We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White Cliffs Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The food alone is enough reason to stay at this hotel. Just phenomenal. We stayed in the main house this time (as opposed to the outdoor Lighthouse room last time) and it was a fair bit noisier, not helped by the fact we had a family with young children who were running around in the room above us from very early on the Sunday morning, but this is to be expected with an old property. The staff, yet again, went above and beyond and were very knowledgeable and helpful when we asked the questions about where the food was sourced etc. After a 7.5 mile walk along the cliffs and back (!!) we were greeted with a piping hot glass of mulled wine and a slab of ginger and cinnamon cake-lush, then retreated for an afternoon nap in our room. This really is an understated, chilled out little gem of a place. Heading back there next week as my fiance is craving their steak & salted caramel ice-cream!!!

Room Tip: The lighthouse is perfect if youre travelling with dogs as it opens out on to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1983zaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    103
    38
    14
    12
See reviews for
71
138
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I have stayed here twice and would definitely stay again. Rooms are lovely, food is great, staff are so friendly, professional and efficient. This place has such a good vibe and atmosphere. The country coastal village location is beautiful, only a few miles from Dover port and so easy to find. I wish we had had more time to be able to take the short walk to the beach, which is the subject of much of the excellent artwork displayed in the restaurant. Next time hopefully! Having stayed both times travelling to France, this stopover was where our break began. I would certainly go back for a weekend break and intend to do so. The fish we ate for our evening meal was piping hot, super fresh and simply delicious. All in all, a great place to stay where we were very well looked after and had a great nights sleep in a very comfy bed. Breakfasts are very good also. Looking forward very much to next stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManchesterTravbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerisé
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed for the second time on our way back to France, such a useful stopover before catching the ferry from Dover and dog friendly too. We asked for the same room as it opens onto the garden and it is easy to take our dogs out without disturbing other guests. Comfortable bed and linen, very friendly staff and easy access to good walks (although the weather was terrible this time and so walking was not really an option) Breakfast was good for us as we don't like a full English, plenty of choice on the buffet and cooked breakfast optional with a supplement for those who do.We had a deal for d, b & b, not the cheapest stay of our trip but convenient on all counts.We were able to choose from the main menu to the value of the deal and were not restricted to the special menu. We would definately stay again. One small point was that we arrived early, and as the hotel was almost empty, it would have been nice to be able to access our room a little early (asssuming of course that it had been cleaned and that it had been unoccupied that day, possibly so....)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Interesting 3 star hotel - rooms are in different locations/buildings in the hotel grounds - hopeless in bad wheather - the main bar/dining area is pub like and friendly - the menu never changed and we got fed up with it after a couple of days [the special of the day never changed 'crab linguini] but the young waiting staff did a good job.
The location is poor - 3 miles to the 'white cliffs' and beach.
They offer all inclusive deals [dinner, bed, breakfast] what the don't tell you is that the special menu available for this deal is an insult and you will end up buying of the main menu. Also breakfast is the same continental only - want anything cooked - you pay!
All in all the location and all inclusive con means you should probably give it a miss

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinemajim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walletts, Manager at The White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
If you check our location you'll see we are less than one mile from the magnificent cliffs and beautiful beach, not three miles as stated in this review. There is the lovely National Trust White Cliffs Visitor Centre three miles towards Dover Castle which is well worth a visit though. We do not offer "All Inclusive" packages. We do however offer special Dinner, Bed and Breakfast rates and clearly state on our website, on written email confirmations, on registration forms and menus what these packages include. Check our website for Special Offers all year around. We have a seasonally changing menu with a choice of around ten main courses always available as well as a Catch of The Bay (In stormy weather and this can be limited as the boats don't go out from nearby Deal, also don't expect fishermen to go out on Christmas Day or Boxing Day;-). We always ask our guest to check their bill so this one piece of advice you can trust. We always react to and welcome honest feedback. Please keep it real you lovely people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here after purchasing a living social deal and we were not dissapointed. The bedroom was in the main building and was charming, a little quirky, with floors and walls that sloped at odd angles, but the bathroom could have done with an upgrade.
We ate in the restaurant and the meal was delicious and there was also a good wine choice. We ate in a pub along the road the following evening so you are not tied to eating in the hotel if you don't want to. The bar area was small and cosy in the hotel, it was great to sit on a comfy sofa, and there was a wide variety of drinks on offer including real ales for the husband. Our room was directly above the bar area which did mean that it was a bit noisy, but the noise did not continue too late so didn't disturb our sleep too much.
Breakfast was yummy, eggs benedict comes highly recommended.
The hotel is very well situated for a walk along the white cliffs of dover, and also a visit to Dover Castle - although a car would be needed for a dover castle visit as it's not really within walking distance.
I thoroughly enjoyed our short break and would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Rare has been the hotel where we have received a warmer welcome or enjoyed ourselves as much. St. Margaret's at Cliffe is a very fine base for visiting Dover (but 10 minutes down the road) and seeing the famed eponymous white cliffs. Upon arrival, the staff could not have been friendlier. The room was large and comfortable. The bathroom too was quite large. The room was clean, and the bed very comfortable. Sleep quality was excellent. Note the rooms are up a flight of stairs and there is no elevator (or lift). Dinner was included in the price of the room and it was one of the best meals we enjoyed during our entire trip. We had the dining room to ourselves, except for a local sitting at the bar enjoying a pint. After dinner, we sat with the staff for a drink. We decided we wanted to spend a second night there and figured we would have no problem securing our room, as it appeared the hotel was empty aside from us. Regrettably, the hotel was booked full for the following night, so we moved down the road to a sister property. We will review that, but let us say that although less expensive than the sister property, we enjoyed our stay at the White Cliffs more than at its more luxurious sister. If touring the Dover area or spending the night prior to taking a ferry to France, visitors will do no better than to stay in this very pleasant and well serviced hotel just down the road.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeighCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed here this weekend just gone and staying here was part of the reason we had a lovely weekend. The hotel is ready cosy and the staff make you feel really welcome. It very central to pubs and local shops. We loved the Cliff walks.
I would recommend the hotel and area for a weekend away. The food is good, especially breakfast which is all locally sourced.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanne764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Margaret's at Cliffe
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
3.8 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
118 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Cliffs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Cliffs Hotel

Property: The White Cliffs Hotel
Address: High Street, St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover CT15 6AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover > St Margaret's at Cliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St Margaret's at Cliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Cliffs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Cliffs Hotel is set in the heart of the picturesque village of St. Margaret's-at-Cliffe under a mile from the beautiful beach at St. Margaret's Bay in celebrated White Cliffs Country. This is the closest hotel in England to the coast of France at Calais 21 miles away and is just seven minutes drive from the port and Cruise Terminal at Dover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The White Cliffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Cliffs Hotel Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing