We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stonegate pubs should be disgusted with themselves”
Review of The George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The George Inn
Ranked #9 of 9 Selby B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stonegate pubs should be disgusted with themselves”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The food has always been good value for money and you can get a decent breakfast before you check out. But the way it has been left to just fall apart is disgusting and the company running the place should go and stay for a night because they would be suprised. Granted the staff can only do so much with the tools they are given but are probably on minimum wage with little or no incentive to do any extra work the place has lost its charm and my custom.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrgrumpypants1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    3
    16
    16
    49
See reviews for
16
27
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Recently wrote a review about this place titled not that bad but now feel I need to update. Stayed there this week and it was terrible. On entering room found no remote went downstairs to report staff couldn't have been less interested.
3 AM Tuesday morning workmate and myself (separate rooms in different parts of the Hotel) woken up by night-porter emptying out the empties into bottle bins , went on for an hour.
Tuesday morning blocked in by the delivery dray for 25 minutes he was aware we were there and after we got fed up and went looking for him found him having a Coffee in the bar.
Guests at this place seem like they are an inconvenience to the staff and a good nights sleep here is almost impossible (especially on Thursday night , club night).

Room Tip: If have to stay there on a Thursday ask for room away from nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 632Evanses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Stayed here for 1 night whilst visiting York, as all cheap hotels were full there, walked in and had to ask a dodgy man at the bar where to check in, the woman checked us in then told us to follow directions to the room, no help at all. To sum the room up - it was the worst I have ever seen! Wall paper was hanging off, huge hole in the ceiling, bogies on the walls,cigarette burns in the bedding and the pillows were stained and stunk of sweat. Couldn't wait to leave! The food however was excellent and couldnt be faulted its just a shame about the accomodation. oh and what childrens activities? swimming pool?

Room Tip: Don't stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

This hotel is part of a pub, and upon arrival at the hotel I followed the sign that said "Hotel Reception".

However, there wasn't a hotel reception, I had to ask at the bar. No major issue with that, but at least have the sign stating that! The chap behind the bar told me he was a walking reception, and he was right, he walked away. He never said anything along the lines of please follow me etc..

At this point, due to the unclean state of the bar area I felt like walking out and going somewhere else. Non of the table had been cleared, yet the bar staff were stood around talking to each other, even ignoring people who wanted serving.

I got a key, found the room and was quite surprised that the room was rather nice, and very clean. They should have the hotel cleaner working in the bar!!

There is a nightclub next door, so there will be some noise, but in all honesty the noise of the drunken revelers wasn't a problem, it was the staff out back smoking that was a noise issue.

On a night there was bouncers on the bar door. Charming bunch of chaps, wouldn't let me in, and I'd not even been drinking!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Stayed Nov 2012. This awful place surprised me by actually making enough money to stay open and not be shut down by the relevant authoritys, the building is a wreak-the floors are falling through and the walls are splitting in certain areas which get repaired by newspaper! The rooms are awfully decorated and nothing matches, the bathrooms are a disgrace and the whole upstairs stinks of stale smoke. The food downstairs is terrible, its expensive and cold inside so obviously cooked in a microwave. The bar staff are rude, swear infront of customers and look like a shreak panto cast! However the worst part was the nightclub attached that thumped bass through the hotel until 3am and the local riff raff outside smashing bottles and fighting until 5am. It's a disgraceful place and a shame because the setting is nice next to the Abbey. But that and that alone is not enough to save it. STAY AT THE WISHING WELL on the outskirts of the town.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimwrightselby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billco1941
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The place is an absolute dump. The worst hostelry that have been in in decades. Filthy torn upholstery, disgusting carpeting, table tops down to the wood beneath, toilets, ugh! decoration to match.
Thought something would probably jump from the seats and bit us, they are so torn and filthy.
I am amazed that the local elf and safety/hyagine lot have n't closed the place down.
What makes it more suprizing is that it is next to the wonderfull Selby Abbey!
Keep away from the place!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billco1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Absolutely shocking! The place is filthy and badly in need of refurbishment. The staff are friendly and do their best to offer a good service in a terrible establishment.

This is possibly the worst place I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selby
6.6 mi away
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Escrick
965 reviews
6.9 mi away
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monk Fryston
549 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hazeldene Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Wishing Well
The Wishing Well
#6 of 9 in Selby
299 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Owl Hotel
The Owl Hotel
#2 of 9 in Selby
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Olympia Hotel
Olympia Hotel
#8 of 9 in Selby
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn

Property: The George Inn
Address: Market Place, Selby YO8 4NS, England (Formerly Londesborough Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Selby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Selby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your The George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Inn Selby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing