We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was okay”
Review of The George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The George Inn
Ranked #9 of 9 Selby B&B and Inns
Wellingborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Was okay”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed for 2 nights and the room was okay, I guess... The shower was a bit dirty, with mold.. but I had to use it anyway and the shower itself wasn't very good as it kept going from warm to cold while I was in it, the shower door also opens inwards to was a bit hard to squeeze around the door, they should really have a sliding door. The lights in the room & bathroom were very dim, could definitely benefit from having brighter lights. The beds were very comfortable. The noise at night was very loud, as it is next to a nightclub, so I kind of expected some noise. The room was nice and warm. For £50 a night I kind of expected a more cleaner bathroom and to have breakfast included. I honestly don't think I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hiitsme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    4
    14
    16
    45
See reviews for
17
22
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Really run down hotel, our room was acceptable but it was very noisy has we stayed next door to the hotels night club. Breakfast was nice. This hotel needs refurbishing and updating. We wouldn't recommend this to any of our friends but if you are just after a bed for the night and basics it's ok.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babs76t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel, with two friends, last Saturday, despite reading the awful reviews posted on this site. Mainly because it is cheap and in a good location. Things started off OK, the staff were polite and seemingly efficient and showed us to our rooms and explained the set up. The rooms were a bit tatty and basic but quite clean but OK for the price. The problem was that the extremely loud bass emphasised music from the pub went on till 3AM and along with the noise from the punters meant no sleep until 3.30AM. Also on my friends return he found that someone had been in his room and left their belonging there! They were a member of staff who didn't realise room was occupied!?

Not quite as bad as I expected but I would not stay again. Probably the sort of place to stay if young and on limited budget.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Selby hotels

Oswestry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I booked a night on the 28th of september, quite cheap wasnt expecting much. Was given the key to my room (19) opened the door and there was a person in the bed. This later turned out to be an employee of the hotel that had 'stayed the night' whose name apparently was Matt. Unbelievable! !!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 06bmorri30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Probably the worst dump we have ever stayed in. Everything was very dated and worn, the staff were not very friendly and the noise from drunks outside was appalling.
Would never stay there again.
Pity really as the location is great, right in the centre of town and close to everything.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay but if you must stay there ask for a room at the back where it may be qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Yes, it's a little run down, but the bed was clean and very comfortable, the staff really helpful and friendly, and whilst it lacks the facilities of a corporate hospitality marque, what do you expect from simple accommodation above a boozer folks? Reasonable price too. If you're contracting in the area, give it a try. Beats driving in from York or Leeds every morning.

Room Tip: Definitely quieter round the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThatMouxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just popped in for a meal and was considering a stay in the hotel but if the accommodation is anything as bad as the food I will forget it. Ordered a steak off the menu and it was the worst I've ever eaten. If I describe how awful and burnt it (the 'steak')tasted I doubt you would be able to stomach your food today suffice to say if they can't get the basics right how can they run a hotel. Never in a million years! Avoid at all costs !!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regyterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selby
6.7 mi away
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Escrick
992 reviews
6.9 mi away
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monk Fryston
566 reviews
10.2 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hazeldene Guest House
1.2 mi away
The Wishing Well
The Wishing Well
#6 of 9 in Selby
305 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Owl Hotel
The Owl Hotel
#2 of 9 in Selby
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn

Property: The George Inn
Address: Market Place, Selby YO8 4NS, England (Formerly Londesborough Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Selby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Selby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Inn Selby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing