We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a great house set in a lovely little genuine...”
other travellers have booked this property
Street outside the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Street outside the house
Front view Lunch by the pool.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Street outside the house
Front view
Lunch by the pool.
Plenty of sunbathing space
Very private pool
Well equipped kitchen
Open-plan and airy accommodation
Comfortable sofas
Upstairs twin bedroom
Downstairs twin bedroom
Coffee on the terrace.
Barbecue
Beautiful streets to explore
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Riogordo, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
John N
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“What a great house set in a lovely little genuine Spanish village”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The house is really nice, we felt right at home straight away and the views from the rear balcony are amazing. The village is so nice and relaxed and the local people were so friendly. Loads of places to eat and drink and so cheap we couldn’t believe it, I could have spent the whole week just in the village. My only tip would be take a phrase book (or use an app as I did) as the locals English was worse than my Spanish and that’s saying something! It made it all the more fun. A great place to go to escape the tourists.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Salamanquesa. We look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
videbæk
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the kitchen and barbeque
Liked least: The hills in Riogordo
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
Hi Peter,
Thank you for the kind review.
Really pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back in the future. We give a discount to returning guests! ;)
Kind regards
Colin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
169Woody
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I have visited this house on a number of occasions and my partner usually visits twice a year and has done for the last three years. The house is always spotlessly clean on arrival and the owner and his staff are very approachable, and if there are any problems there is a local contact who responds immediately.
We will continue to use this house on our visits to Riogordo it is excellent value and a good location, with everything you need for a holiday.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Hi Martyn,
Thanks for the kind review. Much appreciated and we look forward to your next visit. Kind regards Colin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulride
Peak District, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Neither superb or luxurious!”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I'm afraid I really don't think it's fair to let prospective renters of this property to not give an honest overview of our stay here in August 2016.. This property is incorrectly and unfairly described as superb and luxurious because it most definitely does not fit either of those descriptions. It has been economically or cheaply furnished and fitted out in the extreme! The furniture in the bedrooms for things like your clothes are so flimsy and cheap they could have been made from match wood and one was so rickety we had to move it to a corner of the room to support it just so that it wouldn't collapse! The tables on the balcony upstairs were filthy, and pillow cases had old stains on one or two. The TV didn't work neither did the radio and the old sofas have sheets thrown over them to hide stains and wear. The kitchen lacks little things like a pair of scissors, the toaster is so small and cheap we couldn't even fit standard size sliced bread in it. The clock in the kitchen doesn't work, the lights on the upper balcony didn't work so you were in the pitch black after the sun goes down ruining any chance of relaxing in that space on an evening and there was no proper parasol for use up there in the day. The ones we found in a cupboard downstairs were two small and flimsy or had a large hole in it! There is no air con and trust me you need it in August regardless of what the owner says! You can't open doors and windows in the evening because the cats can get in! Overall this property is very very basic but functional and largely clean but in NO WAY superb and luxurious! Basic requirements to enjoy things like a nice glass of cold white wine would be an ice jacket but none is provided. The door upstairs to the balcony is so warped it gets stuck halfway so you can't open it fully the list goes on and on and on.....the house severley lacks basic maintenance. We wouldn't recommend this house or return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
Whilst we are aware of some items that need maintenance, like sticking doors, these are scheduled for repair when there is a suitable space in the calendar later in the year.

There are a number of comments that are basically incorrect. The toaster is a standard size toaster bought from the local electrical shop.
There is actually a stainless steel wine cooler in the kitchen cupboard to keep wine chilled.
There are scissors in a kitchen drawer, along with other things like needles and thread which we thought might be useful.
The ‘sheets’ over the sofas are actually termed ‘throws’ and are used to protect the furniture. They are replaced every year as is any stained linen.
The TV and all electrical equipment is checked regularly and we have not been made aware of any problems by other guests.

We have discussed the comments re dirty tables with the team that maintain the house for us and they dispute this. We have never had anyone say this before, in fact quite the opposite.

Sometimes people set out to find fault and whilst we are aware of some things that require maintenance and this is in hand, the fact is that we have a number of guests who return regularly and have had complimentary emails from most of the guests this year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenRobi...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Salamanquesa - Superb Spanish House with private Pool”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have just returned from our stay at Salamanquesa in Riogordo. We were sent an excellent information pack prior to travelling which contained a lot of detail we found helpful, including how to find the property. It is on a one way system and so this was appreciated. On arrival we were greeted with a super welcome pack of bread, cheese, meats, tea/coffee and wine - all of which was lovely the minute you step through the door.

The house is excellent and includes all home features we needed and felt very big inside with four bedrooms in total. The kitchen is very well equipped too with plenty of fridge/freezer space, washing machine and oven/hob etc. Outdoors the pool is a complete winner and was put to very good use in the soring temperatures we had, with sunbeds and plenty of seating and bbq too.

Riogordo town has all you need in terms of shops and restaurants. We ate and drank in only half of them but they were all very friendly and provided great service and lovely food. Try to go out later in the evening if you can to get the full Spanish experience. Not much is happening at 5.30pm English dinner time! Families walk out together with children and grandparents, all sharing a meal from 10pm onwards. It was great to see. My young son was struggling to keep his eyes open at the beginning but was happy when we managed to order him a burger and chips. During our stay was their summer fair. Every village in Andalucia were celebrating with the streets decorated brightly and an evening procession of floats carried through the streets with bands playing and fireworks going off. The music and celebrations continue throughout the night, but it was a great experience and a spectacular event to see with colourful outfits etc.

The area is amazing and sited within some stunning scenery. Driving around through the moutains is quite breathtaking but you will need your wits about you on some of the more minor roads. Our hire car had air con and we were grateful for that. It was a Citreon C5 and I'd say it was as wide as you would want to park outside the property. We had to fold in the mirrors and get as close to the wall as possible to allow the dustbin lorry to get by.

Our whole experience of booking this property, communication with the owners, payment etc has been very smooth. We have fully enjoyed our holiday in Spain and would highly recommend this to any family wishing to see some 'real' Spain.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and private pool
Liked least: Having to come home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Thank you for your kind words. So glad you had an enjoyable stay and hopefully we may see you back in the future. We do give returning guests a discount!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin E
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful spanish house”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Upon arrival we were really impressed by the size of the house, it was left very clean for us and a welcome pack including two bottles of wine was more than welcome.
The house has a lovely pool which is totally private and the views from the first floor balcony were lovely. We spent most nights up there enjoying the view of the valley whilst drinking the lovely local wines.
The house is the perfect base to explore the beautiful countryside of Spain. Some of the views on the mountain drives were on par with the alps it was simply breath taking.
We found some lovely places to eat in riogordo where we met some lovely people who recommended a number of specialities on the menu.
The local pork was amazing so was the wines which were extremely reasonable.
Overall a really relaxing week in the heart of rural Spain.
One thing I couldn't believe was how friendly people were, everyone said hello to us.
Totally unlike the Uk.
Thanks for a lovely week.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
So pleased you had an enjoyable stay. We would love to welcome you back sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
801eilidh...
Bridge Of Weir
2 reviews
“Excellent house in a charming town”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a wonderful week in Riogordo. The house was excellent, comfortable and well equipped. There were 9 of us and it felt spacious. The outside space was great and the kids loved the pool. Beautiful views from the upper balcony. The wood burner in the living room was a nice touch as we had a couple of chilly evenings.
The owner was prompt to answer enquiries and sent us a very helpful booklet with suggestions of places to visit. They even left food and wine in the fridge for us arriving.
We really liked this town, friendly people, excellent tapas bars and a good base for exploring the surrounding area. We would love to go back sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outside space and views.
Liked least: I liked it all!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Thank you for your kind review and we would love to see you back. We do offer returning guests a discount!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing