We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, slightly overpriced”
Review of The Wishing Well

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wishing Well
Ranked #6 of 9 Selby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

So much nicer than most other chain hotels we have stayed at. Clean, nicely decorated rooms, all facilities modern and brand new. Big enough family rooms. Just a shame location is off the motorway, and the room was far too hot. But at least a fan was provided. Just slightly more than we wanted to pay, but would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmybFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Called during the week at lunchtime during the school holidays but surprisingly enough seemed very quiet, just a couple of families in. Food was good although a little pricey and the service was good as it should be considering it was quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A very no frills hotel that has lovely friendly staff and everything you need for a quick weekend visit.

I think it was a bit pricey for what it was considering the location is hard to get to without a car - lucky we had friends to pick us up and drop us off everywhere. Breakfast wasnt included and there was no room service and it was a little noisy being able to hear people out in the corridor quite clearly from our room.

But on the positive side we were allowed to check in early which was great and the staff were always friendly, helpful and on call to lend a hand when needed.

We were generally very happy with our stay here and would probably stay again if we were to visit the area again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the stairwell - think our room was noisier because of this
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JemmaAdele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

stayed at wishing well on 19th july for 1 night found hotel to be very clean and staff were very helpful and friendly rooms are very large yes they are not the most luxurious but they were fine food is very good and breakfast was excellent plenty of choice would recommend for any one with children as plenty of activities for them would use this hotel again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jamsie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel its self is ok but its stuck in an industrial area with workshops and warehouses its a few miles into town, would not recommend if you like to get out and about.
The staff were great its just poorly located

Room Tip: If all you want is a bed for the night than its ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The bedroom was very poorly lit and had no air conditioning. That forced us to have the window open, but that meant I hardly slept because of the continual noise from an extractor fan on the ground floor.

The double bed was big and comfortable.

The bathroom had both a bath and shower, but the dreaded soap solution. Take your own soap!

Free wifi available subject to submitting to their registration process.

Service was friendly and helpful.
On Mondays to Fridays they provided two meals for the price of one for many items.
Continental breakfast was served from 8.00 am at weekend (not 9.00 as quoted on their website).

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that are immediately after the fire door having turned left from landing (stairs or lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalkingFolkDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Excellent place for a cheap stopover. Travelodge/Premier Inn in style. Excellent service provided by receptionist. Close to Selby town centre. Room had kettle for tea/coffee as well as nice shower facilities. Comfortable quiet night sleep. Restaurant also available for a meal or bar for a little drink.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevfins13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selby
24.5 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
402 reviews
7.9 mi away
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
6.9 mi away
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monk Fryston
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
South Milford Hotel
South Milford Hotel
#1 of 1 in South Milford
336 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Owl Hotel
The Owl Hotel
#2 of 9 in Selby
246 reviews
1.5 mi away
Olympia Hotel
Olympia Hotel
#7 of 9 in Selby
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wishing Well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wishing Well

Address: Oakney Wood Road, Selby YO8 8LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Selby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Selby
Price Range: £55 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wishing Well 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern friendly hotel, located on the A63 Selby Bypass, only 3/4 of a mile from the town centre. Our hotel also has a bar and family restaurant with a children's play area. At The Wishing Well, you will be welcomed by our team of staff who will look after you throughout your stay. We cater for everyone staying at our hotel from the discerning business traveller to a family of 4. Ample free car parking is available to all hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your The Wishing Well reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wishing Well Selby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing