We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tainted Family Dinner” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Radstone Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larkhall
Certificate of Excellence
Strathaven
1 review
“Tainted Family Dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Just back from here, I phoned a week ago to book for a family dinner for 14 people. I got an email confirmation with all the booking details which were correct. We arrived to find we were seated at 2 separate tables which were back to back. This made what was meant to be a lovely family gathering feel very uncomfortable and less special. Children were unable to sit with both parents and the atmosphere was awful. I spoke to the manager who apologised and said they can only seat 12 people together at one time. She said we should have been told this when booking. She apologised that we weren't informed during the initial phone call or in the confirmation email or reminder email. The fact we spend about £400 I feel an apology wasn't good enough. If I had known the seating situation I would have went elsewhere.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    159
    68
    35
    24
See reviews for
124
185
15
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thornhill, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Having stopped for dinner here on Sunday I was disappointed with the lack of vegetarian dishes available. On arrival to table we were told there was no macaroni at this point I asked if they had a separate vegetarian menu which there has been in the past but was told no all dishes are marked with a V. However when looking at the menu there only appeared to be pizza or pasta I did ask the waitress if there was any other dishes when she came to take our order only to be told that there are sandwiches!!!!! I did not feel this appropriate for a main meal and asked if she could ask the chef for any alternatives which is when I then was offered vegetables in a chilli sauce which was lovely. I did e-mail the hotel through their website on Sunday night and am still awaiting a reply! If you are vegetarian beware extreme lack of choice here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine21K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesmahagow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Food was lovely love going for dinner especially when ther is gd service and a friendly environment ,, Hayley was the waitress very sweet and helpful, I had the fillet steak and it was delicious also had cream brûlée was fab, this hotel and the service from certain ppl is amazing, will defiantly be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy1987_xxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I dined in The Opal Restaurant last night and sadly I am left with mixed emotions about my experience. When we were shown to a table by the waitress I had asked if it would be possible to be moved and seated beside a window. Although she did accommodate this, it seemed like a bit of a hassle for her and I didn't find her attitude at all obliging. The food was lovely, definitely nothing to complain about or pick fault at and in fact my main meal was possibly the best fillet of beef stroganoff I have ever tasted. However, unfortunately the service did not match up to the standard of the food. We were left for long periods of time with (empty) plates on the table once we had finished courses and never once asked while eating if our meal was ok. We had to attract the attention of staff each time we needed another drink as no one, not one member of staff was attentive to the table. We waited 20 minutes for a desert menu and again only received this when my friend asked a waitress whilst on her way to the loo!
Would I dine here again, probably yes, but it wouldn't be my 1st choice, I wouldn't rush back. Only due to the service, not the food!
Oh, and the toilets weren't very clean and tidy!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NotFussy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I've stayed at the Shawlands Park three or four times now and I have to agree with other reviews when they say the beds are really comfortable. Despite being close to the motorway, the hotel is really quiet at night so a good night sleep is guaranteed. The food is so much better now the new restaurant is open and the staff are very friendly. My steak tonight was pretty good and again great value. Try the suites - they are reasonably priced and very spacious.

Room Tip: Go for the suite every time - well priced and worth the extra amount
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nipdrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is the third time I have stayed at the Shawlands Park Hotel and it deserves to be praised for the best beds ever in a hotel, a great night’s sleep makes such a difference, thank you.
Also can I just say what a really nice hotel, they take pride in the way it looks not only on the inside but outside is full of colour and the gardens at the front of the hotel are very well presented.
Dining in is a real treat too, I think I have said on my last couple of visits “compliments to the chef for a wonderful dinner” I do hope the waitress passes on my views as I’m hoping for a free dinner one day!!
This hotel in situated 20 minutes outside Glasgow City centre but if it’s just a sleep over while travelling then it’s a no brainer.

Room Tip: I like staying on the first floor and a room facing the front gardens is best for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We were at a wedding a few weeks ago . beautiful hotel , fantastic food and an over all great day including a very comfortable room.

When we arrived at the wedding we were served a very nice glass of white wine , everyone was talking about how good it was , some thought it was champagne . unfortunately no one remembers what it was called , would anyone have an idea of the name of it , hopefully someone from the hotel reads this and replies . I did email them but didn't get an answer

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenny59484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larkhall
7.7 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
2.0 mi away
Popinjay Hotel
Popinjay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosebank
3.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
23.8 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel
5.4 mi away
Dalziel Park Hotel & Golf Club
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radstone Hotel

Property: Radstone Hotel
Address: Ayr Road, Larkhall ML9 2TZ, Scotland (Formerly Shawlands Park Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Larkhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larkhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Radstone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radstone Hotel, following new management and extensive refurbishment, is a luxury hotel tucked away in rural Lanarkshire within the picturesque Clyde Valley. The spacious and unique hotel combines modern and eclectic styles, resulting in a dynamic atmosphere. Be impressed by the grand foyer, perfect for meeting your friends and colleagues whether for a relaxing coffee or special occasion. The Opal Restaurant offers the ultimate social and dining experience, with a varied menu to choose from. The hotel is complete with state of the art conference rooms and a Function Room - the largest in South Lanarkshire which can hold up to 350 guests or be split to accommodate less retaining the perfect atmosphere for your wedding, celebration or meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Radstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radstone Hotel Larkhall, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing