We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT HOTEL”
Review of Bayview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bayview Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portballintrae
Certificate of Excellence
Randalstown
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT HOTEL”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We have stayed at the Bayview on a few occasions and haven't been disappointed yet. Staff are pleasant and helpful, rooms are very comfortable, food is excellent and the little touch of a newspaper and weather card left at the door each morning is appreciated. It is well situated for sightseeing, surfing, golf and many other activities or just to have a quiet walk on the beach. The only disappointment we would have is when all the rooms are taken and we can't get booked in!

Room Tip: A room at the front of the hotel will give a lovely view out over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevorkane01, Owner at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear Marina L, I am so sorry that you could not get booked at Bayview on your last visit, hopefully next time we will be able to accommodate you. Very many thanks for your kind review and encouragement, you are always welcome at Bayview anytime, meanwhile have a fantastic Easter and enjoy many more wee breaks,
Kind Regards,
Trevor and Team Bayview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    164
    43
    18
    4
See reviews for
139
369
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We take a short break here at least twice a year with 4 other family members. It's a real happy get-together made even more enjoyable by the excellence of the Bayview Hotel. The location is perfect, whether it's for a quiet relaxing few days, a bit of golfing or shopping in the nearby towns. The staff are friendly and ever helpful, public and private rooms are always immaculate and the food, from the excellent breakfast right through to dinner in the evening is wonderful. A varied menu ensures that everyone in the party has a good choice. My one complaint would be that the portions served at dinner are much too much for me. I would recommend the Bayview to anyone looking for a holiday in this wonderful part of the Antrim coast.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have a wonderful view out over the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derrylass71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevorkane01, Owner at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear GLadys G, thank you so much for taking time to post such a wonderful review on TA about your experience at Bayview, it really is fantastic to inform the staff about your kind words of encouragement. We hope to see you in the near future again, have a wonderful Easter and many more enjoyable breaks,
Kind Regards,
Trevor and team @ Bayview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Stayed here the week-end of 2-4 Mar 2012 for a short break with another couple. Check in was excellent and the desk receptionist was well organised with everything ready. Rooms 203 & 204 were well appointed with views looking out over the bay.
Dinner was booked for 7:30 and we arrived prompt to have our table ready and at the window overlooking the bay again. Food was fantastic ant the T-Bone I have was cooked to perfection. Wine choice was great with reasonable selection available.
Breakfast was excellet as well with a selection of cerals, juice etc and the option of a cooked brekfast as well. We ate out at another resturant on the Sat night but returned to the hotel for the last hour of the live music which was easy listening to. Breakfast on Sunday did not disappoint either.
Overall a great place to have that week-end break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea - north facing - and they will accommodate you if available. Or y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NornIronMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevorkane01, Owner at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking time to post such a wonderful review on TA about your experience at Bayview. I am so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your meals and the light entertainment. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview in the near future, have many more enjoyable breaks,
Kind Regards,
Trevor and the Team at Bayview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rome
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a two night break at this hotel.
We had a lovely time - room on the second flor (201) large room - huge bed - fabulous views of the beach.
All in all we had a great time - the weather was really in our favour - which allowed us to have walks on the beach every day. The staff (mostly) were very friendly and helpful especially those in the restaurant. We had breakfast both days - a good selection and the hot food breakfast was freshly cooked to order - a pleasant change. We had dinner one evening in the hotel and whilst it was really lovely - I did think it was a little over priced.
The only downside was "the bed" - huge as it was it was not the most comfortable and as for the pillows they were most uncomfortable. We also did not like the blanket and bed cover - please please think about duvets - much more comfortable and modern!

I should add we had purchased a Groupon Deal for the stay at this hotel and found it to be excellent value for money. We will return to the hotel - even at full price.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view - ours was fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belfastcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevorkane01, Owner at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking time to post such a positive review on TA about your experience at Bayview. Your points have been noted and we are currently changing to duvets and covers fo all beds as suggested by you, we hope to have all rooms completed by the end of May. Have many more enjoyable breaks and we look forward to welcoming you back,
Kind Regards,
Trevor and the Team at Bayview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dromore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Would just like to say Thank You again for another great stay at the Bayview. Can only say how much we always enjoy the food and accommodation. As usual the staff were as efficient and friendly as ever with no complaints about anything.
Margaret, Jackie, Janis and Joan

Room Tip: View from front rooms is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank may123pole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevorkane01, Owner at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Margaret, Jackie, Janis and Joan, it was wonderful to welcome you all back to Bayview recently, and as always it is a pleasure to receive your fantastic comments about your experiences at Bayview. It is wonderful people like you who really encourage us to keep on going and to improve everything, again, many thanks,
Trevor and the Team at BAyview Portballintrae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We were at a funeral tea at the Bayview on Monday 20th. It was done in a very professional and kind manner. We would like to thank Trevor for his kind offer of a lift to Portrush. Everything was handled with such care and kindness.

We hope to be able to return to the Bayview at a later date but under happier circumstances. The hotel was beautiful and the view was stunning. Brought a little calm to the day!

You did the Miller family proud. Thanks again.

Linda & Pete, Scotland

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevorkane01, Owner at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Linda G, thank you so much for taking time to post such fabulous comments about your experience at Bayview. It was indeed a very sad day for everyone, including myself. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview in the near future,
KInd Regards, Trevor and the Team at Bayview Hotel Portballintrae.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We were bought a fabulous two night stay with Breakfast included to the Bayview through the company Grab One. Brilliant gift!
The staff were delightful, the view stunning and the room, although merely a 'standard' was large and very clean. Standard rooms like ours had a double bed and single, vanity table, tv and free wifi, with a sofa and table area and large bathroom with plently of storage space if you were staying longer. Very comfortable beds and a great strong shower (very important to me when staying away).
Walls are a little thin.
Bar downstairs is lovely with a turf and log fire as the central feature, again very clean and modern yet with a 20s vibe.
Food was decent, breakfast with a cereal and fruit buffet and choices of hot food too. Great coffee and lots of it!
Sadly, I must say that the town of Portballintrae is not at first very nice - merely a second home resort with a mish mash of apartments and houses with no cohesive feel. The bay itself is very nice though and the sand clean.
Very close to all tourist spots!

Room Tip: ask for a 'superior' room to get that beautiful seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carriegault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevorkane01, Owner at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Carrie, it was a pleasure to receive your kind and generous comments on TA about your experience at Bayview, we are all delighted. Have many more enjoyable breaks, we look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview in the near future,
Kind Regards,
Trevor and the Team at Bayview Hotel Portballintrae.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portballintrae
1.0 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
1.6 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
4.4 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
5.4 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#2 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel

Property: Bayview Hotel
Address: 2 Bayhead Road, Portballintrae, Bushmills BT57 8RZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills > Portballintrae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portballintrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, Bayview is situated in the heart of the picturesque harbour-village of Portballintrae, one mile (1.6 km) from Bushmills and the Giants Causeway on the North Antrim Coast. Bayview has won a number of prestigious awards, 1st in Tourism by Tourism Ireland, Winner of Customer Service Hospitality, Highly Commended Good Food and Finalist of Business Growth Achievement, awarded at the 2011 Coleraine Borough Chamber Business Awards. Opened in 2001, the hotel with private car park is close to the Giant's Causeway and Old Bushmills Distillery on the beautiful North Antrim Coast. Ideal for escaping the stresses of everyday life, the hotel's surroundings offer many opportunities for natural and cultural excursions and activities. The hotel has good conference facilities, and Porthole Restaurant and Bar offers a pleasant space in which to enjoy a meal and drinks. An ideal destination for conferencing, golfing, Royal Portrush Golf Course, home of Darren Clarke and Graeme McDowell is only minutes away, business or leisure. The hotel and staff aim to cater to your requirements. The hotel has a lift and interlinking and disabled rooms are available. Hotel Rooms: 25 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bayview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Bushmills
Bayview Hotel Portballintrae, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing