We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodation”

The Old School Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old School Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Larkhall B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This Guest House was excellent - large room, very well designed, spottlessly clean, service better than many hotels - clean towels and new toiletries daily - warm and comfortable. We had requested a double en-suite room and found it included a jacuzzi. Attractive breakfast room and breakfasts cooked to order. Staff very friendly. Secure parking overnight. Very good for the price. There was some traffic noise during the night as we had a room at the front, but it didn't disturb us much.

Room Tip: There are eight rooms. Rooms at the back would presumably be quieter. All are up one flight of sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

spotlessly clean rooms, friendly staff and a delicious cooked breakfast. I would recommend this B&B. Ample secure car parking towards the rear of the B&B. The Shawlands Hotel down the road is good for an evening meal and/or drink.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank alan i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here on 12th October to break up my journey from Fife to Wirral.
No reception but the owners son rang me to confirm I was coming as he needed to go out! :-)
I had booked the superior room for £35 B&B, the room looked like it had been fully decorated the day before, spotless with good fittings.
No place close to go for a drink before bed but no matter. Bit of noise from the motorway but only to be expected.
Fantastic freshly cooked breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GlockoHoylake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We were a little confused when we arrived at the Old School Guest house as to where to check in, as there is a house and a closed coffee shop to the side. We found a bell to ring at the coffee shop and the door was answered by a lady who showed us directly up the stairs in front of us to our room (there is no reception area). After booking a standard double it was a shock to realise we had booked a room with a shared bathroom (you have to book a superior room to avoid this!) at £55 we felt it was too much to pay to share a toilet with a stranger. The lady recommended an excellent place to eat for our evening meal. (Applebank Inn in Larkhall ML9 1QH great prices and top quality food, staff and atmosphere.)

The only windows in our room were two skylights in the roof so felt a little dark, and to add to this there were 3 of the small ceiling lights not working, which made it difficult to see to make a drink etc in the evening. We tried to get hold of someone to mend the lights but we couldn't find anyone anywhere and when we rang the main house (?presumably that's where the owners live) we didn't get a reply. There were lots of wardrobes and cupboards and it was clean. There were complimentary toiletries and a hospitality tray with biscuits which was a nice touch. We could hear the motorway, but we knew we would as it is situated next to it, this wasn't a problem for us but could be for some. The bed was very comfy and we had a very good nights sleep.

Unfortunately the shared bathroom is small and had nowhere to hang or place your towels or clothes (clothes needed as you need to walk along the corridor to get to bathroom!). I really didn't want to put them on the toilet someone else had used before me so balanced them on the radiator. The toilet roll holder was broken so the rolls where perched on ?something i can't describe. The bin didn't open and the two small mirror tiles where too low to use when shaving.

We had been told breakfast was till 10am but received a telephone call from a man at 9am asking us if we were intending to go down for breakfast, we felt embarrassed and rushed downstairs. However, the young lady who cooked and served our breakfast was lovely. She put us at our ease and cooked us a delicious breakfast (plenty choice of cereals, fresh fruit and full cooked breakfast, teas and really good coffee). Her friendliness was very welcome, and it was this young lady who showed us out and wished us a safe journey as we left.

Room Tip: A standard double means a shared bathroom at £55 you may not realise this. Room 7 only has skylight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ittlepuddytat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Our first visit to Scotland and such a treat to find this accommodation! Lovely spacious, comfortable double room. Scrupulously clean. Recommend this without a doubt! Friendly owners - family business - would stay here again if we came this way again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Anni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We found this an excellent B & B. Spotlessly clean and comfortable. Would highly recommend it. Friendly helpful staff who went above and beyond. Breakfast was wonderful with a great choice. Central location to visit the area. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Such a warm welcome and lovely fresh made to order breakfast (they even had gluten free bread). Nice room with the most comfortable bed ever. The room and public areas are immaculate, as was the bathroom. This would be a great place to stay for Glasgow if you want to be outside of the city and have a car. Very easy access to and from the motorway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daya101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larkhall
0.3 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
603 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Popinjay Hotel and Spa
4.8 mi away
Avonbridge Hotel
Avonbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hamilton
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School Guest House

Address: 59 Swinhill Road, Larkhall ML9 2TX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Larkhall
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Larkhall
Price Range: £36 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Old School Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old School Guest House Larkhall, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing