We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Friendly, Good Food and superb location for travelling”

The Old School Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old School Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Larkhall B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We had a most comfortable stay at the Old School Guest House. The room we had was very well appointed, clean, bright and airy. The beds were very comfortable and good quality linen which made for a very good nights sleep. The location is faultless if you are travelling in the area using the motorway network, couldn't be easier to access the main roads and although you can hear the traffic the building is very well insulated against noise so we didn't have any issues there. The owners and staff are all very friendly and made a great deal of effort to ensure our stay was comfortable. Breakfast was cooked to order, with a good choice of alternatives available, we particularly enjoyed the coffee, not just filter coffee but choice of cappucino, latte etc. Car parking is good and plentiful. The downstairs twin room is suitable for guests with mobility problems, the bathroom spacious and well appointed, the shower is a walk in type with a small step and glass door. We stayed twice, and would thoroughly recommend a stay if you are in the area, very reasonable prices for such a high standard place. Thank-you to the owners and staff for our enjoyable visits!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theheadgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for The Old School Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

Used the Old School Guesthouse as a base whilst visiting friends. Well priced and friendly hotel with attached coffee shop. Room was well equipped and comfortable, especially the bed. It was a little noisy with the busy road outside, so maybe book something to the rear of the building. You can get a great brew in the dining room, and breakfast is delicious. This is a good place to base yourself if exploring the local area, and very reasonably priced. Will book again when back up in Scotland.
Tip-For a cheap and cheerful meal out in Larkhall, we went to Canton Cuisine on the highstreet. Pretty good food at a good price.

Room Tip: Rear of building maybe, as road outside is busy.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WINGSANDKAREN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Fantastic quality Bed and Breakfast but is a bit pricy for the area. The rooms are very tastefully decorated and have a lot of nice touches and the breakfast is fantastic. Not a lot within walking distance to see or do so really would need a car. Bit of a struggle trying to find something for dinner within the area and had to settle for fish and chips!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Three of us stayed for 4 nights while working in the area and all agreed the beds were fantastic and great nights sleep were has by all. In addition the shower was excellent the rooms clean, the breakfast substantial (the black pudding was delicious) and the coffee put high street coffee chains to shame. Last and by no means least the owners couldn't do enough for you lovely couple with a golden touch.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyblueflooring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed here for one night to break up the journey from Fort William back down South and this hotel was a lovely surprise. Normally we would stay at the chain motels along the motorway but this time, to save money, we thought we would try something independent . We were a bit worried when we turned up a bit later than planned as the place didn't look very welcoming but the guy came to check us in after we rang the door bell and he was extremely polite, friendly and efficient. The room was perfect - very large comfy bed, super clean bathroom with a brilliant shower and the gate to the car park was locked overnight so we did not have to worry about the security of our vehicle. The cooked breakfast (included in the rate) was spectacular! If you are in the area I would highly recommend you make a stop for the food. Very good quality food and excellent service.

Overall the hotel was extremely good value for money and the standard of the service and the food was superb!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Have to say that I have stayed in many hotels and guest houses throughout the country( proven by the number of honest reviews I have posted) this has got to be one of the best and the price is good too. Been here 2 weeks and will definitely stay again whenever I am in the area.

Cleanliness is amazing, staff are brilliant, Mary the owner is down to earth and always smiling(to the guests at least!). Breakfast is excellent and the girls are really nice at breakfast, whatever you want the will try and accommodate you. (within reason of course!) The coffee is fantastic too.
Now to the rooms, exceptionally clean and modern rooms I was in room 5 and the bed was huge, the ensuite amazing and the shower excellent.

The only possible negative for some people is the closeness to the motorway (as soon as you come off the motorway the guest house is 100 yards at most) there can be a little noise from passing traffic but on the positive side because of the closeness to the motorway you can get anywhere in the Glasgow area in a short drive.

As a point of interest this house used to belong to John McGuiness the lottery winner who won £10 million in 1997 and lost it all and 11 years later was in debt for £2 million.
You can always tell people you stayed in a lottery winners home!

Room Tip: I was in room 5 which has a huge king size bed and a single bed but the whole place looks nice, pret...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed here on Tuesday 18th Sept. on way to Cairnryan from Inverness having booked a twin room with bath.It exceeded all expectations.The room was very clean and comfortable as were the twin beds and beautifully decorated.Very conveniently situated near motorway so we expected some traffic noise but this was minimal.The owners couldn't have been kinder and the breakfast perfect.The bath was a lovely jaccuzzi which was really luxurious for such a reasonable priced night!Hope to go back someday.
Shawlands hotel within easy walking distance has an excelllent restaurant.

Room Tip: Book in advance and ask for information.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pronky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larkhall
0.3 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
599 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Popinjay Hotel and Spa
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
4.8 mi away
Avonbridge Hotel
Avonbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hamilton
376 reviews
4.7 mi away
Strathaven Hotel
Strathaven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Strathaven
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School Guest House

Address: 59 Swinhill Road, Larkhall ML9 2TX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Larkhall
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Larkhall
Price Range: £35 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Old School Guest House Larkhall, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing