We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only stayed 1 night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park Resorts
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Only stayed 1 night”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Went to visit family, booked 3 rooms. All very clean, bright and airy in rooms though furniture had seen better days, drawer handles missing. Rooms very warm and noisy, at night. Extractor fan in bathroom also not working. We did not eat there so unable to comment on food. Had to wait for night reception staff to finish his cigarette outside, before he came in and answered the phone, and asked myself what I wanted!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie1121J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review after your recent stay here at St. Margaret’s Bay hotel. Feedback such as this is invaluable for us as it ensures we can address issues that our customers experience and ensure that we learn, and therefore improve the service and standards we are delivering. It is disappointing to hear that you stay was not a quiet one.

I will pass on your comments about the security team to the security manager who I am sure will be disappointed with the standard of service that was delivered to you on this occasion. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused. Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review. We hope to see you again in the future.

St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park Resorts
01304 853 262
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    58
    26
    11
    13
See reviews for
69
77
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Just returned from my daughter's 18th birthday which we had at the hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean. Also the towels were spotlessly clean. We also had use of the spa whicj was a bonus. We had a meal at the restaurant which was delicious and a good variety. The staff couldn't be more helpful and especially bekki in entertainment who couldn't have worked harder and did very well as we were begging for more karaoke at 1 in the morning! Room rates really reasonable and I thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandgrounder1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Just got back from staying at the St Margaret's Bay Hotel for my nieces 18th. Rooms were clean and airy with good shower. Pool was an added bonus and there was also a sauna and jacuzzi. The food was good and plenty of it, but what made the weekend really special was the fantastic staff at the hotel. Everyone was very friendly and helpful from the bar staff through to the staff who sorted the food. A big thank you to Bekki for the evening entertainment - it really made the day finish with a bang - awesome :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaccol48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

From the moment we arrived and one of the receptionists tried to talk to my deaf wife whilst chewing on a bisect, we felt unsure of this one, a feeling that was further compounded when the other receptionist try to talk to my deaf wheelchair bound wife from behind a barrier.
Unfortunately we did not book the hotel directly ourselves so were not made aware that they had no rooms with disabled facilities (not even doors wide enough for wheelchairs or bars around the toilets), however to have a member of staff approach my wife and tell her that dogs are not acceptable when the dog was wearing its assistance dog vest, and that the reception team were informed of the dogs presence was very very surprising.
Although the rooms were well furnished and well set out, there were layers of dust on a number of surfaces, and when we moved one of the beds over we found a dirty tissue under the bed.
Finally when I my evening meal finally arrived ( a burger) it had not been fully cooked and was in fact still cold in the middle.
On a more positive note the evening and night staff were helpful polite and eager to be of help.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Just got back from two nights at St Margaret`s.We were visiting relatives in the area. The hotel was as we expected, we had stayed at the park before but in a bungalow, being the closed season we srayed at the hotel.A minor problem with the toilet flush was fixed immediatly!Breakfast was extra but very good and freshly cooked for us.Pool complex very good , staff very pleasant and helpfull, room spotless . Good value for money and certanly comprable to others of that price. Thans to the great staff we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186460Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed here last weekend,and thought it was a cheap place to stay .We had use of the swimming pools which were lovely and warm,and also the spa facilities(there was a small gym as well but didn't use it)The only downside was that it was advertised as having entertainment but as the rest of the campsite is closed there was no entertainment.The restaurant was ok and the bar was open but it was not big enough for the number of people there especially as they had a pool table in the middle,don't know why they didn't open up the entertainment room which also had bar and would have accomodated more people.We actually saw some people leave to go down the town,but the walk was down an unlit country lane and we didn't want to drive.Remember this price is only for the room,meals,including breakfast are extra.
All in all it was a cheap break for a winter break.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights here and had no complaints. The room was quite basic, but was clean, tidy and functional which was just what we wanted. It was end of season so not very busy, thus no waiting at the bar or for meals. Also the attached Health Centre was a bonus being free to use pool, spa and sauna. Not much in st.margarets bay, but quite close to the white cliffs visitors centre and walks along the cliff edge (not to be missed). All in all a good break and probably better than we had expected.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Margaret's at Cliffe
0.2 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park Resorts

Property: St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park Resorts
Address: Reach Road, St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover CT15 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover > St Margaret's at Cliffe
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St Margaret's at Cliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Margaret`s Bay Hotel - Park St Margaret`s At Cliffe
St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park Resorts Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing