We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Spuds and Berries Farm Shop
Ranked #9 of 90 Restaurants in Selby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Yorkshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We visited here in mid August with a family group of 12. We all thought that the standard of food, attentive staff and presentation was excellent. It was incredibly family friendly too. Well worth a visit, a hidden gem in Selby.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank busybee16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    45
    23
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Tucked away.....but worth a visit.”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I have passed this restaurant most weekends and decided to give it a go after such lovely reports on it. I ordered a pulled pork with BBQ sauce on a wholemeal bread sandwich, bread was lovely and soft, the pulled pork however was just pork chunks with BBQ sauce it had not been pulled. This made it difficult to cut, the wooden chopping board which it was served on looked impressive till you realised it was half full with a side salad, the lettuce leaves were bigger than the sandwich. I did mention the issue about the pulled pork to the waitress, can't tell you her name as no one wears name badges! She just said sorry I'll let the chef know... That's it nothing else.
My daughter had a ham and cheese sandwich which she said was lovely.
I will return but I won't order the same sandwich again.
The place was busy at 1 pm but we got a table straight away.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johall7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The best hot beef sandwich ever!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Finally sought out the farm shop and cafe after passing the signs from the A19 many times.
Planned on just having coffee but was tempted by the menu.
We sat outside in the sun with our dog on a lovely large bench and table. Went inside to order and the staff were lovely. Treat us the same as the diners inside :)
Both of us ordered the hot beef sandwich (we visited on a Sunday). We were not disappointed. Beautifully presented. Lovely side salad and dressing, deceptive portion of gorgeous home cooked chips (there is more chips in the little serving basket than you think) and a great latte..and...tender medium rare slices of home cooked roast beef..plenty of them too. Served on a lightly toasted seeded ciabatta roll. Wow.
My husband is a big foodie and for him to give high praise is high praise indeed: the best hot beef sandwich he's ever had. Couldn't fault it. Friendly staff too.
Only wish we'd have had room for one of the amazing looking deserts/cakes.
Will definitely have one next time!
Amazing what great food you find just off the beaten track.

Helpful?
Thank JMarshall1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“excellent meal and service”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

we went on saturday night and had an absolutly wonderful meal. could not fault the meal the service or the sweets. Rosy wine was just the right temperature. decor has been well thought out and the owner was present working along side her staff. well done and thank you for a great night . plenty of napkins and all crockery was spotless.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magsj44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Standards Slipping”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have visited this place many times in the past , but have not been for a few months due to being out of the country. Sadly, it is not as good as it was. It was a great place to find interesting food and gift items, see animals and pick your own fruits. The meats were excellent too. The animals have gone, the grassed areas surrounding overgrown and the shop looks like the owners have lost interest and it is not as interesting as it was . It sems they are putting their efforts into the cafe now instead! The cafe is fine- however when we went we found it is lacking service standards however- no napkins, delays and pastries dry! It was wonderful! So owners please get back on track please,as, there are a lot of others out there offering something similar .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ColonelMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spuds and Berries Farm Shop also viewed

 

Been to Spuds and Berries Farm Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing