We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location, but in need of some modernisation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raven Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raven Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenscar
Certificate of Excellence
Hessle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lovely location, but in need of some modernisation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Dropped in twice for elevenses and lunch. Theplace has a fantastic situation, marvellous views, and a great start for walks, quite easy to get to by road.

The service and food were very good and friendly.

The hotel is old and extensive and some parts are in need of refurbishment, but this place is unique.

Will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ERYBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane u, Managing Director at Raven Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for a spot on review, it's a great place to drop inf or coffee or lunch with amazing views from the restaurant or gardens. We totally agree it's unique and of course needs constant maintenance and we're in the process of a scheuld of updating. Hope you call in again soon, particularly during ths lovely weather and enjoy a break in the gardens.

Diane Uhalde
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    421
    132
    59
    41
See reviews for
208
692
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend,we had a lovely room with amazing views.We didn't use the restaurant in the evening but had a really good breakfast,had a good choice of local products.The hotel is set in wonderful grounds.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane u, Managing Director at Raven Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We're delighted you had a short stay with us and experienced our stunning location and Yorkshire breakfast. Chef does source fresh, local produce as much as possible and we hope your eturn and sample our Evening Dinner in the Panorama Restaurant and enjoy those views again.

Diane Uhalde
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in July 2014 on a bed and breakfast basis and enjoyed it very much. The room was very comfortable, with en suite bath and shower over and a partial sea view. A slight problem was that there was a nearby exterior fire escape which was lit at night, so the room could not be as dark as I would have liked for sleeping. If these lights cannot be turned off at night, then thicker curtains and/or blinds should be provided. Breakfasts were excellent: plenty of choice and well-cooked, with very efficient service. However, all those reviewers who have criticised the ludicrously small breakfast plates are absolutely right! That said, all the staff I came across were very pleasant and very much on the ball. I also liked the elegant and comfortable lounge which would be magical in winter with the open fire.
The only thing that lets the hotel down is the outdoor leisure facilities. The golf course (which fortunately is free to residents) was very poorly-maintained, especially the greens, and one look at the surface of the putting green outside the main building convinced me to give that a miss. The croquet lawn was similarly uneven. A pity, because the gardens, particularly the roses, were immaculately kept and looked beautiful. I would definitely visit this hotel again, given a similarly-priced package, but will leave the golf clubs at home next time!

Room Tip: For reasons mentioned above, best avoid rooms 118 and 119 if you like complete darkness for sleeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paullally1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane u, Managing Director at Raven Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for the very fitting title to your review which captures the essence of Raven Hall, which is an old fashioned, period building with some original features within, which we are updating constantly in keeping. I'm sorry the greens were due to be cut during your visit, which the garden team do keep on top of on a regular basis, but we do mention it is only a 9 hole links golf in a challenging location on the clifftop and the 100 acre grounds take a lot of care particularly during this very hot weather! We take on board your other comments and appreciate the positive feedback and hope you'll pay us a return visit.

Diane Uhalde
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Unfortunately last night (11/07/14) there was a very 'rowdy' event going on at the hotel which involved screaming, shouting and explicit swearing from 10pm until 2am.

Hotel management only reacted to this loud activity when I called to complain at 12:30am and even then the commotion continued in full force but in the car park (!)

I was reassured by the duty manager that the hotel manager would contact me (12/07/14) to explain why hotel management allowed guests to continue making such excessive noise and offensive swearing.

I never received acknowledgement of my complaint.

When approaching the hotel manager at 3:30pm on 12/07 he offered only excuses that the hotel could not control guests' behaviour which is indeed true but, the hotel allowed this to continue for too long whilst others guests tried to sleep.

Very disappointed with hotel manager's dismissive attitude to us as paying (non-trouble causing) guests and refusal to offer any form of appeasement apart from a fan.

I look forward to corresponding with the hotel's owner.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaymakers326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane u, Managing Director at Raven Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
I'm sorry to read this review as I have already personally dealt with this over a week ago. Having apologised and resolved the issues raised in an email to me to what I consider a satisfactory conclusion which the reviewer thanked me for, I don't feel there is need for further discussion. We did in fact have an unfortunate incident beyond our control with a couple of wedding guests which resulted in them being removed from the premises andserious action being taken. Apologies were made to the guests who were affected by this by our Hotel Manager, although this guest didn't want an apology but compensation. He in no way intended to be dismissive, but didn't appreciate the mention of a 'review' if no compensation.

Diane Uhalde
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Been here a few times over the years. Food is excellent, service excellent. Wi fi is atrocious which is in excusable in 21st century. Stayed in one the lodges, a hidden gem. But you DO need decent weather to enjoy area properly.
Could do with some refurbishment, some parts a bit tired.
Will return.

Room Tip: Check weather and do not rely on wi fi, its dreadful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickmoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

First time at this hotel and i must say firstly the views are just amassing, and i could look out at them all day. the grounds are very nice and kept tidy. the breakfast is good with plenty of choice.
This hotel is a sit back and relax hotel or there are plenty of nice walks around the area, There is not much to do outside the hotel without getting into the car, Scarborough, Robin Hoods bay, Whitby and several other nice places are nearby.
Some parts of the hotel could do with a little bit of a tidy up but overhaul this is a fine old building.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuneaton.uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just returned from a short break at this hotel.Everything from checking in until leaving was perfect.
The room overlooking the bay was more than I expected,outstanding.
The Breakfast was very good, ,plenty of everything,We will return as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the bay for a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john.smith76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenscar
9.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
2.8 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
6.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
9.6 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raven Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raven Hall Hotel

Property: Raven Hall Hotel
Address: Ravenscar, North York Moors National Park YO13 0ET, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Ravenscar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenscar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Raven Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel situated on the clifftop overlooking Robin Hoods Bay with Panoramic award winning views, wt in 100 acres of National Park including free 9 hole golf course, gardens, tennis courts and putting also indoor swimming pool and sauna. The main hotel has 51 en-suite bedrooms including family rooms and there are 8 eco friendly log lodges with some self catering facilities within 150 metres. A perfect Wedding venue and ideal for a leisure break or exploring holidays with close proximity to Sacrborough, Whitby and the North Yorkshire Moors. A unique property in an enviable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotels.com so you can book your Raven Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raven Hall Ravenscar
Hotel Raven Hall
Raven Hall Hotel Ravenscar, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing