We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicken dippers from the moon”
Review of The Owl Hotel

The Owl Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Owl Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Selby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We are here for a quick mid week tea thinking it would be decent pub grub and it was hardly even that

My son said the chicken dippers (birds eye!) looked like they were from the moon and the were dry, funny colour and looked terrible and had big craters in them! How can you mess up chicken dippers?? My scampi was awful can make better myself too many chips and cold peas. My daughter had the wrap factory!!! Slimy chicken in breadcrumbs (slopping off) with no salsa or other filling just some grated cheese?? Over all absolute rubbish food really disappointed wont ever eat here again.

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank Clarebearleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at the owl for the second time on a trip to York for the weekend, the room was perfect,breakfast was lovely and we would definately recommend it. Excellent value too and if you book online you get 20 % off food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rufusblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stopped at The Owl due to all other hotels in York/Harrogate being full as it was half term.We had a family room for 3 which was based across the car park and it made a pleasant change for my son to have his own room off the main room with a proper bed,rather than a sofa bed.The main room was very spacious and comfy.
We had no option but to eat in as their was no where within walking distance but all 3 nights the evening meals were good,samplying a variety of food,the service was quick and good sized portions(even on the 2 for £10).
Breakfast was cooked to order and again the service was quick,all the staff were pleasant.
We would definitely consider stopping here again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BirminghamMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We recently had our wedding at the owl on 11th October 2013 and really could not fault the service we received from the management Dave and Simon and their team.... The day was outstanding and we really could not fault their service and timekeeping throughout the day.... They were very friendly and could not fault them in anyway. The food was amazing and guests all comented on how nice the venue and the staff were. Dave and Simon truly helped give us the most amazing day we could ever wish for from the ceremony preperation right through to the evening reception and would totally recomend the owl not just for a wedding but for a nice friendly proffesional place to visit for a drink or something to eat!!! Thanks guys... Will most definately be sending a letter of recognition to your employers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Attended a wedding at the Owl recently. Staff eating and on their phones behind the bar gave the impression that serving us was an irritation. Later during the service they were rattling ice,
clinking bottles and banging doors as they prepared the private bar. We could hardly hear the bride and groom giving their vows.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Great staff and great pub food. I always enjoy going to the Owl. Will be going back again for another pub meal. I cannot fault it for the price. I have gone to so called Restaurants in York and this serves up better food than them. Good value for money too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

the staff are very helpfull at this hotel, its also very neat and clean. unfortunatly the food is not great, the menu looks superb but the reality is very basic and of average quailty, i wouldn't choose to have a special occasion here

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selby
2.7 mi away
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monk Fryston
602 reviews
9.1 mi away
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
South Milford Hotel
South Milford Hotel
#1 of 1 in South Milford
336 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Wishing Well
The Wishing Well
#6 of 9 in Selby
317 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hazeldene Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Owl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Owl Hotel

Address: Main Street, Selby YO8 9JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Selby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Selby
Price Range: £49 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Owl Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Owl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Owl At Hambleton Selby
The Owl Hotel Selby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing