We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Holly W

A 5-star experience

Review of Dowans Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Aug 2023
One of the best hotel experiences I've ever had. The place was immaculate, the staff was so kind and hard-working, and the setting was incredible. Very well situated for day trips for golfing, castles and distilleries. It's a family that runs the place, and they are so personable, and dedicated to an amazing guest experience.

The restaurant is also fantastic, and they make a mean martini. The whisky selection is epic. Can't recommend it highly enough!
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £119
  • Hotels.com
    £140
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Dowans Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.4 miles from Dowans Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
4.6 miles from Dowans Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
1.1 miles from Dowans Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£380
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Skyscanner.com
    £379
0.0 miles from Dowans Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £175
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    £175
2.2 miles from Dowans Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
£265
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £253
  • Hotels.com
    £294
2.2 miles from Dowans Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£176
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £97
  • Hotels.com
    £171
4.2 miles from Dowans Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£99
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £99
  • Vio.com
4.0 miles from Dowans Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£126
  • Priceline
4.2 miles from Dowans Hotel
View more hotels in Aberlour
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
356
56
25
9
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
356
56
25
9
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews murray family whisky room beautiful hotel whisky snug spey valley first class high standard venison burger top quality whisky collection a wonderful stay both nights dining room hidden gem breakfast and dinner speyside whisky steph
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2023

Excellent stay! Everything was fine: the rooms, the service, the cuisine, the whisky selection, the price…The village of Aberlour at walling distance is very pretty. We can only recommend the place as one of our best experiences in Scotland.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Agnès R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 June 2023

We returned to the Dowans after staying there on a previous trip several
years ago. Much to our delight, everything was still just as charming and we even got to stay in our same room, the Speyburn. Our entire stay was wonderful, with a well-appointed room (including heated floors in the bathroom), wonderful staff, nice meals, and the most extensive whisky collection that we have ever seen. I appreciated the special touches including a coffee press in the room, Scottish shortbread treats that were replenished in our room each day, and a wonderful full Scottish breakfast each morning. The town of Aberlour is quaint and enjoyable and we took several nice walks along the river just a few minutes down the hill from the hotel. If we ever get back to that part of Scotland, we will surely book in the Dowans again.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank N5860JZlindak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 April 2023

A lovely afternoon tea for 10 made very special for my mum’s big birthday. Absolute fantastic selection, with gluten free vegetarian and nut free diet well catered for. Everything was so delicious, bountiful, beautifully presented, with plenty of tea. Gorgeous location. Perfect!

Room tip: Stay to sample the extensive - wall of whiskey -collection in style.
Date of stay: April 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank emmal36
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2023 via mobile

Third visit to The Dowans and it was even better than before.
Went to a whisky pairing, 7 courses with 7 drams.
Food and attention to detail throughout the whole evening first class.
Highly recommend.
Look forward to an overnight stay in the future

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 March 2023

Great food and service.
Beautiful hotel, bar and restaurant.
We were a large group but everything was efficient and nothing too much trouble for the young waiters. It appeared to be newly decorated and it was very tasteful.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank All F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews