We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay, great staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White Cliffs Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay, great staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here this weekend for a friend's wedding in Salton Manor, East Langdon. We were arriving late Thursday night and as reception would be closed the receptionist called me at about 6pm that night to give instructions on how to get in, find the room, breakfast times etc, this was extremely helpful. We were also given a complimentary upgrade from the Mews to the four poster room. This room was lovely, spacious and lots of features in the room, beams etc, and lots of storage for clothes, suitcases etc. The bathroom was a good size too, with a bath. My only negative is the shower is a little low and the height couldn't be adjusted. My husband and I aren't tall tall so it didn't really matter but there was copious amounts of hot water to make up for it! The whole room was spotlessly clean too. The next morning, we had a lovely continental buffet breakfast, a great selection of things to choose from - I was pleased you had the Dorset cereals! Reception kindly booked a taxi for us and friends of ours, who were staying the Friday night, to the wedding. The next morning at breakfast the men were feeling the effects of the night before and staff were very friendly and attentive, one brought a jug of iced water to the table, thank you! It must have been obvious they were suffering! :-)
All four of us had a great stay which topped off a fantastic weekend. We would definitely recommend to friends and if we're in the area again we'll be back. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    103
    38
    14
    12
See reviews for
71
138
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

This is a quaint hotel with a personal touch. We stayed fo dinner bed and breakfast. It was cosy, relaxing and the food was lovely. The staff were friendly and it felt like home from home. We liked the furniture and the gardens. Perfect for a romantic mini break and also so close to the bay for great walks.

Room Tip: Room 15... Nice layout
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieH535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Overall great experience for my wife's birthday, service, local information, knowledge of meals etc was v impressive really took care of us

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronzaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed for one night , 2 adult and 1 puppy. Was wonderful, very friendly staff and helpful.I hope to come back when the weather will be much better, not raining all the time.:(.
The food was attended selected and cooked with love. Very nice. Congratulations to all staff for warmful and pleasant night.
Highly recommended place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OanaIftene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed for one night as we were attending a party locally.
We stayed in the 'Loft' with friends. 5 adults and 2 young children. It was fabulous having a lounge and a little kitchenette with fridge. The children had plenty of space.
The food at this hotel is excellent. We had a variety of meals and there were no complaints!.The cheese board was excellent but definitely for sharing. Make sure you know restaurant opening times so that you are not dissappointed.
The staff are very friendly and the whole place is clean and beautifully decorated.
A definite recommendation.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brollycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We visited for a two night stay over the Valentines weekend. The room was fine, as was the breakfast.
What really disappointed was that on both nights the menu was the same. A limited choice of courses - particularly if a vegetarian - a choice of one. The vegetarian main meal option was an over greasy mess of roast vegetables. For non vegetarians
We have stayed at other times and the food was great but this was parred down to a riduculous amount - and at an over inflated price for what was on offer.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick13658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

We arrived very early and were greeted with big smiles and shown to our room. The room was nice, sort of L shaped with a double and a single bed. Bathroom was functional. Our little dog was welcome everywhere except in the restaurant so we had our dinner teetering on the threshold of the restaurant, which although we respect, did seem a bit silly. Anyway food was good (Kent Pheasant apparently wonderful, Goan Fish Curry very good even if it wasn’t very Goan and Sticky toffee pudding to die for). The service was always friendly and smiley. Easy access to cliff top walkies and the rest of Kent. Marvellous. And the village of St Margaret at Cliffe has more pubs and restaurants so the choice is good, without moving the car.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scorchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Margaret's at Cliffe
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
3.8 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Cliffs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Cliffs Hotel

Property: The White Cliffs Hotel
Address: High Street, St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover CT15 6AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover > St Margaret's at Cliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St Margaret's at Cliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Cliffs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Cliffs Hotel is set in the heart of the picturesque village of St. Margaret's-at-Cliffe under a mile from the beautiful beach at St. Margaret's Bay in celebrated White Cliffs Country. This is the closest hotel in England to the coast of France at Calais 21 miles away and is just seven minutes drive from the port and Cruise Terminal at Dover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The White Cliffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Cliffs Hotel Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing