We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly place to stay.”
Review of Dowans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dowans Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aberlour
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great friendly place to stay.”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived in the afternoon and were welcomed very warmly by everyone. Even though they are renovating they still managed to make us feel special. We had one of the renovated rooms and wow is the word that comes to mind. It was very comfortable with nice touches like warmed floor in bathroom and nice toiletries. Did not have dinner but breakfast would have to be one of the best we have had on our travels. Love to see it after the renos have been completed. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lina09112016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurrayFamilyDowans, Owner at Dowans Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words and we very much look forward to welcoming you back here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    37
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
44
79
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The location of Dowan's is perfect for checking out Speyside and surrounding areas. There is literally a distillery just a few meters down the road.
The owner's are in the midst of upgrading and updating the rooms and decor, but we never felt as though we were in the way. Once the transformation is complete this will be "the place" to stay! Breakfast was included and you could have hot or cold. There is a quaint bar off the main hall where Michael has an extensive whisky selection, but if you'd rather have a mixed cocktail or beer that is available as well. Bistro 57 has a nicely varied menu with several weekly specials. Too bad for them the heirloom tomatoes ran out to soon as I never did get to try them the three nights we dined! WE will definitely stay here again should we find ourselves back in Aberlour.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #2 which overlooked the front gardens and the main road. This hadn't been upda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurrayFamilyDowans, Owner at Dowans Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2015
Thank you for such lovely words. We hope that you will swing by this way again when you are on more of your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed for 2 nights and could not have been made more welcome. Yes - its a work in progress as the family are steadily and tastefully renovating the premises, so workmen were about in the day, but don't let that put you off. The room were nicely appointed, spotlessly clean and the effort the family made to make sure the guests were happy was exemplary - nothing was too much trouble. Breakfasts were excellent, evening meals likewise, a huge selection of specialist whiskies in the bar and great conversation. Even the ducks and the dog were welcoming. The Murray family have a clear passion and vision for the Dowans and I loved their genuine, honest approach, sense of humour and attention to detail. If you want to experience the best of Scottish hospitality then book yourself a stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurrayFamilyDowans, Owner at Dowans Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2015
Thank you for your lovely words...we have a second dog now that will be equally as welcoming when you next come up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My parents and I stayed here after touring part of the Malt Whisky trail in Dufftown. The Dowans sits on the top of the hill near the end of town providing a great view of the valley near the Spey River. You can walk down the hill to meet up with a great path to walk the Spey River, go to the Aberlour Distillery or any part of town. The service at the Dowans was great, their bar area is small but quaint, dinner and breakfast were also good as well and the proprietors took the time to give us the history of the hotel.The quality of our stay was spectacular!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelin-beans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurrayFamilyDowans, Owner at Dowans Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words and we are very happy to hear that yourself and your parents enjoyed your time here with us. We enjoyed meeting the three of you and hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time in Scotland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

It is not difficult to pin down why we left Dowans Hotel with such a deep feeling of disappointment. It started with arriving to find that the front of the hotel was a building site and was reinforced by the cramped and tired bedroom that we were given that we only a bit later found out was also one of the main fire exit routes. That explained the steel ladder descending across the window which did not enhance the otherwise striking outlook across the wooded valley. The shower over the deep bath was in itself a challenge to access for those past the flush of youth, without any helpful handles. The shower fitting should have been retired several years ago – it would not stay in position and produced a feeble discharge. There was no chair in the bedroom and the hotel lounge was part of the building site which left only the bar with its compulsory muzak as somewhere to sit down. On the positive side: the ‘Bistro’ dining room was freshly furnished, the evening meal menu was well balanced and the food was tasty. The weaknesses might have been mitigated by quality management and service but that is where it rather unravelled. Lots of small things that add up give a poor impression of what is trying to be a quality hotel. Someone hoovering the stairs as you come down for breakfast, so that you cannot use the single handrail; no apologies for the building works and consequences; a sometimes disinterested receptionist; being dragooned into having pre-dinner drinks; having to ask for marmalade at breakfast, which then arrived in a bowl without a spoon. Small things in themselves but they add up to a poor overall experience and our feeling of poor value. A marked contrast to the excellent B&B that we had stayed at the previous night.

Room Tip: Avoid the fire escape room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LeNoudeGaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurrayFamilyDowans, Owner at Dowans Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
We are very disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your time with us. We are in the process of renovating an old building that unfortunately has lacked a bit of love for a while; this necessitates that we have workmen on site at certain times during the day (the only way in which we can, of course, 'retire' those shower heads) although we very much try to minimise the impact that this has on our guests. The fire exit, as I believe I explained at the time, is a leftover from the previous administration and no longer is utilised as such; the ladder outside of your window is an aspect of health and safety and hence a requirement of law but which we also believe to be of paramount importance for the safety of our guests and therefore cannot be moved. As you say however, one is still able to see the beautiful landscape across the valley.
In terms of being 'dragooned' into having a pre-dinner drink, we always offer the option for guests to have a drink whilst they peruse the menu in the bar or to go straight down to the table so we apologise if you did not take that as such.
At breakfast, we have a menu that offers several options for you to choose from. One of these options is to have toast with butter, jam or marmalade. As our marmalade is homemade, we only bring it out when it is requested as the alternative of putting out 12 bowls of marmalade when only one will be used would lead to a significant amount of food wastage as we do not recycle food that has been sitting out. In our hopes of remaining sustainable and attempting to stay true to an ethos of corporate social responsibility, we hope that the majority of people would understand this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The family have invested considerable amount of time and money in upgrading this fine old building. Work is on going but is kept as unobtrusive as possible. It was a delight to meet the family and their team and they really do work hard in seeking to make your stay memorable. Excellent ambience and food in a beautiful part of Scotland - we wish the Murray's everything that they would wish themselves in their exciting venture.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christhesecond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurrayFamilyDowans, Owner at Dowans Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you, Chris, for the very kind words. It was our pleasure to meet the both of you and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Such positive comments will only encourage us to stregthen our continued commitment to breathe new life into this beautiful old building and to remain focused on providing the best of experiences for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warnham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I spent five very happy days here with my father on a short whisky-tour holiday. It's testament to the property's charms that we spent more time in it that in the distilleries that had been our reason for visiting. Hosts Marie and Michael are without doubt the kindest and warmest hosts I've met in any hotel and their wonderful family are ever-present, ever smiling and ever-helpful. Dowans also offers the best dining options we found in the area, with varied and imaginative menus that change by the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has already been renovated; they've been redesigned with care and quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopGinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurrayFamilyDowans, Owner at Dowans Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for specifically noting your pleasure with the food that we offer as it has been a key focus for us to ensure that the excellent locally sourced produce is cooked and presented to the highest standards possible. We hope to see you back here again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberlour
4.4 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
194 reviews
13.2 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
423 reviews
12.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
20.0 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
530 reviews
17.3 mi away
Knockomie Hotel
Knockomie Hotel
#3 of 3 in Forres
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dowans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dowans Hotel

Property: Dowans Hotel
Address: Dowans Road, Aberlour AB38 9LS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Aberlour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aberlour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dowans Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high above the picturesque Spey Valley, overlooking the village of Aberlour and the River Spey below, The Dowans Hotel offers a rare opportunity for guests to relax and enjoy the elegance of a fine Highland hotel. Built over 100 years ago, now converted to a first class hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dowans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dowans Hotel Aberlour, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing