We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Amazing Wedding Day”
Review of The Owl Hotel

The Owl Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Owl Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Selby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Dave and Simon was brilliant in the run up to our day and specially on our day, nothing was to much trouble for them, the wedding breakfast and evening buffet was beautiful and our room was clean to high standards, Dave's service was still amazing at breakfast after a late finish from the night before, would highly recommend to couples looking for a venue for there wedding, prices are very reasonable too.. Thanks to Dave & Simon for making our day so special :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

My friend used the owl for a wedding. After the church and arriving at the owl the guests were greeted with glasses of sparkling rose, while simon waited outside for the bride and groom to have their photos with their drinks! the function room was READY ON TIME and set up PERFECTLY! The serving and clearing of the three courses was IMPECCABLE.
The room was set up again for the night do.. Again it LOOKED LOVELY! The STAFF were very easy to get along with and made the day go very smoothly.
They were HAPPY to do MORE than what was required!
They kept EVERYBODY HAPPY and really seemed to enjoy themselves! One even HAD A DANCE with the little flower girl! The rooms were PERFECT for what is required of them, bottles of water, tea and coffee! The beds were comfy and the duvet sets so soft! The bath and shower BRILLIANT! The breakfast was JUST WHAT WAS NEEDED! In total the experience was really ENJOYABLE! I honestly do not think the day could be any better!! THE STAFF WERE ABSOLUTLY AMAZING CANNOT FAULT ANYTHING! Oh also the food was lovely (I had the soup, chicken supreme and profiteroles)!
Brilliant brilliant night THANK YOU

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankieMckeown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Booked a table for my daughter's birthday for a meal with her friends. We were in the conservatory and the cake, balloons etc I had dropped of earlier we're all set up ready. It looked lovely. Even though the rest of the pub looked busy nothing was too much trouble for anyone. So friendly and clearly happy in there jobs. This I think makes for a great atmosphere. The kids loved the food so overall I. Really impressed thank you very much to all staff at the Owl Hotel :)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank cheeky140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Booked 9 rooms and dinner for 17 people. Friendly, efficient welcome, they took the trouble to re-arrange the tables when we asked, service was good, food was good pub grub and rooms were clean and well maintained.

Good choice for breakfast and again friendly service.

Good value for money!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 7 which overlooks the car park, it was well equipped, had tea & coffee making f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cara70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Had reason to stay at this Hotel at the end of Jan 2014 for a very sad family occasion and was thoroughly impressed by the very welcoming staff. David, the Manager, and his excellent staff could not have made us feel any more welcome than they did. The food in the hotel was good as was the catering in the function room. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Would definately stay here again and would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSVN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed here mid week at the end of Jan 2014 whilst attending a funeral. The function room was used for the wake so we experienced pretty much all parts of the hotel service from lunch before the funeral through to breakfast the next day. All food was good for what you would expect from a pub chain offering. The service we were given both by David the manager and our waitress both in the function room and at our evening meal was faultless. The pub itself is very nicely finished inside and had a good atmosphere and was busy so obviously a popular local venue The outside areas look a bit in need of smartening but where doesn't at this time of year? Our bedroom was clean comfortable and nicely decorated and furnished. Overall a very pleasant stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pagefamily2plus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I ordered the platter sharer and the beer battered fish for main course. Whilst waiting for the starter to come we witnessed some inappropriate behaviour from the staff around the bar area and by the two men who were dressed in formal wear of their choice, who appeared to be part of the management team. Shouting at each other very loudly laughing and joking and appeared to be play fighting, a chef sat yawning in the bar area, before he started work? The starter appeared and the waiter apologised as there hadn't been any plates brought to eat it from! The platter was served on a cold serving dish with cold plates to eat from, most of it if not all from a microwave. Our next course beer battered cod, or so they informed us, was disgusting. Thick yellow crust batter with grey hard fish inside. I was waiting for someone to check if everything was ok, no one arrived, far too busy with their social life etc to be concerned about customers . I said I will complain at the bar £37.00 the girl asked for and then asked us nothing further, no eye contact and carried on talking to her colleague about what usually happens on mad Fridays from the management to make there night more pleasant, I was totally aghast, no thank you how was your meal or anything. What has happened?

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank seth30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selby
2.7 mi away
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monk Fryston
602 reviews
9.1 mi away
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
South Milford Hotel
South Milford Hotel
#1 of 1 in South Milford
337 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Wishing Well
The Wishing Well
#6 of 9 in Selby
320 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hazeldene Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Owl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Owl Hotel

Address: Main Street, Selby YO8 9JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Selby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Selby
Price Range: £49 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Owl Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Owl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Owl At Hambleton Selby
The Owl Hotel Selby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing