We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful scenery, brilliany staff, fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Raven Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raven Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenscar
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery, brilliany staff, fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel is unbelievably beautiful. Sat on top of a cliff overlooking the sea and Robin Hood's bay it provides the perfect location for a calm, relaxed get away. These views can be taken in even more by playing the 9 hole gold course, free for all residents. The rooms are comfortable and homely with good beds and the shower physically blew me away! The staff, from bar to housekeeping to reception and so on are possibly the politest, friendliest staff I've ever experienced at a hotel. The breakfast offers cereal, toast or cooked with the cooked being a personal preference. The food offers a wide range from delicate pasta dishes to classics like scampi and chips to satisfy the whole family. The hotel is surrounded by picturesque towns such as Whitby which offer lovely days out on the beach or whatever activity takes your fancy providing an ideal location. Overall it's a clean, comfortable hotel with fantastic facilities and staff who treat you wonderfully with a dry sense of humour. What more could you want?

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReviewMan167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    426
    132
    59
    41
See reviews for
213
699
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at Raven Hall! A very interesting history and incredible views over the Yorkshire coast! The staff were very friendly and service was very good! The food served at breakfast and dinner was good quality but I felt lacked choice! The room was quiet and well equipped but it did remind me of a travel lodge. Also needs hot chocolate pouches in the rooms! But still an enjoyable stay for a night!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just spent 5 nights at the Raven Hall Hotel
Excellent service and meals
Would recommend this Hotel to all
Even dogs are allowed
A beautiful view overlooking Robin Hood Bay
Excellent parking facilities

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and myself stayed at this hotel in March 2014, we found it to be adequate for our purposes, decor is getting dated and could certainly do with lick of paint here and there, but overall this did did not spoil our stay, we did eat in the first night but found it a little formal for our liking some would love it I am sure.
The views towards Robin Hoods bay are stunning, sure they would even better in summer
The one thing I must mention if it is windy insist on a room facing the sea the wind noise down the side by the pool was horrendous.
It's *** are just about right.

Room Tip: As above the rooms overlooking car park/pool are very noisy when it is windy, which in that location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERIC B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Loved it, we stayed in the lodge for our wedding anniversary, Lovely place, clean, tidy and so romantic, would maybe be a bit hard if you are not sturdy on your feet as it is rather hilly but the staff are friendly, the place is a little gem will defiantly be returning and would take our kids who are 19 & 21 as they would love it, only downfall was the late check in and they were running 20 minutes late so did not get checked in till 3.20, but was not that bothered as we had a lovely drink in the bar!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkAlfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife and I have just returned again from this hotel in what must be one of the most beautiful locations in the country. Our room was large with three large windows that had the most stunning views over the bay to Robin Hoods Bay. The room was spotless and well decorated, with a good sized bathroom. The staff at this hotel are courteous, helpful and very friendly, nothing is to much trouble. The food is outstanding and is prepared from locally supplied ingredients. The hotel restaurant over looks the bay with stunning views of the coast line. You also have the added bonus of watching the glorious sunset while enjoying a glass of wine and delicious food.
The hotel has its own Golf Course, Swimming pool, Tennis courts, etc. I have and will continue to recommend this hotel to my family and friends, and look forward to my next visit.
I have no hesitation in giving this hotel 5 Stars.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The family room was adequat & clean with nice views (306) .
Pity about the pool being out of action on arrival (pool temp problems apparently ) as we were looking forward to using before getting ready for attending a wedding . The pool was available for use the next day but the children were complaining of too much chlorine in the water .
I cant fault the staff in the Hotel,they were always on hand to help & always polite.
Breakfast was very nice with plenty of variety
An ideal location for a wedding which made the day very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Room 306 has views of two sides as it is on a corner of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane u, Managing Director at Raven Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
We're pleased your enjoyed the Wedding you attended here at Raven Hall which is a very popular venue all year round. Apologies for the problem with the swimming pool which was due to an equipment fault with the digital dosing of chlorine and has since been rectified. Your room tip about 306 is very useful and we do have a number of other similar family rooms.

Diane Uhalde
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenscar
9.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,939 reviews
6.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,807 reviews
2.8 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
696 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
9.6 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raven Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raven Hall Hotel

Property: Raven Hall Hotel
Address: Ravenscar, North York Moors National Park YO13 0ET, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Ravenscar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenscar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Raven Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel situated on the clifftop overlooking Robin Hoods Bay with Panoramic award winning views, wt in 100 acres of National Park including free 9 hole golf course, gardens, tennis courts and putting also indoor swimming pool and sauna. The main hotel has 54 en-suite bedrooms including family rooms and suites and there are 8 eco friendly log lodges with some self catering facilities within 150 metres. A perfect Wedding venue and ideal for a leisure break or exploring holidays with close proximity to Sacrborough, Whitby and the North Yorkshire Moors. A unique property in an enviable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Raven Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raven Hall Ravenscar
Hotel Raven Hall
Raven Hall Hotel Ravenscar, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing