We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White Cliffs Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Good place to stay. Close to Dover but in a nice small town. We had a family room, great concept large enough to sleep 2 adults and 2 kids. Restaurant was nice as well great food and decent wines. Good place if you want to stay close to Dover.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erasmusbrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here this weekend for just one night for a last minute escape to the sea.
We drive down & did Dover Castle (amazing) then nipped down the road just 10 mins drive to the tranquility of St Margaret's. Warm welcome, clean nice room (great quality toiletries) & an appealing ethos. Only reason the room didn't get a 5 is the lack of bulb in a lamp & the rather random placement of the shaving light : ie not near the mirror!
Ate in the hotels restaurant that evening : very good, fresh food & brilliant service.
We really enjoyed our stay & would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rockinrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Only stayed here for one night as had a function nearby but I would certainly come back. We stayed in the mews building which was spotless, airy and decorated in keeping with the coastal area it is situated at. Ren products in the bathroom.

We had one drink out in the garden prior to going out and at the time I remember thinking i would have liked to have had longer sitting out there breathing in the lovely evening air in what was nice surroundings. Wonderful breakfast the next morning.

The staff are friendly, easy on the eye and effortlessly appear to provide great service. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank st5om
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed here with our two kids in the family apartment. Not what we expected, and probably should have booked rooms in the main building. Clean, but had little things like an unplugged, cord wrapped lamp in the hallway, broken lampshade in one of the rooms, and an outdated bathroom. The accommodation itself wasn't great.

BUT...staff were amazingly nice and helpful, especially our waiter for dinner in the restaurant. Our kids ordered a quirky English type soda which smelled like gum, and after tasting it and not quite liking it, the waiter told the kids he was impressed that they tried it and brought them something else. Service was excellent. Food was outstanding, and it was fun to sit out back and drink the local ales. We really enjoyed that relaxed aspect of our stay...and after a couple of those, the apartment looked much perkier.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Konatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walletts, Manager at The White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thanks ever so much for your kind words about our team that look after all of our lovely guests. That is really important to us and we go a long way to make sure everyone who stays is happy. We're also so glad you liked our food offering and local beer as much as we like it too! We've had a look a the lampshade and replaced it and unwrapped the cord around the lamp and plugged it in. That was a nice easy fix! The family apartments are put together with families in mind and are simply furnished with children in mind. Having kids ourselves we realise that they have busy fingers and are good at tinkering with anything that is not bolted down or bullet-proof. The bathrooms were refurbished in 2012 and again aren't flashy but are functional. When we next refurbish we'll have a look at what would make them more up to date. Thanks for your feedback, keep it coming, after all feedback is the breakfast of champions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our 15th wedding anniversary before heading off in holiday to France. We could have stayed in any one of a myriad of hotels, but chose to spend a little more and stay at the White Cliffs. It was well worth it.
The Cliffs is a beautiful hotel with superb service (we've done a separate review for the restaurant) and friendly staff.
We stayed in the 4 poster bedroom with views over the walled garden at the rear. The rooms are largely 'English Country House' in style and are immaculately clean and decorated.
The bar and restaurant are Excelent too.
We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BackBeatBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We booked this hotel on the recommendation of a friend, we had friends visiting from Australia and wanted somewhere to stay near Dover.
What a great location, what a great hotel. The rooms were lovely and in great surroundings. Very comfortable beds. The staff at reception, the bar and breakfast were all very helpful, smiley and chatty.
Enjoyed a beer in the bar one night, very relaxing and chilled.
Breakfast, very tasty, I was tempted by the sausage sandwich one morning, great value and proper sausages, very tasty.
Worth noting if you are a light sleeper ask for a room that is not above the bar/restaurant, you can hear the noise, to me it is all part of the atmosphere and it did not go on after midnight. Everyone in my party agreed that it was not too noisy and they all slept well.
While in the area, Dover Castle is a must see, so much to see and do and such a span of history. We also walked the White Cliffs awesome views. The Shepherd Neame brewery in Faversham is another great day out.
Looking forward to staying again when I next visit Kent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBS_Ferrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is a good hotel. We stayed in a three bedroom, two bathroom top floor apartment with a roomy lounge and an equipped kitchen. It was a little warm in the hot weather but all the windows open and the breeze cooled things down nicely. The restaurant was good for dinner (served outside in the garden) and the buffet continental breakfast. The wifi worked really well in our rooms. The staff were friendly and helpful. It is a handy spot to be based for seeing Dover, et al.

I do have a couple of observations .......... not complaints!

It was surprising that wifi did not connect in the outside garden. It works really well everywhere else and if would have been handy to research our next day plans while sitting outside with something refreshing. Not a show stopper, just a little surprising.

The hotel is very keen on water conservation and this is commendable and supported. But the top floor hand held showers both cut out once raised to shoulder height ...... need a little more pump pressure chaps! Also a wall mounted shower rack would be handy. I, and lots of others, don't like one handed showers.

However, overall a good hotel and I would stay there again. I hope you will.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Margaret's at Cliffe
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
934 reviews
3 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
138 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
566 reviews
10.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Cliffs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Cliffs Hotel

Address: High Street, St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover CT15 6AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover > St Margaret's at Cliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St Margaret's at Cliffe
Price Range: £92 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Cliffs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Cliffs Hotel is set in the heart of the picturesque village of St. Margaret's-at-Cliffe under a mile from the beautiful beach at St. Margaret's Bay in celebrated White Cliffs Country. This is the closest hotel in England to the coast of France at Calais 21 miles away and is just seven minutes drive from the port and Cruise Terminal at Dover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The White Cliffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Cliffs Hotel Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing