We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect in any way!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cardhu Country House
Ranked #1 of 6 Aberlour B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Wasn’t really sure what to expect when booking rooms at the Cardhu Country House, but I must say this is absolutely one of the very best places I’ve ever stayed at. Coming from a suite in the Gleneagles Hotel, it felt like coming home coming here!

Yes, it’s not a trendy luxurious minimalstic boutique hotel. It’s an old country house that has been converted and renovated into a bed & breakfast to the very highest standards. Comfortable beds, good size en-suite bathrooms and the rooms had all the things we needed.

We had dinner and breakfast during our stay and everything was very fresh and tasty! Actually the dinner was just as good as in the Archietown Hotel restaurant!

Lovely surroundings and a huge plus for us, being dog lovers, was to meet the lovely dogs and taking them for walks!

We usually only stays at 5 stars hotel when going abroad, and we wasn’t really sure what to expect not being used staying at Bed & Breakfast lodgings but this is way better than many 5 star hotels in so many ways.

It’s simply just perfect in any way!

We can’t wait to meet Tina, Norman, Milly, Whisky and Coco again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ByggareBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We hired Cardhu Country House for a week over New Year. We were greeted by Norman and shown around the house and all facilities. It is as lovely as it looks on the website, in fact probably better and very spacious. Facilities for self-catering were great (even if it took us some time to master the art of Aga!) had a brilliant week and would thoroughly recommend. Thank you

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank hardtobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

What an amazing experience! When we walked in we instantly felt welcome.The smell of dinner was in the air & the fire was roaring. Norman made you feel right at home. The only requirement was to keep the fire going, which we were happy to oblige. If you are looking for a quiet, away from it all B&B this is the place. Gorgeous views of the country and right on the whisky trail. Cardhu distillery is with in walking distance and well worth it. Norman is very knowledgeable on the local distilleries and is more than happy to help with making reservations for tours. We would definatly stay at the Cardhu house again! Our only regret is we could not stay longer. Thank you Norman and Tina for making us feel part of the family.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have stand up showers, we had a claw foot tub with hand held shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristi517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We walked into this charming B&B not knowing what to expect, since we had never stayed in a B&B before. While some guests chose to stay to themselves, we found some great folks who we enjoyed getting to know and with whom we spent considerable time. Tina and Norman are very gracious hosts and the home is very special destination. We intend to be back!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MaryNellB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Been meaning to write this review for some time..my husband and I did a driving/whisky tour of Scotland for new years 2012 and found ourselves in Cardhu after driving up the coast. Norman and Tina could not have been more hospitable and friendly, it made our visit. We were the only guests in the B&B and by the second day, we were taking our meals in the kitchen, telling ghost stories late into the night, and Norman was driving us to the best whisky bars and sampling wares with us all day. The decor and setting are gorgeous, and the food is terrific - Norman has a method for making fried eggs that we still refer to as "eggs norman" in our house two years on. We talk about going back - one day!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MazMichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We were planning to re-visit either Rome or Jerusalem for our post-Easter break 2014 BUT now there is another strong contender ....... Speyside and fabulous Cardhu Country House......
Set amongst the beautidul mountains and valleys that give Speyside such charm, Cardhu Country House is a real gem. Converted into a spendid Guest House by Norman and Tina some two years ago comfortable elegance has been blendid with the very best in hospitality. Norman is excellent at recommending distillery tours (and booking those that need to be booked) while Tina serves breakfasts that range from full Scottish to youghurts,croissants and preserves for the health concious. Let theem know you'd like dinner and the pre-planned menu is a wonderful way to spend an evening...... with log fires, fine foods and a comfortable lounge for coffee. (Cardhu House isn't licensed so you may want to pop into the wonderful deli in Aberlore.)
Then to bed...... more comfort...... beautiful fluffy towels and total peace for that well earned nights sleep. The next day? the distilleries are so different we never tired of visits even if only for a tasting!
Rome.... Jerusalem or....... Cardhu Country House is a striong contender!

Room Tip: One of the rooms has what many regard as the ultimate in bathroom luxury - a freestanding Victorian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeoffWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This B&B was beyond my expectations... The website is a really good representation of the property and the accommodations, only it's even better than that! My friend and I only stayed one night but we wish we could have stayed longer, and lounge around at night by the fire with a nice scotch whisky at hand. Everything was great from the hosts to the room to breakfast. I will stay there again in the future and will recommend this place to friends also.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CATraveler138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberlour
4.7 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
254 reviews
6.4 mi away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
602 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
556 reviews
16.5 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Eastbank Hotel
Eastbank Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rothes
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardhu Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardhu Country House

Address: Knockando, Aberlour AB38 7RY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Aberlour
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Aberlour
Price Range: £105 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardhu Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive rural retreat in Speyside Whisky Country offering luxury bed and breakfast, self catering and fully catered and serviced accommodation. Cardhu House is at the very heart of the Whisky Trail where more than half of Scotlands malt whisky distilleries are to be found. Situated a mile from the River Spey, famous for its salmon fishing, and the Speyside Way, a long distance walking and cycling route linking the Cairngorms to the Moray Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Cardhu Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardhu Country House Aberlour, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing