We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family, relaxing holiday.”
Review of Penrhos Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Penrhos Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanrhystyd
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A great family, relaxing holiday.”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Osprey VIP Lodge as a family of 5. 2x adults, 2x teenage children and a toddler.

Lodge was well equipped with everything you could need in the kitchen. Oven is a little on the small side, but perfectly acceptable.

Facilities at the clubhouse are in need of modernisation, but are perfectly acceptable. The kids enjoyed the swimming pool.

A few negatives: the cleaners left quite a few cobwebs at high level in the lodge, seating in the living room isn't for 6, and the hot tub isn't covered with a roof or gazebo for poor weather. Also, O2 and Vodaphone have absolutely no signal at all here.

All in all a great weekend break. Great location for sightseeing in West Wales. Not listed on TA is the Black Lion Pub which is just down the road.

We enjoyed it here and are planning to book a longer stay in the lodge again. Very peaceful and very warm.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GazNicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    52
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
47
39
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Penrhos. The cottages were clean, comfortable and well lot. We stayed in the Kestral which had a private hot tub. It worked very well. We never got to use the golf facilities as it rained all the time! The pub, club house were just okay, nothing to brag about. Newquay was 30 minutes drive away and we enjoyed the stunning views.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amipro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend in November 2013, we stayed in The Osprey VIP which is one of their log cabins, 3 double bedrooms, en suite to the master, open plan living / kitchen diner, very we'll maintained and worth the trip. Club house is clean and tidy, lovely food and well priced... I can highly recommend this for a family or couples retreat.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Penrhos Golf Course is a parkland course but it foes have some views of the sea. Whilst it is not a spectacular course it is a good course, and a fair test of golf and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

We had good food for all our meals (bacon rolls on arrival, evening meal breakfast, and post golf meal on the Sunday). We were charged a fair price for what we had so I would have no hesitation of saying that we had a good value golf trip, and would recommend the venue.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfertripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treorchy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

we stayed here overnight after a business meeting in Aberystwyth, very nice place, the heating was way too hot, thermostat didnt work, the gym was very poor, but the swmming pool, sauna etc was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajon3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chorley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

One of the warmest welcomes I have received in a long time,nothing was too much trouble throughout our entire stay.Our accomodation was lovely, all needs having been covered.
Excellent food, but you do need a good appetite to clear your plate.Overall excellent.

Room Tip: If all the rooms were like ours,they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This was an unusual choice for us - not being golfers or sporty at all really! The rooms are seperate to the club house and are quiet and comfortable. The bathroom is good and we had a small kitchen area. Food in the clubhouse was good and staff were friendly and helpful. We did manage to have a swim in the indoor pool which was lovely. The area is stunning and we had no rain! I would tell anyone, especially golfers to try this complex.

Room Tip: We did not choose any particular room and were more than happy with ours
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanrhystyd
4.6 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
3.0 mi away
Plas Morfa Hotel
Plas Morfa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
7.0 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
10.3 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrhos Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrhos Park

Property: Penrhos Park
Address: Llanrhystud, Llanrhystyd SY23 5AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanrhystyd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanrhystyd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Penrhos Park 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Penrhos Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penrhos Golf & Country Club Hotel Llanrhystyd
Penrhos Golf And Country Club
Penrhos Hotel Country
Penrhos Park Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing