We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service with good food”
Review of The Mash Tun

The Mash Tun
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Aberlour
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level Contributor
171 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Friendly service with good food”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a light lunch - moderately busy for a Monday lunchtime but no difficulty in getting a table.

We had a baguette and a bagel which came with a side salad and a healthy serving of chips. The chips were excellent - properly cooked and piping hot. Best I have had for some time.

Service was very friendly and chatty but also efficient. Definitely recommend stopping here for food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Onlynamefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    129
    20
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Super Pub”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We got there without a reservation but after having a drink a table became available and the very friendly staff looked after us well. Apart from a wonderful selection of the local tipple there is also an excellent choice of Scottish craft beers. The food was very good as is the atmosphere. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KalShearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberlour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pub and Grub”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

excellent Pub very friendly on occaisons they have live music. The food is good pub food and reasonable price. Service is good

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnHiggins2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Traditional Scottish country pub. Very well kept and comfortable. Dog friendly and food highly recommended (although we didn't eat). Friendly staff and a wide mix of customers.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DannyM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Poor unfriendly staff.”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We arrived at 13.50, ordered drinks and asked for the menus. After perusing over the choice of foods we went to order, only to be told that the kitchen closed at 14:00.
I said to the staff member behind the bar that she should have informed us before we ordered drinks that the kitchen was closing only to be told " you asked for drinks so that's what I served you ".
Needless to say we won't be back there. At the start if the tourist season I would expect food to be available all day. Management really need to instruct the staff on customer service!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank james46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mash Tun also viewed

 

Been to The Mash Tun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing