We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand break from life!”
Review of Bayview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bayview Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portballintrae
Certificate of Excellence
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A grand break from life!”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Such a welcoming, comfortable, pleasant place to stay. Stunning views, good food, friendly staff and good location if you are exploring the North Coast. Equally excellent to sit in front of the fire with a good book and relax.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    164
    43
    18
    4
See reviews for
139
369
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

stayed for one night as anniversary gift , fantastic place , staff very nice .
rooms clean and free Wi-Fi really good .
great breakfast choice , waiting staff extremely good .
not a great lot to do in Portballintrae but beautiful views from hotel and good for walks etc great position for giants causeway , portrush , and of the famous bushmills distillery .
very nice relaxed break .

Room Tip: pay the extra for bay view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mally63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights in November and discovered a gem on the north coast of Northern Ireland. Very friendly and helpful staff, super, big room with balcony and great sea view. One of the most comfortable beds we have had in a hotel. Breakfast each morning was excellent. We dined in the restaurant both evenings from the early evening menu and the food was delicious, the service first rate and the Guinness perfect. Great value at £11.95 for two courses. Free Wi-Fi in both bar and bedrooms was a welcome bonus. We will definitely be back, hopefully sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: Room 103 has balcony and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belfast_Dave10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Bayview over the weekend and we could not fault the time we enjoyed here. Our room was big, clean and cosy. We had dinner on the first evening and the food and service was first rate. Our breakfast each morning was excellent. All the staff are friendly and warm. All in all we hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgregthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend in October and it is one of the best hotels in the area! The staff are pleasant, relaxed and probably the best I have came across in a hotel! Despite being busy they make time to smile and chat, especially Steven and the girls at reception who always welcomed us with a smile. On check out we purchased a Voucher to give to my parents as a Christmas present and we Can't wait to return ourselves! Thanks for a great weekend!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colmbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randalstown
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Once again we had a very enjoyable 2-night stay. Good food, very cosy comfortable room overlooking the bay, friendly and helpful staff, lovely open fire in the lounge area - now that the evenings are colder and darker it is very welcoming and homely. Will definitely plan another few nights stay when we can.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the extra for a superior room overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Just returned after a 2 night stay at the Bayview, this is a great hotel, the staff where just lovely and friendly. Our large room overlooked the bay, we had tea, coffee and hot chocolate with biscuits in our room also lovely white fluffy towels. The food at the Bayview was beautiful, our steaks along with wine was great value. On Sunday evening a young guy played the piano, this was a lovely and made our evening a very relaxed one. Breakfast was help yourself to cereal etc with the waitress taking your order for a cooked breakfast. The selection was great. This hotel is well recommended - we will be back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Longg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portballintrae
1.0 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
1.6 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
4.4 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
5.4 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#2 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel

Property: Bayview Hotel
Address: 2 Bayhead Road, Portballintrae, Bushmills BT57 8RZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills > Portballintrae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portballintrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, Bayview is situated in the heart of the picturesque harbour-village of Portballintrae, one mile (1.6 km) from Bushmills and the Giants Causeway on the North Antrim Coast. Bayview has won a number of prestigious awards, 1st in Tourism by Tourism Ireland, Winner of Customer Service Hospitality, Highly Commended Good Food and Finalist of Business Growth Achievement, awarded at the 2011 Coleraine Borough Chamber Business Awards. Opened in 2001, the hotel with private car park is close to the Giant's Causeway and Old Bushmills Distillery on the beautiful North Antrim Coast. Ideal for escaping the stresses of everyday life, the hotel's surroundings offer many opportunities for natural and cultural excursions and activities. The hotel has good conference facilities, and Porthole Restaurant and Bar offers a pleasant space in which to enjoy a meal and drinks. An ideal destination for conferencing, golfing, Royal Portrush Golf Course, home of Darren Clarke and Graeme McDowell is only minutes away, business or leisure. The hotel and staff aim to cater to your requirements. The hotel has a lift and interlinking and disabled rooms are available. Hotel Rooms: 25 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bayview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Bushmills
Bayview Hotel Portballintrae, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing