We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely and quiet with loads to see nearby”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White Cliffs Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lovely and quiet with loads to see nearby”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

had a 2 night special, and will return if offer is repeated. nothing at all to complain about.
evening meal was enjoyable and relaxed, breakfast lovely and fresh and apetising, buffet was plentiful, with beautiful tasty ham & cheese. no need to add the cooked meal, but we did pay the extra £2.50 on the last day, to set us up for the journey home, and it was lovely too.
rooms were very clean, with extra touches like mineral water each day.
all staff very polite and friendly. noone made us feel bad about using a voucher, which can happen in some hotels.
restaurant was popular, so make sure you book, but they also serve delicious takeaway local fish and chips, would be especially good on a warm summer evening.

plenty of local walks including down the cliff to St Margaret's Bay. Dover castle is a quiet, easy, 10 minute drive, well worth a visit, it's also only 10 minutes to the harbour. hgreat for a day trip to France.

we used the pool and spa at the sister hotel a couple of minutes drive away, very enjoyable although pool water a little cool. it has a jet stream to swim against if you so wish.

I've put excellent for each category, simply because I found no faults e.g. TV stopped working, but put right immediately. also had 2 good nights' sleep.

Room Tip: we liked our ground floor room in the annexe (Orchid) cute and very olde Kent atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    107
    41
    14
    13
See reviews for
73
145
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

A peaceful location with all the comforts required. Restaurant reasonable, bar okay and bedroom comfortable. I stayed for three nights whilst at a conference nearby. It would have got five stars if my room provisions were replaced as required (shampoo and tea/coffee). The three breakfasts were good, one dinner was excellent. The bar had a good stock of bottled real ales.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is a lovely hotel. My Canadian friend and I had one one of the family apartments so we could have a room each. It was perfect with a lovely comfortable kitchenette and sitting area separate to the bedrooms. The staff were all so lovely and the restaurant was great. Breakfast was delicious especially the croissants. A great location in a quaint and quiet Kent village.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed in the Gull room, last weekend, it was really lovely. The food was excellent, the Romney Marsh lamb and the breakfast was all local food and very well cooked.
The hotel itself looks really nice, and the staff were friendly and welcoming.
I would suggest you bring your own hairdryer though.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I took my husband away for a night as a treat for his birthday and we weren't disappointed. The room was lovely and clean, the staff very friendly and the food in the restaurant was fantastic (particularly the chocolate brownie!!). I would definitely stay again. The only slight disappointment was that our bed sloped slightly due to the floor, which wasn't the comfiest night's sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed in the Loft Room with 5 of my friends, we were celebrating my forthcoming marriage and we had a fantastic time.
From start to finish the staff were great, friendly and very helpful.
It was also great value for money.
The room itself was very spaciuos, bed comfortable and facilities top notch.
A good time was had by all and we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The food alone is enough reason to stay at this hotel. Just phenomenal. We stayed in the main house this time (as opposed to the outdoor Lighthouse room last time) and it was a fair bit noisier, not helped by the fact we had a family with young children who were running around in the room above us from very early on the Sunday morning, but this is to be expected with an old property. The staff, yet again, went above and beyond and were very knowledgeable and helpful when we asked the questions about where the food was sourced etc. After a 7.5 mile walk along the cliffs and back (!!) we were greeted with a piping hot glass of mulled wine and a slab of ginger and cinnamon cake-lush, then retreated for an afternoon nap in our room. This really is an understated, chilled out little gem of a place. Heading back there next week as my fiance is craving their steak & salted caramel ice-cream!!!

Room Tip: The lighthouse is perfect if youre travelling with dogs as it opens out on to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Margaret's at Cliffe
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
878 reviews
2.8 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
5.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about The White Cliffs Hotel

Property: The White Cliffs Hotel
Address: High Street, St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover CT15 6AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover > St Margaret's at Cliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St Margaret's at Cliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Cliffs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Cliffs Hotel is set in the heart of the picturesque village of St. Margaret's-at-Cliffe under a mile from the beautiful beach at St. Margaret's Bay in celebrated White Cliffs Country. This is the closest hotel in England to the coast of France at Calais 21 miles away and is just seven minutes drive from the port and Cruise Terminal at Dover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The White Cliffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Cliffs Hotel Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing