We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced for special events” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Cliffs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White Cliffs Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Over priced for special events”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We visited for a two night stay over the Valentines weekend. The room was fine, as was the breakfast.
What really disappointed was that on both nights the menu was the same. A limited choice of courses - particularly if a vegetarian - a choice of one. The vegetarian main meal option was an over greasy mess of roast vegetables. For non vegetarians
We have stayed at other times and the food was great but this was parred down to a riduculous amount - and at an over inflated price for what was on offer.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick13658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    99
    38
    14
    12
See reviews for
69
137
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

We arrived very early and were greeted with big smiles and shown to our room. The room was nice, sort of L shaped with a double and a single bed. Bathroom was functional. Our little dog was welcome everywhere except in the restaurant so we had our dinner teetering on the threshold of the restaurant, which although we respect, did seem a bit silly. Anyway food was good (Kent Pheasant apparently wonderful, Goan Fish Curry very good even if it wasn’t very Goan and Sticky toffee pudding to die for). The service was always friendly and smiley. Easy access to cliff top walkies and the rest of Kent. Marvellous. And the village of St Margaret at Cliffe has more pubs and restaurants so the choice is good, without moving the car.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scorchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

White Cliffs Hotel made us very welcome on our 2nd trip, we were upgraded due to our old complaints made on our last stay, they remembered us. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to stay in the Dover area, and to our friends. The staff are very friendly, restaurant food excellent quality which you must try, breakfast shame you have to pay extra for a cooked one, otherwise light continental breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 136domi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Lovely little hotel with great staff - rooms were well equipped and modern. It was quiet when we visited, but the staff ensured everything was provided - good food too!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed at the White Cliffs Hotel, which is situated just outside Dover at St Margaret’s Bay for three nights. Our room was a pleasure after several hours on the M25 and the reception was warm and welcoming. We phoned ahead to tell them that our dinner booking would have to be delayed due to traffic, but this was no problem. The room was spotless and well furnished notability with an iron and ironing board, a treat these days when you normally have to book an appointment with one with house keeping. The bathroom was also very clean though just a tad dated with vinyl flooring and small over bath shower. All in good clean working order though.
Attentive restaurant service and the food of a very high standard, though we were asked three times in one main course if the meal was to our satisfaction. (it was) The only small point would be that we stayed for three nights and this pretty much exhausted the restaurant menu. Although the on line information suggests you book you table well in advance, we found this to be unnecessary as the restaurant was not full on any of the nights we stayed.
Overall I would recommend this hotel for a maximum of two nights with good standard in cleanliness, food and hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rogshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoddesdon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

We enjoyed our 4 day break very much. With Dog in tow we stayed in one of the mews houses and it was very comfortable and clean. The food at the hotel was first rate as was the service. Nothing was too much trouble and somewhere we would thoroughly recommend. I am sure we will stay at "The White Cliffs Hotel" again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Was really looking forward to this stay before our holiday in France. Booked a family apartment through Laterooms, received their confirmation, and we turned up on time only to be told by the (pleasantly apologetic) girl at reception that there was no record of the booking and there was no suitable alternative rooms available either there or at the sister hotel up the road. As we had just completed a 6 hour journey with 2 small children and found ourselves potentially without a room for the night we were naturally extremely disappointed and concerned.
To be fair to the receptionist she did phone round for us, and eventually we were accommodated at the Premier Travel Inn at the docks, but this was not what we wanted to start our holiday. She also said we could probably be given a discount on dinner at the hotel to make up for the situation, but that just seemed like a lot of faffing about to be honest!
I sent a letter of complaint to Laterooms, and the following was their response:-
"Thank you for your email.
Firstly, I am very sorry to learn of the problems that you encountered on arrival at The White Cliffs Hotel. I can appreciate that this may have caused you some unnecessary distress. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience this caused you.
Due to the high volume of bookings processed daily via LateRooms.com, it is essential that we are able to track and verify the status of bookings and the confirmation documents that are sent. When a customer makes a booking our system performs certain automated functions. An email is sent to you to confirm your booking details. Simultaneously an email is sent to the hotel containing your booking details and as backup, an automated fax is also sent. I have investigated the automated processing relating to your booking and I can confirm that The White Cliffs Hotel received your booking details on the 18th of October at 22:58.
Furthermore, as an additional measure, the hotel has access to an extranet that links to our booking system. From the extranet they can view certain details relating to all forward bookings. Your reservation was also visible in their forward rooming list on the extranet.
I am therefore very disappointed that the hotel did not have your room ready for you immediately upon arrival and that they claimed not to have received a reservation from LateRooms.com. Clearly there was a breakdown in communication internally within the hotel.
I hope that my explanation will help to restore your faith and confidence in the LateRooms.com booking process.
Thank you for choosing to book with LateRooms.com and I do hope that we will be able to be of assistance to you again in the future."
So, not Laterooms fault, and to be honest I believe them, as in many years of booking countless hotels with Laterooms I've never, ever turned up only to be told the booking doesn't exist. A cynic might suspect that the hotel was able to get a better rate from another booking and simply 'bounced' ours, however I'll give them the benefit of the doubt and agree there was a 'communication breakdown.'
Unfortunately therefore I have had to give feedback based on what my experience was, which was poor. Sorry owners, but if you want excellent feedback you need to honour the booking.
My advice to people who do book through the internet companies is get confirmation from the hotel as well, otherwise you too might be left with 'no room at the inn!'

Room Tip: Get written confirmation from hotel or you may find yourself homeless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cliffy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Margaret's at Cliffe
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
2.8 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Cliffs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Cliffs Hotel

Property: The White Cliffs Hotel
Address: High Street, St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover CT15 6AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover > St Margaret's at Cliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St Margaret's at Cliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Cliffs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Cliffs Hotel is set in the heart of the picturesque village of St. Margaret's-at-Cliffe under a mile from the beautiful beach at St. Margaret's Bay in celebrated White Cliffs Country. This is the closest hotel in England to the coast of France at Calais 21 miles away and is just seven minutes drive from the port and Cruise Terminal at Dover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, SpeedyBooker.com and Priceline so you can book your The White Cliffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Cliffs Hotel Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing