We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Inn and base to tour Speyside” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cardhu Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cardhu Country House
Ranked #1 of 8 Aberlour B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Inn and base to tour Speyside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a one night stay. Room was spacious and nicely appointed. Innkeepers were very helpful in providing tips on the local sites and restaurants. Nice quiet location but close to several distilleries and local textile mill.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    31
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
180
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

If the picturesque country house with it's log fire and homely rooms wasn't enough for the ideal relaxing getaway in the heart of whiskey country, the hospitality shown by Norman and Tina well exceeded expectations. From catering for our culinary needs to suggesting an itinerary for the weekend, we never left wanting. The area is fantastic for distillery tours and long scenic walks, and it's hard to imagine a better house to come back, put your feet up by the fire and have a wee dram! Couldn't recommend more highly!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Great hospitality! Thank you Tina
& Norman, Whisky, Millie and Cocco. Tasteful breakfast and dinner. We enjoyed our whisky by the fire and in good company.
Beautiful surroundings, you can walk mile after mile on the countryside, quiet, beautifyl nature, lots of birds and sheep. Lovely clean rooms.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Snoozis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Wasn’t really sure what to expect when booking rooms at the Cardhu Country House, but I must say this is absolutely one of the very best places I’ve ever stayed at. Coming from a suite in the Gleneagles Hotel, it felt like coming home coming here!

Yes, it’s not a trendy luxurious minimalstic boutique hotel. It’s an old country house that has been converted and renovated into a bed & breakfast to the very highest standards. Comfortable beds, good size en-suite bathrooms and the rooms had all the things we needed.

We had dinner and breakfast during our stay and everything was very fresh and tasty! Actually the dinner was just as good as in the Archietown Hotel restaurant!

Lovely surroundings and a huge plus for us, being dog lovers, was to meet the lovely dogs and taking them for walks!

We usually only stays at 5 stars hotel when going abroad, and we wasn’t really sure what to expect not being used staying at Bed & Breakfast lodgings but this is way better than many 5 star hotels in so many ways.

It’s simply just perfect in any way!

We can’t wait to meet Tina, Norman, Milly, Whisky and Coco again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ByggareBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We hired Cardhu Country House for a week over New Year. We were greeted by Norman and shown around the house and all facilities. It is as lovely as it looks on the website, in fact probably better and very spacious. Facilities for self-catering were great (even if it took us some time to master the art of Aga!) had a brilliant week and would thoroughly recommend. Thank you

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hardtobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendora, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

What an amazing experience! When we walked in we instantly felt welcome.The smell of dinner was in the air & the fire was roaring. Norman made you feel right at home. The only requirement was to keep the fire going, which we were happy to oblige. If you are looking for a quiet, away from it all B&B this is the place. Gorgeous views of the country and right on the whisky trail. Cardhu distillery is with in walking distance and well worth it. Norman is very knowledgeable on the local distilleries and is more than happy to help with making reservations for tours. We would definatly stay at the Cardhu house again! Our only regret is we could not stay longer. Thank you Norman and Tina for making us feel part of the family.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have stand up showers, we had a claw foot tub with hand held shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristi517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We walked into this charming B&B not knowing what to expect, since we had never stayed in a B&B before. While some guests chose to stay to themselves, we found some great folks who we enjoyed getting to know and with whom we spent considerable time. Tina and Norman are very gracious hosts and the home is very special destination. We intend to be back!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryNellB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberlour
4.7 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
6.4 mi away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
16.5 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Eastbank Hotel
Eastbank Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardhu Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardhu Country House

Property: Cardhu Country House
Address: Knockando, Aberlour AB38 7RY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Aberlour
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Aberlour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardhu Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive rural retreat in Speyside Whisky Country offering luxury bed and breakfast, self catering and fully catered and serviced accommodation. Cardhu House is at the very heart of the Whisky Trail where more than half of Scotlands malt whisky distilleries are to be found. Situated a mile from the River Spey, famous for its salmon fishing, and the Speyside Way, a long distance walking and cycling route linking the Cairngorms to the Moray Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cardhu Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardhu Country House Aberlour, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing