We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild oats 2!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Selby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yellowtop Country Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

A little confused as we thought we were looking for a site called 'vale of york' however, it turns out the site is still advertised as 'yellow top' so look out for the signs!
The lodge is very spacious and looks out over a lovely lake where you can see and interact with the wildlife. The area is remote with the nearest village 3 miles on foot down a nature trail. The village has a couple of pubs, a local shop and take away restaurants.
York and the coast are between a 30-60 minute drive away.
We really enjoyed our break however feel with the check in/out times and the some of the little extras would of made our break well worth £500 for four nights.
Recommendations we would suggest are ... Towels! £4 to rent a bath towel and a hand towel is a little much for a luxury lodge. On arrival we had to wipe the limescale off the rim of the hot tub! Also some steps in and out of the hot tub would be great! For short or elderly people this could prove quite a task?!
When you arrive you will need essentials as there is no where close by. The maintenance guy is really helpful and came to our rescue asap when we turned the hot tub off by accident.

Room Tip: Lodges 1-5 are closest to the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowcentral, Manager at Yellowtop Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Hi there,

Thank you for your review.

We are, and always will be Yellowtop Country Park. We do have some lodges that are advertised through Hoseasons and with them we are Vale of York Lodges, formally Yellowtop. Confusing it can be, but we try to ensure that guests that have booked through Hoseasons do have all the information they need to get here without too much confusion.

I apologise for the issues with the hot tub. They are checked and cleaned daily, but obviously not sufficiently for your arrival. We do supply steps if required which the maintenance staff can bring around and set up.

Thanks,

Lindsay
Yellowtop Country Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed in the palomino lodge with another couple! We had a lovely time the only let down being we couldn't fit the hot tub in the back of the car ;)
The lodge was gorgeous and the beds even better, at super king sized!
Would definitely recommend going, take your own towels. They do provide them but it would still be advisable to take some extras. We ate in on both nights- making the most of the hot tub however from speaking to other couples there were nice eateries not far off.
Thankyou

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Finty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Wonderful relaxing break. The lodge was amazing so comfortable and luxurious . Met all our needs facilities very good and welcome pack on arrival. Lodge was very clean and spacious lacking nothing at all.The wildlife was very interesting and two ducks joined us for breakfast on the terrace. We stayed in Bouscat the four poster bed and hot tub were exceptional . Really looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Need to look online for various chioces to suit individual needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowcentral, Manager at Yellowtop Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for your review, I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Can I ask that you post your review on the Still Rabbit TripAdvisor page as the Bouscat lodge you have reviewed is on the Still Rabbit site.

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/VacationRentalReview-g186346-d2080183-Still_Rabbit_Lodges-York_North_Yorkshire_England.html

Many thanks,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here in September 2013 for a long weekend. The lodge was absolutely beautiful in quiet, tranquil surroundings. The place was decorated in a modern way, to a very high standard throughout. The highlights of the lodge were the four poster bed and the hot tub - although the kitchen, bedroom, living space and bathroom were also well presented.
We would recommend Still Rabbit lodges to any couple looking for a romantic getaway. We were never disturbed throughout the whole weekend and the lodges were well spaced apart from eachother, and the hot tub was within a private area on the decking which gave you more privacy. We could have spent a lot longer there and although the lodges seem a little pricey, they are definitely worth the money!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Donna_J_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowcentral, Manager at Yellowtop Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for your review, I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Can I ask that you post your review on the Still Rabbit TripAdvisor page as the Bouscat lodge you have reviewed is on the Still Rabbit site.

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/VacationRentalReview-g186346-d2080183-Still_Rabbit_Lodges-York_North_Yorkshire_England.html

Many thanks,
Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Just spent a long weekend in July at Yellow top Country Park with my husband , daughter and 2 dogs(Buddy & Dave) A very chilled out break with lovely surroundings and some beautiful sunsets, only noise the birds could ask for a more lovely break paid extra for early arrival to which I was glad sun shining and beautiful blue skies
Added bonus of collecting lovely fresh eggs , our daughter make the best boiled eggs for us each morning .
The lodges are all nicely spaced out ours had a view over the lake where we could watch our daughter fish (too which she had to thank a nice couple who lent her a fishing rod) with it's own private fishing peg
We stayed in Harvest Lodge 15, so we can only comment on our lodge as not seen any of the others
The Still Rabbit adult lodges looked lovely for a couple wanting a quiet weekend escape, could be tempted to take my husband but this was about the family and the dogs
Couple of points that we feel we have to point out , we are non smokers, but on the decking outside the ashtray did not look as if it had being emptied hence when you stood outside you got the smell of cigarettes and we did notice some cigarette stubs around the hot tub area.(Little things) We noticed on some of the lodges that the outside sitting area was different to ours they looked newer , while ours was Ok it didn't look as clean and did look in need of an update
The Kitchen area is well stocked with cooking utensils , and very user friendly.
The Lounge was comfortable enough, but we did feel the settee could have being a bit more modern , along with the dining furniture.
Bedrooms comfortable and lovely very happy with the decor
Slightly disappointed in the bathroom , just needed a little bit of T.L.C.
Hot tub was great, lovely and clean
In general the comments we have made are only our opinions , but even though we had two dogs the lodge it self just needed some little touches to update, we have never took our dogs with us before other than in the family caravan and you do feel that this lodge has being neglected slightly because you allow dogs in it.
All in all loved the place, quietness , ducks swimming on the lake, our daughter catching some big fish, chilling in the hot tub , couldn't ask for a more relaxing break, just the little issues !!
But saying what I have said would I go back a most definite YES!! and not a million miles to travel

Room Tip: If taking children , don't forget the fishing rod, never thought our daughter would love the fis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisongdoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowcentral, Manager at Yellowtop Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Hi there,

Thank you for your review! It is good to hear that you enjoyed your family break in one of our lodges and the attractions at the park. This year the lake is excellent for fishing, with the fish biting often for both our beginner and experienced fishers.

As to the couple of issues you have, I can only apologise that the cigarette box was not emptied before your arrival. If you had mentioned it at any point to the staff at the park we would have ensured that this was done for you.

Your comments regarding the TLC for the lodge have been passed on and we will assess the lodge. We are aware that over time our lodges need updating but during the peak season it is not always possible to access the lodges to make extensive changes. But please rest assured that just because it is a pet friendly lodge we don't view it any differently to our other lodges.

Hope to have you visit us again soon,

Thanks,

Lindsay
Yellowtop Country Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is our second visit and again and again we loved it, so peaceful. Staff are so friendly and helpful. Lodges are well equipped and clean, ideal get away from daily rat race! Again we managed to get some eggs from the hens and my son was over the moon. I have already recommended these lodges to friends and will be booking again for next year. Thank you.

Room Tip: If you like fishing choose a lodge near to the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jaykel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowcentral, Manager at Yellowtop Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hi there,

Thank you for your review!

I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us again! And that the standard of our lodges didn't disappoint. The fresh eggs are always popular so I'm pleased to hear you managed to get a few.

Hope to see you again soon!

Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stated at yellow top country park from the 14 till 18/07/14 , we enjoyed the quietness and also the two ducks that come each day to say hello . The cabin was fabulous . We used the park and ride to get into York , also day out to Scarborough also used the park and ride much better than trying to find parking spaces .
Would think about going agian .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank Bogr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowcentral, Manager at Yellowtop Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for your review!

I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our feathery residents. They are partial to breakfast and have been known to tap their beaks on the doors of the lodges to get some from our non-feathery guests!

Hope to see you again!

Lindsay
Yellowtop Country Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selby
10.0 mi away
Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club
6.2 mi away
Oakwood Lodges
Oakwood Lodges
#2 of 3 in Selby
39 reviews
4.7 mi away
Paradise Lakeside Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Naburn Lock Caravan Park
14.3 mi away
Raywell Hall Country Lodge Park
10.7 mi away
The Wishing Well
The Wishing Well
#6 of 9 in Selby
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowtop Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowtop Country Park

Address: Foggathorpe | Selby, Selby YO8 6PZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Selby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Selby
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated between the historic City of York and the beautiful market town of Beverley, Yellowtop offers a tranquil and stylish retreat and a gateway to the breathtaking Yorkshire Wolds. A small development of lodges each overlooking a picturesque lake, affords visitors a safe and secure environment to enjoy a relaxing and rejuvenating holiday or short break. We have 1 and 2 bedroom lodges, 16 out of 20 with Private Outdoor Hot Tubs and either Four poster or Floating beds.Perfect for both romantic getaways or family breaks.Excellent coarse fishing* opportunities are available for all ages and abilities and if you are looking for lovely walks there is a direct link to a beautiful bridleway and nature trail network from the park. Children can feed the ducks and collect the eggs or watch the wildlife. The pretty local village is just 2 miles away and hosts a selection of shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yellowtop Country Park Hotel Selby
Yellowtop Country Park Selby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing