We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice for a Wedding”
Review of Raven Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Raven Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenscar
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Choice for a Wedding”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The family room was adequat & clean with nice views (306) .
Pity about the pool being out of action on arrival (pool temp problems apparently ) as we were looking forward to using before getting ready for attending a wedding . The pool was available for use the next day but the children were complaining of too much chlorine in the water .
I cant fault the staff in the Hotel,they were always on hand to help & always polite.
Breakfast was very nice with plenty of variety
An ideal location for a wedding which made the day very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Room 306 has views of two sides as it is on a corner of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane u, Managing Director at Raven Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
We're pleased your enjoyed the Wedding you attended here at Raven Hall which is a very popular venue all year round. Apologies for the problem with the swimming pool which was due to an equipment fault with the digital dosing of chlorine and has since been rectified. Your room tip about 306 is very useful and we do have a number of other similar family rooms.

Diane Uhalde
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    431
    135
    61
    45
See reviews for
221
720
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I've stayed at the Raven Hall Hotel many times, and will do so again. It's an iconic building on the NE coast between Scarborough and Whitby, and we use it as a base for walking and biking along the fantastic cycle track, a disused railway, that literally runs past the front gate.
we've stayed in summer when the sun is shining and the view down to Robin Hood's Bay from the dining room is spectacular, and also when the fog has been close in, and the approach along the roads has been at less that 10mph, however on each occasion the experience has been top class.
The bars are well stocked and the staff friendly. My only gripe is that the restaurant has a set-meal kind of tariff that expects you want three courses whether you do or not, and that you want what they're offering, which I often don't.
The bedrooms have been a bit tired at times, but they're addressing that and there are also options of staying in nice chalet/ apartment style rooms.

Room Tip: Choose to overlook Robin Hood's Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane u, Managing Director at Raven Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for such a positive review and we're delighted yo had an enjoyable stay. I'm sorry you weren't made aware of our other menu options as we do offer 1 or 2 courses from the evening Tables D'Hote Menu and have a seperate lighter Bay View Lounge evening menu. We do hope you'll return and experience our spectaular views,

Diane Uhalde
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We spent a short break here with friends and enjoyed the experience. The hotel decor is very tired in places both inside and out. The rooms were clean and tidy although again the decorating could have been better. However this was made up for with the wonderful position right on the cliff top, superb staff and truly great food. The views across the bay are stunning but unfortunately one of our party could not see them because their window was steamed up inside the double glazing. To be fair the hotel gave a refund on the bay view excess but this room was not up to the standard of our other rooms. We will all go back again at sometime in the future but will make sure all rooms have a clear bay view. Thank you Raven Hall staff for a lovely break

Room Tip: You will need to pay a little more but make sure you have a room with a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane u, Managing Director at Raven Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for a constructive, positive review and we're delighted the staff looked after you so well and you had an enjoyable stay. We take your point about keeping up with redecorating which we are constantly continuing with on a rolling schedule and it is difficult to undertake certain rooms and public areas since the Hotel has been incredibly busy for some months. We are adderssing this where possible and have just completed several bedrooms and bathrooms.

Apologies also for the cloudy window which is a victim of the harsh elements up here and will be addressed also. We do hope you'll return and enjoy a clear Bay View next time

Diane Uhalde
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Raven Hall Hotel to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary and we are so glad that we chose this Hotel for our break . Set in lovely grounds with spectacular scenery we were warmly greeted by Reception staff on our arrival and our Bay View Room was delightful - far exceeding our expectations . We had booked for breakfast and dinner each day and the food was lovely - Excellent sized portions beautifully cooked and served by attentive and courteous staff. Yes, there are areas of the hotel that could do with a lick of paint but it is clean and welcoming and the views out to sea take your breath away. Many Thanks to all the staff at the hotel for their friendliness and Amy ( Receptionist) who was so helpful at the booking stage . We are already planning a return visit!

Room Tip: The nominal extra amount for a Bay View Room is worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oakridge97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane u, Managing Director at Raven Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
We're so pleased you chose Raven Hall for your special celebration and the hotel and staff exceeded expectation and you've experience the customer care we strive for. We do hope you'll be returning in the future.

Diane Uhalde
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just returned from a nights stay at the Raven Hall Hotel and found the stay to be a pleasant one.

Whilst not the best hotel I have stayed at it certainly ranks as a good one. We stayed here to celebrate my mother in laws 80th birthday, our party consisted of 7 adults and three children. The rooms were pleasant and reasonably modern, a little too warm for my liking, but opening the windows and turning down the heating as soon as we arrived sorted that out.

We chose to eat at the hotel and opted for bar meals as oppose to a meal in the restaurant and the food was very good (it took in inordinately long time for the food to arrive, but they did apologise for this due to there being a wedding party being served as well). Point to note, we didn't notice a children's menu, but our kids were happy with their choice from the bar menu.

There is a recreation room with pool table and table tennis and also a small indoor swimming pool which we used. The pool is only small and they only allow aprox 10 people to use it any any one time so you 'have to wait your turn' so to speak. One point to note, whilst we were there, the pool water was extremely chlorinated and made all our eyes sting, and even after showing we could still smell the chlorine.

The setting and the grounds of the hotel really are a credit here. They are beautiful and make for a pleasant walk to walk off your meal.

Overall we had a very pleasant stay and would certainly consider coming back if we are in this area.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea have fantastic views. Ground floor rooms can be a little noisy if there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here in March this year and looks very oldie worldie while driving up to it, bedroom was a fabulous size with a bay window looking out on to robin hood bay they view was lovely,
Breakfast was a good hearty English with a good choise plus tea or coffee with toast, the evening meal was lovely and top marks to the chief and I have never tested vanilla custard like it the food was spot on so full marks,
Staff were very friendly and were always on hand if needed.

This hotel would go on my list to visit again as it is a good base.

Any question please ask.

Room Tip: It has a small pool but we did not use it so can not comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have been here on several occasions. The friendliness and courtesy of the staff cannot be faulted.
Just 2 points that I would like to mention - it is advertised with 'high speed internet access' - my experience was no internet access anywhere I sat in the hotel on this occasion On our last trip it was limited and very very slow.
Secondly although the food is good, I felt it was too expensive. I have had much better meals for far less elsewhere.
The wonderful views are stunning and it is lovely to eat breakfast overlooking the sea and Robin Hood's Bay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenscar
9.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,000 reviews
2.8 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
799 reviews
6.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
713 reviews
9.6 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
798 reviews
23.9 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raven Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raven Hall Hotel

Property: Raven Hall Hotel
Address: Ravenscar, North York Moors National Park YO13 0ET, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Ravenscar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenscar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Raven Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel situated on the clifftop overlooking Robin Hoods Bay with Panoramic award winning views, wt in 100 acres of National Park including free 9 hole golf course, gardens, tennis courts and putting also indoor swimming pool and sauna. The main hotel has 54 en-suite bedrooms including family rooms and suites and there are 8 eco friendly log lodges with some self catering facilities within 150 metres. A perfect Wedding venue and ideal for a leisure break or exploring holidays with close proximity to Sacrborough, Whitby and the North Yorkshire Moors. A unique property in an enviable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Raven Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raven Hall Ravenscar
Hotel Raven Hall
Raven Hall Hotel Ravenscar, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing