to stay at the hotel if tables were purchased and they would more than pay for themselves in additional income.
There are numerous facilities at the hotel, including a small swimming pool, small golf course and a croquet lawn. Due to lack of time and fabulous walking weather we did not avail ourselves of these.

Room Tip: Some rooms have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenscar
9.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,995 reviews
2.8 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
796 reviews
6.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
712 reviews
9.6 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
798 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raven Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raven Hall Hotel

Property: Raven Hall Hotel
Address: Ravenscar, North York Moors National Park YO13 0ET, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Ravenscar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenscar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Raven Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel situated on the clifftop overlooking Robin Hoods Bay with Panoramic award winning views, wt in 100 acres of National Park including free 9 hole golf course, gardens, tennis courts and putting also indoor swimming pool and sauna. The main hotel has 54 en-suite bedrooms including family rooms and suites and there are 8 eco friendly log lodges with some self catering facilities within 150 metres. A perfect Wedding venue and ideal for a leisure break or exploring holidays with close proximity to Sacrborough, Whitby and the North Yorkshire Moors. A unique property in an enviable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Raven Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raven Hall Ravenscar
Hotel Raven Hall
Raven Hall Hotel Ravenscar, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing