We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My American Cousin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hazeldene Guest House
Ranked #1 of 9 Selby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Where do you stick relatives when they Visit- Easy my old School now the Hazledene. when ever we have friends or relations coming they always stay at the Hazledene and have never had a bad visit. The only problem I have is I don't know if to describe it as an excellent guest house with a resturant or the other way round, both are superb. The Dinning room is excellent and the food is proper home made grub and there is plenty of it. Mentioning it friends they have also stated that the have dined there as it is open to non residents and they too were impressed. Re the reference to the school. When I first came to selby The Dining room was the Classroom for St Davids School run by Miss Lewis, what amazed me was that the room my cousin had was previously her sitting room.

Room Tip: The hotel is good and the staff are marvelous but being in a converted house there is no lift, groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amsterdam352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hazeldeneSelby, Owner at Hazeldene Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are so pleased you all enjoyed our meals and your relatives enjoyed their stay.

It is always very interesting to hear about the history of The Hazeldene, as their is not much information about the previous school.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

My partner and myself were visiting friends and booked the Hazeldene Guest House as it was close to them. What a lovely place! Our on-suite room was big and spacious and on the ground floor. The large double bed was really comfortable and we slept well. We were never disturbed by any noise from other guests.
The choice of breakfast was great from cereals fruit and juice to a fantastic full English which was divine.
A wonderful chef Kelly, cooks fresh evening meals at reasonable prices and we will definitely be going back. All the staff are very helpful and friendly nothing was too much for them!
Thank you all for a fantastic stay we will be back very soon!!!!

The hotel was within 5-10 minutes walking distance from the town centre so we didn't have to use the car at all!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 14 on ground floor which was lovely and was on the back of building so was very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JSW51061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hazeldeneSelby, Owner at Hazeldene Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review, we are really pleased you enjoyed both your stay and meals.

We look forward seeing you both again.

Kind Regards

Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Hazeldene guest house is only a few minutes walk from Selby town centre and is ideally located if you're planning on visiting the town.
The owner was very friendly and the guest house was nicely decorated and clean. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellbee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hazeldeneSelby, Owner at Hazeldene Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our guest house, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Take care

Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

Me and 6 friends stopped here during a charity coast to coast cycle ride..
The minute we got there we were made welcome by the one and only Suzy ( the landlady) she has a great sense of humour,
And had a right laugh with us, the food was the cheapest on our journey at 2 courses for £4.99.. But may I say was terrific value for money. And was delicious, well done Suzy keep up the good work..

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlackpoolRayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hazeldeneSelby, Owner at Hazeldene Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards

Susan (Suzy)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

this is the best guest house in Yorkshire, run by such nice people and we are hoping to stay there next year. We stayed there before a friends wedding and they where so helpful, and couldn't do enough for us. Even went out of there way to make the kids pancakes when she didn't have all the ingredients. 5 stars

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripaway_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hazeldeneSelby, Owner at Hazeldene Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future with pancakes at the ready!

Thank you once again

Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed in Selby to attend a nearby concert; we chose to stay at Hazledene because of its location and great reviews. We were not disappointed, Donna was a star, made us welcome and laugh. Breakfast was very filling including black puddings !! Definitely a great place to stay

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hazeldeneSelby, Owner at Hazeldene Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our Guest House, I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Kindest Regards

Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We had occasion to visit Selby, Yorkshire for a family event. Although it was a sad occasion we decided to book rooms at Hazeldene. The reception was very pleasing and Susan and Donna made us very welcome. We had great fun meeting them again. We found the food and accomodation as usual satisfactory. At breakfast next day we met two elderly gentlemen who had cycled from Maidstone in Kent on their way to Hornsea near Hull. Their aim was to travel 50 miles per day and oh boy did they enjoy their breakfast before setting off again. Susan and Roger the waiter put themselves out to serve us well. Many thanks Bernard and Joan and Joanne.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BernardandJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hazeldeneSelby, Owner at Hazeldene Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, it is also a real pleasure to welcome you and your family. We look forward to seeing you again.

Take Care
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selby hotels
3.9 mi away
The Owl Hotel
The Owl Hotel
#2 of 9 in Selby
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#9 of 9 in Selby
17 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Wishing Well
The Wishing Well
#8 of 9 in Selby
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Oakwood Lodges
Oakwood Lodges
#2 of 3 in Selby
45 reviews
0.7 mi away
Olympia Hotel
Olympia Hotel
#7 of 9 in Selby
25 reviews
2.2 mi away
Moss Hagg Farm Campsite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazeldene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazeldene Guest House

Address: 32-34 Brook Street | Doncaster Road, Selby YO8 4AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Selby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Selby
Price Range: £63 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hazeldene Guest House is a spacious period house in the heart of the historic market town of Selby. We have a private car park, free Wi-Fi, secure accommodation for cycles and licensed bar in our large residents lounge. Our locally sourced breakfasts are served every morning in our welcoming dining room.Our central location provides easy access to all town centre amenities including the beautiful Abbey and markets as well as a convenient base to explore the City of York and its many attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hazeldene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazeldene Guest House Selby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing