We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful distillery tour!”
Review of Cardhu Distillery

Cardhu Distillery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$329.77*
and up
3-Day Speyside Whisky Tour from Edinburgh
Ranked #4 of 10 things to do in Aberlour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Share with us the story of the only malt distillery pioneered by a woman. The malt whisky produced here has a warmth and cleanliness of taste which experts describe as "silky" and is used in some of the award winning Johnnie Walker blends.
Frankenmuth, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful distillery tour!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My wife and I were driving the lovely Scottish countryside and saw the sign for the Cardhu distillery, so we HAD to go. It was great! Beautiful drive out, and situated in a lovely setting. Our guide Keira (sp?) was very knowledgable and informative, and answered everyone's questions. Had whisky tasting at the end, a free Cardhu glass, and then the shop, where I collected some liquid souvenirs for the trip home. Very glad we stopped!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank highlander1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    57
    18
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,164 reviews
539 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
“A must on the whisky trail”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I had friends up from Sheffield so the Cardhu was a must on the wish list we visited as part of a two day homage to whisky and enjoyed our tour Lorraine was very good with loads information our trip which cost £7.50 each apart from the tour we sampled 3 whiskeys got a free Cardhu glass and a passport to visit other distilleries within the group great piece marketing needless to say another bottle was added to the collection

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Lovely Speyside Distillery”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Visited the distillery shop as part of the recent Spirit of Speyside whisky festival. The shop is attractive and the staff knowledgeable and professional. Prices to suit all budgets from the reasonable to the eye-ewateringly expensive!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, informative tour”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We visited Cardhu during the Spirit of Speyside Whisky Festival. We hadn't planned to visit but as we were in the area we decided to take a tour - and we were so glad we did!

Our tour guide, Graeme, was excellent in his delivery and presentation, providing concise and interesting information. The distillery itself is attractive and appealing to visitors. The tasting that followed was also very good.

I have been on several distillery tours and I would say that this was one of the best.

Helpful?
Thank Laura Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We visited the Cardhu distillery on our recent trip to the Highlands.

We took the tour, which was good value for money and featured a dram at the end of the tour.

Our guide was very knowledgable and no question was too daft for her.

We even bought a bottle based on how much we enjoyed the trip\tour.

I would advised signing up to become "A Friend of the Classic Malts" via www.malts.com, as this will then enable you to get into 12 of the Diageo distilleries, including Cardhu for free! My father-in-law had wisely already done this before our trip and didn't have to pay here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_Pork_and_Ham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cardhu Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Cardhu Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing