We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£370
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Priceline
£370
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (457)
Filter reviews
457 results
Traveller rating
355
56
25
9
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
355
56
25
9
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews murray family whisky room beautiful hotel whisky snug spey valley first class high standard venison burger top quality whisky collection a wonderful stay both nights dining room hidden gem breakfast and dinner speyside whisky steph
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 457 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2024

This was the perfect place for my father's 80th birthday trip to the UK. Speyside is such a special place and the Dowan's embodies the friendly atmosphere, the phenomenal food and most of all the best Whiskey. Having The Still Whiskey bar allowed us to taste all the Whiskeys without having to run around Scotland all day. This way we focused on the Distilleries we wanted to visit and found some new favorites from the Dowan's collection. All the staff were incredibly helpful from arranging our reservation, asking all my questions via a long email chain and most importantly, taking care of us when we were there. They truly went above and beyond, especially when we ended up arriving A LOT later than expected due to travel challenges.

The restaurant and tea was amazing. Do not miss the scones, whatever you do! Don't hesitate to make a reservation here, you won't regret it.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 December 2023

Visited for a pre- Christmas lunch. Warm welcome on arrival. Service was efficient and friendly and food was delicious. The menu had variety and good vegetarian options. We hope to make a return visit soon.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Calinda_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 October 2023

Our 3rd visit to the Dowans was just as wonderful as the previous two. As we had stated on our booking, that it was a visit for our anniversary, we were greeted warmly on arrival and offered a glass of fizz on entering our room. During our subsequent stay nothing was too much trouble from the owners and staff. Always bright cheery conversation and on a day when i was exploring the local area solo, due to my wife staying at the hotel, as she was a little under the weather, advice on local places to visit was offered along with reassurance that all staff would help my wife with any requests, as she was just staying in the room. The dining on both nights was extremely pleasurable. The food was excellent and pre and post dinner drinks in the bar were enjoyed along with friendly conversation from the bar and waiting staff. We were presented with a wonderful chocolate treat on the night of our anniversary. Breakfast was fresh, delicious and filling, all dining taking place in appropriate atmospheric settings . I have come to expect nothing less from the Dowans and I would recommend staying or just dining to anyone and we will certainly be returning for future anniversaries.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 October 2023

Possibly the worst hotel I have ever stayed in when compared to the expectation. On arrival greeted by a sullen women who escorted to our room. Proclaiming. You have 2 bags leave one and come back for it. No offer to help. Room tiny dingy with literally no added anything. No milk for teas. No water nothing. Not even a telephone to call reception. On complaint. You can use the glass to get water from the tap. Diner over priced pretentious menu. No way all fresh cooked. Opted for medium cooked steak which was served rare and Luke warm. Back to room flies had invaded. We killed 8 straight away then a few more as the night went on breakfast sullen staff canteen atmosphere. Eggs Benedict ok. Smoked haddock under cooked. 1/2 the toast was burn bloody awful room food and staff What a shame! we cancelled our second night !.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank melissalU7066GN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 October 2023 via mobile

This is an absolute gem in the Speyside area. First off the ladies that own and run this place are fantastic. Every single staff member was a delight. The hotel itself has a great history and is beautiful. The modern renovation matches the historic features. The rooms are large and beautiful. The food was fantastic. The whiskey room..oh my. The grounds…beautiful. The location is walking distance to Aberlour Distillery and town. I’ve traveled around the world and this is in my top 10 for all the above reasons.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rich30350
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews