We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Melissa L

Shame of Spey side

Review of Dowans Hotel
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Oct 2023
Possibly the worst hotel I have ever stayed in when compared to the expectation. On arrival greeted by a sullen women who escorted to our room. Proclaiming. You have 2 bags leave one and come back for it. No offer to help. Room tiny dingy with literally no added anything. No milk for teas. No water nothing. Not even a telephone to call reception. On complaint. You can use the glass to get water from the tap. Diner over priced pretentious menu. No way all fresh cooked. Opted for medium cooked steak which was served rare and Luke warm. Back to room flies had invaded. We killed 8 straight away then a few more as the night went on breakfast sullen staff canteen atmosphere. Eggs Benedict ok. Smoked haddock under cooked. 1/2 the toast was burn bloody awful room food and staff What a shame! we cancelled our second night !.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.4 miles from Dowans Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Dowans Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
0.4 miles from Dowans Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.7 miles from Dowans Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
4.6 miles from Dowans Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
1.1 miles from Dowans Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £247
  • Hotels.com
2.2 miles from Dowans Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £245
  • eDreams
4.4 miles from Dowans Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.2 miles from Dowans Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Aberlour
Reviews (457)
Filter reviews
457 results
Traveller rating
355
56
25
9
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
355
56
25
9
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews murray family whisky room beautiful hotel whisky snug spey valley first class high standard venison burger top quality whisky collection a wonderful stay both nights dining room hidden gem breakfast and dinner speyside whisky steph
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 457 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2023 via mobile

This is an absolute gem in the Speyside area. First off the ladies that own and run this place are fantastic. Every single staff member was a delight. The hotel itself has a great history and is beautiful. The modern renovation matches the historic features. The rooms are large and beautiful. The food was fantastic. The whiskey room..oh my. The grounds…beautiful. The location is walking distance to Aberlour Distillery and town. I’ve traveled around the world and this is in my top 10 for all the above reasons.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rich30350
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2023

Lissie, Courtney and Zach were amazing. This whole establishment is exceptional. It was the highlight of our trip. The food and drinks were also delicious. I honestly can’t say enough great things about this place.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank arthurl205
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 September 2023 via mobile

The Dowans Hotel was a wonderful place to stay. The house was gorgeous, the beds were very comfortable, the staff was amazing & the food was great! The location was perfect to enjoy Speyside. A perfect place to stay while enjoying the area. I would love to return!

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank vfdelallama
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2023 via mobile

The pictures do it too much justice. We were so excited to our visit to this hotel based on the photos and reviews. It is not as good as it looks on line. Also, the “family” owners are a bit unhappy. Unfortunately, I have to report poo in our toilet, the worst hotel experience you can have.

It was 79 degrees today and no A/C. I understand that Scotland is temperate but at $300 a night, you should have a/c. All the other hotels we stayed at did.

I wanted to love it but I just could not. Too much $$$$ to Deliver below level experience. Hot room, mediocre service and a poo in the toilet do not add up to 4 stars. Sorry.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bizous11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2023

One of the best hotel experiences I've ever had. The place was immaculate, the staff was so kind and hard-working, and the setting was incredible. Very well situated for day trips for golfing, castles and distilleries. It's a family that runs the place, and they are so personable, and dedicated to an amazing guest experience.

The restaurant is also fantastic, and they make a mean martini. The whisky selection is epic. Can't recommend it highly enough!

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank O3126SGhollyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews