We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Opal”
Review of Radstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Radstone Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larkhall
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Visited the newly refurbed restaurant today! The surroundings were lovely. There is an extensive menu together with a lunchtime special 2 courses for £10.95 or 3 courses for £13.95 so extremely well priced. The normal menu is good value for money too. The staff were helpful however let themselves down somewhat! For a quick lunch we were there for almost 3 hours which isn't ideal if you were on a timetable! My pasta dish came without the garlic bread which was an oversight both by the kitchen staff and serving staff!! Not good!! The food was of high quality and very tasty but slow service and lack of attention to detail by the staff let this new restaurant down!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Hamiltonpuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Visited here with my friend on a Tuesday night. We were very impressed with how lovely the place is after recent renovations. The staff were nice and there was a wide variety on the menu to suit all!
We both had the chicken dish with peppercorn and brandy sauce and it was delicious.
For dessert, I ordered the strawberry and kiwi pavlova. Desserts aren't cheap so I expected a fair sized portion. However, it was a small meringue that came with cream. It tasted nice but I was expected something a bit better.
Service was good and we had a lovely table at the window so enjoyed the views over dinner.
I just hope it keeps up the good work as before when I've visited the Shawlands, the standard of food has been inconsistent. A lovely meal!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Julzy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Don't be deterred by the initial impression as you drive up, for unfortunately the exterior of this excellent hotel bears a strong resemblance to a travel lodge on a windy ridge, especially on an overcast evening, as it was when I first saw it. However as soon as you step inside that impression is blown right away, for this is an originally and beautifully decorated hotel, a brilliant blend of modern and classic, and this quality of decor extends to all parts of the hotel, or at least those I visited. The very large 'organ' bar manages to be both spacious and intimate, as does the dining room - the honeymoon suite my friends were unhesitatingly given at no extra charge because their allocated room was not quite ready [due to a large function the previous evening] was huge and superbly appointed. From the moment we entered the staff, from reception to management, were most friendly, helpful, and efficient, and the bar waiter was champions league material. The quality of food, service and accomodation over our two-day stay could not have been better, and I look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Had a family reunion with cousins from Australia here and other family memebers. Although the renovations were still ongoing, the dining area had been set up in the Reception/Lounge and was very comfortable. Service was generally good but there were some delays in catching the waiters' eye when we needed more wine.

Everyone was pleased with the food except me as my sea bass was miniature! I was compelled to take the cheese board afterwards to make up for the minnow-sized sea bass. 1st course scallops were delicious!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gavin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I was married in the hotel in October 2013 and since then I have made a couple of trips back to the Shawlands Park as I am literally in love with it!

I booked a room for my husband's birthday (which also happens to be Valentine's Day) and on arrival at the hotel, we were given such a warm welcome by the staff. It was really lovely. It was nice that they knew who we were and were interested to know how things had been going since the wedding etc. The reception also upgraded us to a family room which was lovely! Massive bed, sofa, two tvs, massive bathroom with double shower and bath....well it was luxury! To top it all off, the rooms, common areas, bar etc. are immaculately clean. There is a very high attention to detail.

We also dined at the hotel and treated ourselves to a full three course meal. Every course was amazing; the chefs really do the hotel proud when it comes to the food!

I hope I wasn't too awkward a bride (I don't think I had any Bridezilla moments) and they will be happy to see me again! In fact, we're going back to stay in the Honeymoon suite again to celebrate my birthday...can't wait! If you're ever in the area, even for something to eat, give it a try, you definitely will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackanory84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I first came across this hotel by chance, walking down to it from the village were i was staying looking for somewhere to eat and have a drink. Entering from the front and looking down to the ORGAN bar was very impressive. I was made to feel at home by the bar staff even though on that occasion i was not staying there.
Last week i had business in the same area and booked a night at the hotel being so impressed with it on my first visit. It didn't let me down what a lovely hotel certainly one of the best i have stayed in.
Very smart, clean, and superb value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OwenJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband is in a small, local photography club, Lesmahagow Photography Society, and tonight was their 30th anniversary Presentation Dinner. It's a small-ish company, 30 of us, and we had a lovely 3 course meal (a pre-set meal), presented by pleasant staff in a really nice private room which was free of charge to hire. The room was beautifully set out, and made for an easy going sociable event. The staff were also very helpful in setting up the room, with a table for the awards, and facilities for a slide show of the winning photographs to be shown as a background setting to our evening. I hope everyone else enjoyed it as much as we did, and I'd definitely recommend this venue for a similar event (here's hoping we can return for our Christmas dinner!). Thanks to all the staff

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elainecare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larkhall
2.0 mi away
The Popinjay Hotel and Spa
7.6 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
23.8 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Strathaven Hotel
Strathaven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Strathaven
273 reviews
4.7 mi away
Avonbridge Hotel
Avonbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hamilton
383 reviews
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radstone Hotel

Address: Ayr Road, Larkhall ML9 2TZ, Scotland (Formerly Shawlands Park Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Larkhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larkhall
Price Range: £82 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Radstone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radstone Hotel, following new management and extensive refurbishment, is a luxury hotel tucked away in rural Lanarkshire within the picturesque Clyde Valley. The spacious and unique hotel combines modern and eclectic styles, resulting in a dynamic atmosphere. Be impressed by the grand foyer, perfect for meeting your friends and colleagues whether for a relaxing coffee or special occasion. The Opal Restaurant offers the ultimate social and dining experience, with a varied menu to choose from. The hotel is complete with state of the art conference rooms and a Function Room - the largest in South Lanarkshire which can hold up to 350 guests or be split to accommodate less retaining the perfect atmosphere for your wedding, celebration or meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radstone Hotel Larkhall, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing