We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat spot”
Review of The Greyhound Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Greyhound Inn
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The staff here is absolutely the best! As soon as I checked in I asked for information and they were ready and wiling to help me and send me on the way for the evening into London. They also let us print tickets off their computers and were just great to sit and chat with. It was awesome how busy the bar was because it really brought the culture to us. We enjoyed hanging in there in the late night just for a few minutes to take it all in.The breakfast was good for being included. I chose this place looking for character based on the reviews and pictures. It looked rustic with style, but only one of our three rooms really had what I was wanting.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

If you find yourself flying out of Heathrow and needing a hotel look no further than the Greyhound. Room (inc a great breakfast) and taxi will still set you back less than one of those sterile, characterless airport hotels.
The food is great (try the papilotte of fish), the wine carefully selected and the draught ales in excellent condition.

All in all a great place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vonireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Located in the Heart of Chalfont St Peter this cosy establishment is an ideal place to stay and provides free ample parking. The building is exactly what you would expect from a grade 2 listed Inn. The bar has a fine selection of drinks and maintains an intimate cosy atmosphere. The restaurant offers a decent menu and the breakfast was lovely. The room itself (room 8) was small, but perfectly adequate for a weekend stay. It has Tea/Coffee making facilities and a small flat screen TV which was great for relaxing on the Sunday. We had ensuite bath/shower room. My partner said she really loved how warm the room was, although I needed to open the window occasionally (certainly no issues with the GCH). In terms of things to do, there are several bars offering main sporting events, we were spoilt with premiership football, rugby and formula one in the evening and for the days the Chilterns offer fantastic range of walks around places of natural beauty. Lastly I would like to say a big Thank You to the team at the Grey Hound. A friendly yet professional first class service, nothing was too much trouble and everything was taken care of in a seamless efficient manner. If you happen to be visiting the area, you should stay here and let the team take care of you. Many Thanks again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RockyWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here following a family party held downstairs. As a party venue, great choice. However, our room was a little tired, with interesting plumbing. Carpet was a bit stained and maybe better as a single rather than a double (bit cramped on space). Breakfast was very good, with a good choice of cooked options.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosamund_bone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Myself with 3 friends went here for lunch. The restaurant is clean and spacious and the service was very good. We started off with drinks. Two of us had white wine which arrived in two huge glasses with perhaps 2 inches of wine in the bottom. The other two had tea which arrived in a pot with plenty of milk and was eplaced with a fresh pot when the first ran out. The food prices were quite expensive . I had a minute steak ciabatta which came with salad which had dressing on it -I was not give the option of having it dry and no one asked me how i preferrred my steak to be cooked. It was OK but it did taste a bit odd, possibly a result of however they cooked it. My friend had a Croque Monsieur which she said was OK but the roundel of toast on the top was burnt and inedible. Another friend had a Club sandwich, while our fourth friend chose fish and chips and peas. She doesn't like peas so just ordered fish and chip with no peas. She wasn't offered any alternative to the peas such as a salad or other veg and all she had was a huge piece of fish in a thick batter and a side dish of chips. This cost £15.95. Our food cost about £8.00 per person and the whole meal for 4 people without pudding or a starter but with a 2 coffees, 2 teas and two glasses of wine came to about £57which for lunch is expensive.
I live in Chalfont St Peter and even for the area i thought this was very expensive and not particularly good value for the quality of food. . I won't be going there again. Too expensive and not value for money

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank libtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is the first time I have ever worked away from home and to stay at the Greyhound hotel for 6 months as been an experience I will never forget. The rooms are very comfortable and cleaned every day. The food is fantastic I can't remember a bad meal whilst been there thank you to the chef's Nana,Jo and Louis. What can I say about the manager and bar staff would not be enough they all make you feel so welcome and at home EVERY NIGHT at the Greyhound. thank you Ben and your staff Alexander, Regan, Heather, Hayley, Tom, and Sam. You would have to go and check the Greyhound Hotel out if you are near the area you will not be disappointed.
This is the first place I will stay if in the area again with out a doubt.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I have stayed here a few times with work as it is a great location outside of central London. The rooms are small and compact but they have everything you need. The shower is great and beds are comfy. This hotel is set in a beautiful old building and the rooms have lovely original features. With an old building comes thin walls and windows. There is some noise from downstairs and the if people are outside you can hear everything. I personally did not mind the noise but if you are looking for a quiet room then you probably won't get it here.

The food, wine and service is excellent and they have a great menu choice. The place feels very homely and the staff go out of their way to look after you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliefont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chalfont St Peter
2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
477 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ethorpe Hotel
Ethorpe Hotel
#2 of 5 in Gerrards Cross
311 reviews
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Beaconsfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gerrards Cross
895 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Amersham
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greyhound Inn

Address: High Street, Chalfont St Peter, Gerrards Cross SL9 9RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Gerrards Cross > Chalfont St Peter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chalfont St Peter
Price Range: £72 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Greyhound Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Greyhound Inn is a 17th Century coaching inn brought up to date with modern comforts. The 12 en-suite bedrooms were refurbished in 2015. The bar and restaurant offer a friendly cosy atmosphere for locals and hotel guest alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Greyhound Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greyhound Inn Chalfont St Peter, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing