We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great visit”
Review of Bayview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bayview Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portballintrae
Certificate of Excellence
Mojacar, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“great visit”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel is right on the water, and we had terrific water views from our room and small balcony. The rooms are certainly not "posh" but are quite nice. The restaurant is good and reasonably priced. Quiet area a plus.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mojaquera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    170
    43
    19
    4
See reviews for
146
375
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I loved this whole area of Ireland but this hotel made it perfect! The views were stunning, the room was comfy, quiet and clean. Nice bar and restaurant (though the food wasn't fantastic). My only complaint was that we could not turn off the light on the deck outside our room and it ruined what could have been a beautiful night sky. Great location for visiting the Giant's Causeway (fantastic!) and Bushmills Distillery. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Definitely book a bay view room - you will not regret the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaye F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnton, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I spent three days in the Bay View Hotel and were quite pleased. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The mattress was very comfortable and the linens were of nice quality. The shower was powerful and the deep tub was equipped with jets. We had a lovely balcony with a view of the sea. Breakfast was excellent and we found the staff to be very accommodating. The restaurant was very busy each evening. The bar had a gorgeous fireplace with a wood fire burning! As we were traveling without a car, we were thrilled to find that the hotel was directly beside a bus stop! Also, the Giant's Causeway was a beautiful two-mile walk away and the Bushmills Distillery was about one mile. We would confidently recommend this hotel to anyone desiring tranquility as well as a convenient base for the Antrim Coast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sion mills
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just back from a short break in the Bayview hotel in Portballintrae everthing about hotel would tell you how well it is run, Rooms were large and spotless ,breakfast had a great choose ,this is a very good 3* if not 4*

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunterboySionMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Poorly trained staff who havent a clue what they are doing, ridiculously overpriced food for what you actually get.. Ordered steak which was overcooked grissley and greasy.. Didnt have time to complain so just ate it and left..Wouldnt rush back.. Far better places to eat in the area

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank 125Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband, 7 year old daughter and I stayed at the Bayview for 2 nights at the end of May. The bedroom was spacious and clean - double bed and single bed, seating area with sofa, enough storage space for all of us. The beds were really comfortable! We had our evening meal in the hotel on the first night. The restaurant was very busy and there was a good atmosphere. Although it was busy, the staff were very efficient and attentive. There is an early bird menu but as were out and about exploring the North Coast we had dinner a little later than the early bird time slot. Our meal was lovely and the portions were extremely generous. We shared a dessert between the three of us because we were all full. The bar had a big crowd in both nights. Having our 7 year old with us meant that we didn't go into the bar but it seemed to have a really great atmosphere as well. The view from the restaurant at breakfast was beautiful. The cooked breakfast order is taken by the waiting staff and we helped ourselves to juice, cereal, yoghurt, fruit salad. We all enjoyed our breakfast and felt more than satisfied before embarking on another day of exploring. Complimentary newspapers were available each morning. The Bayview is a great place to stay for exploring the North Coast - Giant's Causeway, Carrick a Rede rope bridge, Portrush, Bushmills, Portstewart etc. There isn't a huge amount of car parking spaces but it's a great hotel and we had a lovely long weekend break.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank thelittleredrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

One night stay was really memorable. We booked a room with sea view and was lovely after a very hectic day of touring to come back to a more than comfortable room. We had done lots of walking during the day so to relax in a spa bath was particularly special to ease the muscles. We ate in the restaurant and again very enjoyable to sit and look over the bay. The evening turned to rain so it was cosy being able to eat in hotel and know we could just pop up to the room when the meal was over.
Breakfast was fabulous, especially soda cakes.
Would like to return and definitely choose one of the sea view rooms.

Room Tip: Room 103 is nice with great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacD43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portballintrae
1.0 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,783 reviews
1.6 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
753 reviews
4.4 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
969 reviews
24.7 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
2,995 reviews
12.1 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel

Property: Bayview Hotel
Address: 2 Bayhead Road, Portballintrae, Bushmills BT57 8RZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills > Portballintrae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portballintrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, Bayview is situated in the heart of the picturesque harbour-village of Portballintrae, one mile (1.6 km) from Bushmills and the Giants Causeway on the North Antrim Coast. Bayview has won a number of prestigious awards, 1st in Tourism by Tourism Ireland, Winner of Customer Service Hospitality, Highly Commended Good Food and Finalist of Business Growth Achievement, awarded at the 2011 Coleraine Borough Chamber Business Awards. Opened in 2001, the hotel with private car park is close to the Giant's Causeway and Old Bushmills Distillery on the beautiful North Antrim Coast. Ideal for escaping the stresses of everyday life, the hotel's surroundings offer many opportunities for natural and cultural excursions and activities. The hotel has good conference facilities, and Porthole Restaurant and Bar offers a pleasant space in which to enjoy a meal and drinks. An ideal destination for conferencing, golfing, Royal Portrush Golf Course, home of Darren Clarke and Graeme McDowell is only minutes away, business or leisure. The hotel and staff aim to cater to your requirements. The hotel has a lift and interlinking and disabled rooms are available. Hotel Rooms: 25 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bayview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Bushmills
Bayview Hotel Portballintrae, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing