We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very limited wi-fi; management would not listen!”
Review of Raven Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Raven Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenscar
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very limited wi-fi; management would not listen!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The advertised 'hi speed wi-fi' does not exist. It is supposedly available in all public areas. However I tried on several occasions and was unable to connect. It was clearly known, when I spoke to the receptionist about the problem I was informed that if it was important they sometimes let guests use their computer. After my fourth abortive attempt I asked to speak to the manager about the problem and was told I could either speak to him in the restaurant or wait 45 minutes until breakfast had finished! The MD was in her office but refused to speak to me, which the duty manager subsequently told me was her prerogative! That is not customer service. Getting desperate one evening I walked around the public areas laptop in hand and discovered there is ONE spot where you can get a signal but even then it was too slow to be of use for anything other than reading emails. If I could discover this why had the hotel not done so, It would have been really helpful and saved a lot of frustration. I was also irritated by frugal supply of toiletries. We had a double room yet only one of everything was supplied and nothing replenished during our four night stay. This frugality was also reflected in ONE packet of Crawfords biscuits between two! The bath mat and shower connections were greatly discoloured and the mixer tap either gave scalding hot water or cold thus a shower was impossible, not that I minded a leisurely bath whilst on holiday. There is no attention to detail, there were dead light bulbs in our room on arrival none of which remained for the length of our stay. It is with great sadness I write this review but I did try to resolve the matter during my visit and even advised the duty manager of my intention to write a report on Trip Advisor.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane u, Managing Director at Raven Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Firstly may I say that we were expecting this review and not sure how this hasn't been resolved, as the Hotel Manager did explain and apologise about the WIFI problem but no mention was made about any of the other issues mentioned and these could have been addressed at the time or during the stay. The light bulbs were not dead but the switches needed to be turned on in a sequence which a hosuekeeper showed the guest during the stay and usually toiletries and biscuits are replenished daily. Apologies if this wasn't the case, but housekeeping would have been happy to do so if informed and as a 3 star Hotel we do provide adequate guest products.


I understand the main issue was the WIFI problem which was encountered during the weekend we were hit by the tailend of Hurricane Bertha and the thunderstorms and severe weather affected satellites, internet connections etc. along the coast. As pointed out we are in a unique coastal and countryside location which is affected by this occassionally and we have supplmented our BT broadband with a further internet dongle to boost the signal which has been successful. Also, the guest WIFI is complimentary and it did return to normal when the weather settled and we do appreciate this was frustrating but beyond our control.

In respect of the comment about the MD, myself, sitting in her office, I have no idea why the Receptionist would need to even mention I was in the Hotel or say this as I was actually in a business meeting and like most hotels a Duty Manager deals with customer issues and in it was in fact the Hotel Manager who actually came to deal with this within 5 -10 minutes.

I'm sorry this hasn't been the usual positive guest experience we try to offer and I'm not sure how we could have resolved the issues further.

Diane Uhalde
Managing Director
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    435
    138
    63
    46
See reviews for
223
731
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel is steeped in rugged coastal history a marvellous site ,placed in a wonderful setting.
Yes it's a little ostentatious and behind the times but it has quality and character to get away with this.
A wonderful dining room with excellent views and a good varied mix of client ,a fantastic venue for a wedding with the Castile walls on the perimeter ,making for unforgettable photography.
It's not perfect but it can get away with the odd mistake.
Very Jane eyre!

Room Tip: Sea views .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane u, Managing Director at Raven Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for the review which highlights the history and character of the building and grounds which does have a stunning location. We haven't been called ostentatious before but accept this as a compliment and although it isn't a modern style country house hotel it does have all the modern facilities with a great Panorama Restaurant and menus.

The exterior has been used as a location for a couple of period films as your description suggests. We hope you'll make a return visit and perhaps try one of the modern eco lodges.

Diane Uhalde
Managing Director
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltby
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

A very enjoyable stay,staff as good as ever BUT the downside is again the evening children's and vegetarian menus.We feel these have not changed in years and the children's menu is composed of pizza,chicken nuggets and meatballs,surely it would not be too difficult to produce a smaller version of the normal menu.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane u, Managing Director at Raven Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We're pleased you had a pleasant stay once again and having checked with our Chef as I thought we have in fact changed both vegetarian menus and children's menu to add more dishes in the last year. Child meals include pasta, jackets etc. and we do offer the full adult evening Dinner menu at half price plus the Bay View Lounge menu which has a different selection of dishes. We do hope you'll return and we can make every effort to accommodate the children's choices.

Diane Uhalde
Managing Director
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We walk this area on a regular basis due to the outstanding coastal scenery and have walked past the entrance to this hotel on many occasions but never stayed because we could easily drive home afterwards, but we decide to stay for two nights on a weekend as a birthday treat.

The Hotel which is situated at the top of cliff has fabulous views over to Robin Hoods Bay, the reception, lounge and bar areas have what looks like the original fittings, wood panelling etc. creating a very relaxing feeling as soon as you enter, leading to a large panoramic dining room again with outstanding views over the bay.

Our room on the first floor was very large with a bay window overlooking the gardens and the bay, although the room and bathroom would have benefited from an update, everything was still fairly modern and spotless, in fact we were so impressed with the room size and view we would endeavour to book the room again on a future visit. It was very hot and humid when we stayed but the hotel provided a pedestal fan for the duration which was very welcome.

Dinner was a very pleasant and relaxing experience, we managed to get a window table each night which had excellent views over the gardens, golf course and the bay. The menu had a good choice of starters, main courses and deserts, all served with decent size portions and were accompanied by a side order of veg. We also noted the dessert menu had cheese and biscuits as an option at no extra charge, in fact the only extra charges were if you wanted grilled steak or a portion of chips, this was a pleasant change to some hotels which serve miniscule portions and charge supplements for half the items on the menu. There was also an excellent vegetarian choice.

Breakfast was also served in the dining room with the usual cereal, fruit juices and hot buffet choices, as some others have mentioned the plates were not overly large but were adequate for me, and I like a good cooked breakfast on holiday, this however did not seem to stop some people piling up their plates and returning for second helpings,

Coffee, drinks cakes, sandwiches and the bar prices at this hotel were surprisingly reasonably priced for a hotel we thought, unlike some hotels we have stayed at.

Service was also faultless during our stay, friendly and efficient staff, never had to wait for a table, speedy and polite service.

There are plenty of car parking spaces in a wooded area just before the entrance to the hotel, with a separate car park for the lodges.

We were not disappointed with our stay, and after realising what a gem was virtually on our doorstep have decided to book a further 4 nights later this year. We were unable to book the same room, but hopefully after taking advice from reception our room will be just as good.

The hotel provides a great base for walking if you don’t live in the area, being situated on the Cleveland Way, there are a couple of walks from the hotel if you don’t want to take the car out.

Walk to Robin Hood’s bay either down the old railway cycle track or follow the coast path, approx. 1hr 40min each way
Walking in the opposite direction will take you to Hayburn Wyke a similar distance and a flatter walk, but will need to take refreshments as there are no amenities when you get there.

The Tourist Information Centre is also situated just before the entrance to the Hotel Drive.

Room Tip: Bay window rooms worth the extra, but the hotel seems to have lots of other rooms overlooking the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane u, Managin Director at Raven Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for such a comprehensive and positive review, which was also very helpful to potential visitors to the Hotel or just the area, which is exactly what Tripadvisor was intended to be. We're delighted you decided to stay with us and do hop you'll return in the future.

Diane Uhalde
Managing Director
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We graded to a sea view room
The hotel is in a great location with lovely views. The staff work hard and the service and food were good, if a little pricey. The main problem was that the rain poured in and flooded the room.i was dissapointed as we were only staying one night and I was up mopping up with towels. In fairness, the lovely night porter offered to move us but it was to a smaller room and it was dark..
The hotel is well overdue for an upgrade

Room Tip: Don,t pick room 124
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane u, Managing Director at Raven Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for the positive comments and apologies you experienced the dreadful weather. It was very extreme rainy conditions which battered the coast particularly and a lot of hotels reported problems in the freak conditions. We have upgraded a lot within the hotel but are trying to do so in keeping with the old mansion house and its a constant schedule to keep it well maintained.

Diane Uhalde
Managing Director
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

If you want to stay in a clinical, boring hotel with no character and staff who are like zombies who say all the right things with a total lack of sincerity don't stay here.
This place is brilliant. Alright it has a few niggles if you are after clinical perfection but its history and character put it way ahead of a modern hotel. The staff are totally considerate and charming, the food is excellent and if I didn't already have a nice house to live in I would quite happily live there permanently.

Room Tip: Get a bay window room facing the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane u, Managing Director at Raven Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Loved your review although I started to panic slightly when first reading it! Thanks for the positive comments and we do hope you return

Diane Uhalde
Managing Director
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Weekend with old friends much enjoyed at this beautifully positioned hotel overlooking Robin Hood's Bay. Staff were friendly and largely efficient. Food was good and presented well. Furnishings comfortable and lounges a pleasure to sit and chat in - no TVs in them was a delight.
Room was one of the modernised + refurbished ones which was pleasant.
Just one quibble; there is a "golf course" advertised. It is not a golf course - it is a field - there are no greens - there are bits of grass mown to a slightly lower level.

So don't bother to take your golf clubs but do enjoy a hotel I will certainly be visiting again

Room Tip: Get one with a view over Robin Hoods Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane u, Managing Director at Raven Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for the positive comments and we're pleased you enjoyed the hotel stay. I'm sorry you were disappointed with the golf course, which we do advertise as 9 hole links course as it's on the cliff edge within our grounds, and we do have greens which the gardeners endeavour to maintain as best they can given the rough terrain.

Diane Uhalde
Managing Director
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenscar
9.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,022 reviews
2.8 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
807 reviews
6.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
12 reviews
9.6 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
809 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Raven Hall Hotel

Property: Raven Hall Hotel
Address: Ravenscar, North York Moors National Park YO13 0ET, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Ravenscar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenscar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Raven Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel situated on the clifftop overlooking Robin Hoods Bay with Panoramic award winning views, wt in 100 acres of National Park including free 9 hole golf course, gardens, tennis courts and putting also indoor swimming pool and sauna. The main hotel has 54 en-suite bedrooms including family rooms and suites and there are 8 eco friendly log lodges with some self catering facilities within 150 metres. A perfect Wedding venue and ideal for a leisure break or exploring holidays with close proximity to Sacrborough, Whitby and the North Yorkshire Moors. A unique property in an enviable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Raven Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raven Hall Ravenscar
Hotel Raven Hall
Raven Hall Hotel Ravenscar, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing