We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place-Relaxing & Excellent Fishing Too!(Our 3rd Stay)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Selby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yellowtop Country Park
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lovely place-Relaxing & Excellent Fishing Too!(Our 3rd Stay)”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have just returned from another excellent stay at Yellowtop Country Park.
We always stay in Barley Lodge, as we also take our Dog, the Lodge is spacious, comfortable & clean, the bed was very comfortable too. There have been many welcome improvements to the bathroom, love the new Shower now-it was terrible before.
The Hot Tub was an added bonus, it was very nice, only negative, hard to adjust the temperature as it kept on defaulting back up to 39 Degrees, which was a little too hot for our liking.
The on site handy man(think his name was Alan?), was very friendly & welcoming, think he deserves a bigger Lodge though! :-)
We love the setting, Holme On Spalding Moor is a very short Drive away(2 Minutes approx.), has a Chippy/Chinese/Indian/Pubs/bakery & McColl's newsagents, so everything you need.
The Fishing Pond is beautiful, very well maintained & plenty of thought given to Fishing Pegs, we like the fact no one else can 'steal' our Peg as it says Lodge 3 only, which is definitely a bonus!, the lodge has lovely views of the Pond, excellent fishing- ideal for us as we are both keen anglers.
There are a lot of Skimmers and small silver fish, which are a little annoying as they literally 'bite' as soon as you cast in, but if you want to avoid them and go for bigger fish, use Luncheon Meat or Bread on a hair rig set up, as we did, the Carp love it!
We caught loads of Carp, there are excellent quality Mirror Carp, Common Carp and Crucian Carp, we were informed that there's a 22lb Carp and a Ghost Carp too, still trying to catch them!
I caught a lovely 12lb Common Carp & a 10lb Common Carp, these were the biggest we've seen and we've been 3 times now, still holding out for the big one!
I've never seen the owner, but we are not bothered by this, as we know we can find her if we need to, as the Office Is a short distance away.
Our Dog Jessica loves it too, we took her along the disused Railway Line for her walks, spotted a Deer once and several Rabbits & Hares daily!
One little 'complaint', the hoover in the lodge-terrible!
If all I can find to moan about is the hoover, then I know I'm on to a winner! We tried York Lakeside Lodges last September, what a mistake, the worst Lodge I ever stayed in, wish I booked it for Yellowtop at the time as we know we love it here!
We will be returning for our 4th visit soon.
Great place for unwinding!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowcentral, Manager at Yellowtop Country Park, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for such a lovely review!

I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the fishing! Seems you had a good haul even though the 'big one's' remained elusive for you! Something to look forward to on a return visit!

There is always someone on site if you need assistance for anything, but we generally try not to encroach on your break with us unless we need to. And Alan lives in the little lodge by choice!

Looking forward to seeing you again soon! :)

Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    65
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
72
237
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in August 2013 and loved the accommodation and setting. I had booked indirectly (though an agent) so didn't have a lodge with a hot tub, but the lodge was very well equipped and clean. The owners/staff were very friendly and helpful. Yes, it's a bit of a drive to anywhere of interest but that suited us as you benefit from the peace and quite when you are back at the lodge.

The lodge itself had everything in that you need, a well appointed kitchen, spacious lounge with large TV, your own parking space, table and chairs outside and the passing duck to pass the time of day with! Other lodges are not far enough away to feel isolated but not to close to feel like you are sharing rooms!

There's plenty of space for the kids to run around (quietly!), kick a ball about or throw frisbees at each other.

Overall, a very relaxing and safe environment. My only concern/observation would be for smaller kids, is the lake. You really do need to keep an eye on the smaller ones as there's no protection around the lake (which would actually spoil the view!).

Whilst we were there we went in to York for the National Rail Museum, a spin on the York Wheel (smaller London Eye!), a wonder round the shopping outlet, a trip down the River on a cruise boat, a stroll round the city of York and, probably my fav, the maize maze for a whole days fun (it's not just a maze!). We also had a meal delivered one evening from one of the local restaurants (menus in lodge).

This year we are going back and having a lodge with hot tub so we are looking forward to that.

We can't wait!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TrippingDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowcentral, Manager at Yellowtop Country Park, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for such a lovely review! Your stay with us must have been good for you to be able to review us after so long, and have booked to return!

Looking forward to seeing you soon! :)

Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here for 1 night on 17th May. When I phoned up they said they didn't normally book 1 nights, but were more than happy to accommodate. We also got early check in and late check out. We had glorious weather so we sat on the patio over looking the lake side, it is very peaceful. There were blue tits nesting in the cigarette box on the patio, it was nice to watch the birds flying in and out to feed their young. The hot tub was lovely, but as the weather was so hot we didn't stay in for long. The bed was very comfy and the lodge was very clean. It comes well stocked with pots, pans, utensils etc. The park and ride at the designer outlet was great as it took is into York in 10-15 mins and only cost £2.10 return. We will definitely stay again, but hopefully for longer. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppymoo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowcentral, Manager at Yellowtop Country Park, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for such a lovely review!

I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, albeit a short one! We would love for you to come back again, and hopefully for longer!

Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Fantasic relaxing stay here would defo return :)
Lovely clean and comfy lodges and the hot tub was a massive added bonus!
Not alot around the surrounding area so glad we had a car, lovely people we had a problem with the fridge they sent someone within 5 mins

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KatieS1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowcentral, Manager at Yellowtop Country Park, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for such a lovely review and for staying with us for your honeymoon!

I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to ensure our guests have wonderful stay, which means if there is a problem with aim to have it resolved as soon as possible so as not to inconvenience your break too much.

Hope to see you again soon! :)

Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at lodge 20 for 2 nights. It was our honeymoon so we paid a little more for champagne and chocolates on arrival.
The lodge was spotless, kitchen well equipped, the bed was soooo comfortable, and the hot tub was amazing.
The location is also beautiful.
Only mini grumble is the Wifi didnt work, but apart from that I cant fault it
Thank you for a wonderful stay. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowcentral, Manager at Yellowtop Country Park, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for such a lovely review! :)

Congratulations on you wedding! We're touched that you stayed with us for your mini-moon. I'm glad to hear you had a lovely stay with us even with the wifi.

Hope we get to see you again sometime soon :)

Lindsay
Still Rabbit Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

if you want a quiet relaxing comfortable place to stay then this is the place for you my wife and i stayed here for three days over easter the cabin was spot on very comfy beds clean and tidy as is all of the park it has everything you need inside and the fishing right from my own peg beside the cabin was excelent the hot tub out the back is nice and secluded the only drawback was a big step to get in it will deff be booking again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docbobuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowcentral, Manager at Yellowtop Country Park, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for such a lovely review! :)

I'm glad your Easter break with us was an enjoyable one and you got to enjoy a spot of fishing!

Hope we get to see you again sometime soon :)

Lindsay
Yellowtop Country Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a weekend in cabin 18. Cabin was lovely, very clean, warm and spacious, couldn't fault it. Very safe area and lovely views over the lake. Left lots of little extras in the lodge too, things like salt and pepper which can be overlooked in some self catering places. Everything we needed was there. Hot tub was amazing, perfect temperature every time and private enclosure. Only criticism we would have is it's a 30 min drive to The York Outlet which is the closest park and ride, we didn't realise it was this far and even though the Outlet and the service to York is great itself, if it had been closer it would have been perfect! Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowcentral, Manager at Yellowtop Country Park, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for such a lovely review! :)

We try hard to ensure that our guests have a wonderful stay and the lodges provide all the amenities required for a hassle free stay.

Usually the drive to the park and ride is only 20mins but traffic can slow it down. The buses run every 10min so you a least don't have the worry of missing your bus!

Hope we get to see you again sometime soon :)

Lindsay
Yellowtop Country Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selby
12.6 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
13.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
13.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Escrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
7.9 mi away
The KP
The KP
#2 of 6 in Pocklington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
6.2 mi away
Oakwood Lodges
Oakwood Lodges
#2 of 3 in Selby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowtop Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowtop Country Park

Property: Yellowtop Country Park
Address: Foggathorpe | Selby, Selby YO8 6PZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Selby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Selby
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated between the historic City of York and the beautiful market town of Beverley, Yellowtop offers a tranquil and stylish retreat and a gateway to the breathtaking Yorkshire Wolds. A small development of lodges each overlooking a picturesque lake, affords visitors a safe and secure environment to enjoy a relaxing and rejuvenating holiday or short break. We have 1 and 2 bedroom lodges, 16 out of 20 with Private Outdoor Hot Tubs and either Four poster or Floating beds.Perfect for both romantic getaways or family breaks.Excellent coarse fishing* opportunities are available for all ages and abilities and if you are looking for lovely walks there is a direct link to a beautiful bridleway and nature trail network from the park. Children can feed the ducks and collect the eggs or watch the wildlife. The pretty local village is just 2 miles away and hosts a selection of shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yellowtop Country Park Hotel Selby
Yellowtop Country Park Selby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing