We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White Cliffs Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We used this small but very pleasant Hotel for the night before catching our ship from Dover.




Driving down from Norfolk we stayed overnight at this small but very pleasant Hotel in a little village just outside Dover. Before boarding our ship at the port. Taxi fare to port was £10 there (But over £17 return !!!) can only guess it was Bank holiday !!) We had a lovely very large bedroom with ensuite, with 4 poster bed, Large TV, views over the garden & all toilet & tea making facilities. A good buffet breakfast was supplied (£5 extra for full English). All for £109 which included 2 weeks free car-parking. We had a delicious Fish (local caught) supper. All the staff were very pleasant & very helpful, making us feel very welcome. We would recommend this Hotel & would like to thank them for making our stay enjoyable.







For the price of £109

Room Tip: We were given room No.1
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 161236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    103
    38
    14
    12
See reviews for
71
138
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Stayed one night with our daughter, we had a double in the main house, she a single in the Mews.

A very warm welcome on arrival with assistance with our bags when shown our rooms. The rooms were a nice size with all modern amenities and very comfortable beds. Our room overlooked the rear garden and was extremely peaceful.

My wife and daughter enjoyed Kentish Cream Teas in the garden whilst I enjoyed a pint or two of the local ale which was very nice indeed.

All in all a very nice stay and would definitely return again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark-Guilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
165 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

We booked adjacent cottages for 2 families of 4 (whilst visiting Dover Castle). Accommodation was relatively basic but very clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast - with cooked items optional at small additonal charge (well worth the extra cost - you know it is cooked to order as well ! Would happily stay here again if we need a Dover stop-over.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baronsboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Close your eyes and you could be in France – the excellent quality of the food and wine, earwigging the conversation in French at another table….. its only a few miles away after all and my phone kept welcoming me to France! (no problem – just press ‘decline’). This hotel and restaurant has everything that we like – interesting location in a quiet village close to wonderful iconic cliff top walks, excellent service, friendly and welcoming staff – to us and our chocolate Labrador. Our room in the main house was spacious and relaxing, although it could have had better sound-proofing –we could hear every word spoken in the bar! Will probably leave the dog at home next time and stay before taking the ferry – only 10 minutes drive to the port.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

I booked this gorgeous small hotel for a surprise for my other half and our two dogs. We parked out the front (ample parking which was handy). They gave us room 12 which is also known as the "Lighthouse" room-it opens out onto the cute little garden which was perfect for the dogs. We checked in around 1pm, popped our bags in the room and went exploring! We walked down to the beach (about 15 minute walk from hotel), along to Dover along the top of the White Cliffs(!!), back to St Margaret's Bay for a gorgeous pub lunch (called The Coastguard) then finally collapsed back in our room 4 hours later!! One word of warning, as we reached the beach, our phone signal switched over to a French service provider so we were "roaming" and therefore incurred big charges so don't answer/make calls until you're further back in land! We then went for dinner in the restaurant of the hotel at 7pm. I'm not sure I'll be able to put into words just how INCREDIBLE the food was!! From crab cakes and super fresh calamari for starters to fresh seabass with samphire and sauteed potatoes and (as my other half put it) the best steak he has ever ever tasted!! The service was faultless with our waiter knowing in fine detail all about the food and where it was from, how it was served etc. However, if we thought the starter and main course was good, the dessert blew it off the scale!! I had melt in the mouth treacle tart with Birds Eye custard ice cream and my other half had Earl Grey creme brulee with rhubarb compote.......and a side of golden syrup ice cream!! We also shared a bottle of Gribble Bridge sparkling wine which was divine. The next day we did another 3 hours of exploring up to the Pines Garden then along to the Dover War Memorial-well, we needed to burn off the 3.5 courses each we'd had the night before!! The breakfast at the hotel was lovely and all cooked to order. Also fresh fruit, yoghurt, muesli and juices on the buffet table. We definitely felt that one night was not enough, we switched off the moment we reached the hotel and totally chilled out and would have been nice to have continued that for at least another day! We cannot wait to go back to this gorgeous little find, even just for a Sunday Lunch (which sounds delicious) and a stroll down to the beach.

Room Tip: If you have dogs room 12 opens out on to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1983zaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We arrived early and enjoyed a bar lunch. The log fire added to the ambience although we found that the bar and restaurant area were more like a bistro than when we had last stayed, with a chalk board menu.

We had booked a room in the main house which was large and overlooked the church. It was comfortable and well appointed.

Dinner was in the restaurant and, as usual, the food was excellent. Although very busy the service was very good, efficient and friendly. The young staff were well able to multi-task.

Breakfast offered a good buffet and extras could be ordered at a small supplement. My only criticism was poor coffee!

Gavin Oakley maintains an excellent standard using local suppliers and foraged food. We recommend the hotel and will certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gourmet16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Located in the centre of the picturesque village of St Margaret's at Cliffe. This hotel is stacked with character and is a sister hotel to Wallets Court located just a short distance away on the edge the village. We arrived mid afternoon on a Sunday during the Easter weekend, the restaurant was very busy as were the staff so check-in was rather curt. Having found our room we returned to the bar area to order a sandwich to be told the kitchen was busy and it would be at least an hour before they could take our order.....clearly my expression of discontent struck a chord and the duty manager managed to Russell up a couple of sandwiches,which was much appreciated. The bar area is small but comfortable and the rooms are well appointed with TV, tea and coffee making facilities and free wifi and the room was comfortable, bed, pillows etc were fine as was the bathroom, albeit the shower was cosy. We chose to dine at the nearby Smugglers Inn, which was an excellent choice. At closing time we returned to the hotel to be faced with the challenge of entering the correct door code (turns out that a vital letter was missing from the key fob!) which we only discovered after we called the duty manager out! Anyway worth staying for a night or two if passing through this part of Kent and its historical coastline.

Room Tip: Code to stay in main building with a front facing room overlooking the church - some noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Margaret's at Cliffe
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
3.8 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Cliffs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Cliffs Hotel

Property: The White Cliffs Hotel
Address: High Street, St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover CT15 6AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover > St Margaret's at Cliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St Margaret's at Cliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Cliffs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Cliffs Hotel is set in the heart of the picturesque village of St. Margaret's-at-Cliffe under a mile from the beautiful beach at St. Margaret's Bay in celebrated White Cliffs Country. This is the closest hotel in England to the coast of France at Calais 21 miles away and is just seven minutes drive from the port and Cruise Terminal at Dover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The White Cliffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Cliffs Hotel Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing