We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious meal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mash Tun

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberlour
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Mash Tun
Ranked #2 of 8 Aberlour B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious meal!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My family of 5 booked a table last night at The Mash Tun. We all had something different off the menu, each of us described the food as delicious! Good value, excellent choices in a warm cosy environment. Would definitely visit again, staff very welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    61
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
105
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stopped off in the Speyside area one evening on our way around Scotland. After a great distilleries walk in Dufftown we came to Aberlour for dinner. We were looking for a relaxed "inn" environment with a lively atmosphere and a decent menu and that's exactly what we got at The Mash Tun. They were fully booked but fortunately a couple were finishing early and the waitress kindly offered us their table. Service was efficient and friendly and the food was very tasty and great value. We'll definitely come back.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This was my second stay at the Mash Tun and we returned to Aberlour just to stay there. Our first stay a couple of years ago on an anniversary holiday was sublime. We enjoyed it so much we tailored our itinerary around staying at the Mash Tun once again.

Our second visit was as our first, excellent. The Glenlivet room was chosen both times just on the whim that one of my favorite whiskys is The Glenlivet, yet this room is charming and beautiful and the views across the Spey and a riverside park are truly beautiful! This room is a very nice place to spend time when the weather doesn't lend itself to outdoor activities.

The Bar and Restaraunt is also excellent and a really nice place to spend time. The food is exceptional and it is very apparent that they take pride in preparing first class food for their patrons. The plethora of whisky's in the bar is also a delight for a whisky lover. The breakfasts are also excellent and very well executed.

One of the things that makes the Mash Tun special is the staff. Absolutely everyone you come into contact with is extremely pleasant and clearly committed to making your experience as a guest a pleasant and special one.

I highly recommend the Mash Tun whether you are just in need of a place to stay in Aberlour or want to make this your base for a trip up the whisky trail.

Room Tip: The Glenlivet room is excellent but fellow travelers in the Glenfiddich room also speak very well of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Food and service were excellent.
Worth a visit on its own merits but should be a must do if you are in Aberlpur for any reason.
Alongside the old railway which is a very pleasant walk.
Just off the high street near a couple of distilleries and the Walkers shortbread factory.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank twoshortplanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Spent a night here as recommended by a friend. The room McCallan was very quaint and comfy and had everything we needed. This room has 2 single beds and not a double. The only issue was that although they advertise as having wi fi I could not log in. I even found that I could not access my own 3G Internet service. The staff were very friendly and attentive. We had dinner in the whiskey bar below (bookings recommended) The food was very nice as was the atmosphere. Breakfast in the whiskey bar was included. We were the first in for breakfast and they must have got the orders mixed up as a number of guests that came in after us got served first. This meant although we went to breakfast early we had to rush our food to get to our tour we had booked for the morning. These things happen. Although a little pricey I would definitely go again

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mezdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBSmith
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely room overlooking the river. Great food and the perfect location if doing the Speyside Way as well as being very close to Aberlour Distillery. The room had slippers and dressing gowns which made it extra cosy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I normally check tripadvisor before booking anything, however did not do so before booking the Mash Tun! My advice check tripadvisor first. I've now read the newest reviews and my husband and I did not have the same experience! We had a very lukewarm welcome which didn't give us a good first impression!
I booked the Aberlour suite the most expensive room and whilst I have to say it was an imaculate room, there was no view of river except from the bathroom and toilet was right by the window! Unfortunately we didn't get to taste the meals in the evening, we were hopeful breakfast would be good. Breakfast was ok though a bit bland. It is a great whiskey bar and very near to the beautiful River Spey.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueG19_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberlour
0.4 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
211 reviews
1.9 mi away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
543 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Eastbank Hotel
Eastbank Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rothes
53 reviews
4.8 mi away
Cardhu Country House
Cardhu Country House
#1 of 8 in Aberlour
345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norlaggan
Norlaggan
#6 of 8 in Aberlour
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mash Tun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mash Tun

Property: The Mash Tun
Address: 8 Broomfield Square | Speyside, Aberlour AB38 9QP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Aberlour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Aberlour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
View of the boat shaped exterior of The Mash Tun ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mash Tun Aberlour, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing