We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for one night before an early ferry...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park Resorts
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel was extremely reasonably priced and conveniently located, and that's exactly what we wanted for a place to stay for one night to save ourselves a long drive before an early morning ferry. This is the reason for my rating.

As for our room, the hot water only got moderately warm in the shower, the toilet refused to ever flush completely (take that how you will...we ended up notifying the front desk about it when we checked out), and the mattress was lumpy. I'm pretty sure we could feel every spring in it. The one window in our room that would open also only opened about an inch, making for a very warm night.

Despite how busy the place was, noise didn't seem to be a problem.

Finding the place was another issue. Both we and the sat nav were under the impression it was located just off the main road and was a stand-alone place akin to a B&B, and we had some difficulty finding the hotel. It was only when we stopped to ask for directions that we found out we were in the right place.

As we'd booked here to avoid a long ride to the ferry the following morning, I might be willing to pay a little more next time for somewhere a little more comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on our Tripadvisor page, I apologise regarding the maintenance issues in your room and can assure you this is being dealt with.

I am sorry that you felt we were a little out the way for your trip across to France and that you had a problem finding us. I will double check the directions on our website to make sure that they are clear for our guests.

I do hope that you will one day return to experience our usual high standards.

St Margaret’s Bay
01304 853262

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just returned from St Margaret's :) a group of various ages from 3 to 87 wow. we all had a great time from bingo to dancing to arts n crafts to just playing in the playground :) Everyone so friendly and helpful. A lovely little community who welcome groups like us. Lots to do in the area, Dymchurch, Folkestone or just the White cliffs, so much to do.
The caravan was lovely, plenty of romm for all 7 of us.
For me, it took me back to years n years ago , had a great time dancing the night away :) who would of though a nanny and grandaughter could win prizes in a dancing competition, we were both picked, fantastic, so proud! Thanks to all the staff in the bars and restaurant - great food and really good deals. A special thanks to Nicky, Becky and Rebecca. THANKS AGAIN

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank cazz1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for leaving your review on our Tripadvisor page, we are delighted that your stay was a good one.

It is nice to see that you took advantage of the local attractions around us.

How lovely to read that granddaughter and nanny both won prizes, and we are glad you enjoyed the entertainment provided.

Thank you for the comments regarding the cleanliness, your accommodation and the staff - this gives the team a real lift and we thank you again for taking the time to leave such a nice review.

We hope to see you all again very soon.

St Margaret’s Bay
01304 853262

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

we have just come back from here we been here about 4 times now we had a fantastic week the team stars nicola,bekki and rebbeka were all amazing and did a fantastic job our bungalow was lovely and clean and well equiped the food in the restrant was lovely couldnt fault the sunday carvery all the bar staff were frendly the park was nice and clean its very handy for dover deal and canterbury my daughter loved the swimming pool ect ect will defo be going back

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank lesleydunn42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are delighted that you had a brilliant holiday.
All of your comments have been passed on to the relevant team members, who pride themselves on delivering exceptional customer service, and I can assure you they are much appreciated.

Thank you again for the review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

St Margaret’s Bay
01304 853 262

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for 4 nights and were very pleased with the cleanliness of the room. The staff were very friendly - there was a mix up and they initially gave us a twin room when we booked a double, but this was very quickly resolved. Our bin was emptied daily and nothing else was touched. On the downside, the toilet barely had enough power to flush anything down and occasionally we had to resort to pouring water from the kettle down to give it more power, and the sink plug was very stiff and by the third day it got stuck down and so water drained very slowly over several hours - not handy when brushing your teeth in the morning! I'm sure this would have been resolved if I mentioned it to reception but we didn't feel it was worth the hassle for only 2 more days. The park itself is based on top of a cliff so there are huge hills to get up coming from Dover, but the drive is fantastic and the views of Dover castle and the sea are great once you get a little way towards dover. The facilities on site are also excellent, with 2 saunas, 2 spa pools and a smaller swimming pool which is slightly warmer than the main pool separated from the more popular main pool to give a little more privacy from families. I was not expecting such fantastic facilities from a family holiday park! However the restaurant was nothing special, we ate there on the first night and decided to eat elsewhere for the rest of the break - I ordered spaghetti bolognese and after a long wait (which we were warned about) it turned up and looked like they'd used noodles as a substitute for spaghetti.

Overall I am very pleased with the quality of our stay and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for leaving a review on our Tripadvisor page. Your feedback is most welcome.

Your comments regarding the food service and maintenance issues in the room will be passed on.

I hope to see you return in the future and glad that you felt the holiday was good value for money.

St Margaret’s Bay
01304 853262

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is the 3rd year in a row that we have holidayed at this park. We prefer the 2 bedroom bungalows as I am a big chap and they have decent sized bedrooms. The accomodation and the whole park are clean and in good condition.
The childrens playground lets the place down a bit as there is not much equipment there.
The only other thing that we weren't too keen on was the entertainment. In the evening there were little kids games on from about 7.30 untill about 9.30. In my opinion, far too long. There were only cabberait acts on for 3 nights out of 7. Other nights involved various silly quizzes or games run by the park staff and were really rather boring. Considering the price we paid, I thing the evening entertainment should be much better.
Having said all that, the staff were all very friendly and helpfull and we would use this park again.

Room Tip: Bungalows are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are delighted that you had a nice holiday and that you like the bungalows we offer.

All of your comments have been passed on to the relevant team members who pride themselves on delivering exceptional customer service.

I am sorry that the entertainment wasn’t to your liking at times and this has been passed on to the team.

Thank you again for the review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

St Margaret’s Bay
01304 853 262

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I decided at the last minute to take my 3 kids away and booked that day. We arrived and were greeted by the friendly staff. The caravan we had was brand new (result) and the kids felt straight at home which was great! Although some parts are a little dated this is more than made up for by the parks brilliant staff. In particular Bekki, Rebecca and Nicky for keeping the kids entertained and also the brilliant Brooke behind the bar who always remembered our drink order and her local knowledge was invaluable which she happily shared with a smile. Will definitely bring the kids back soon! Greg

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greggyboy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Very satisfied with this holiday park, all staff were very helpful in more ways than one. The cleaning staff made an excellent cleansing job of the bungalow and the beds were fantastic. All the grounds are certainly keep up to scratch as is the personal rubbish people tend to leave.
Very handy having a shop on the park but I hope they can get more stock in for future residents.
All meals very satisfactory and the evening bingo was a real enjoyment to play. Great pool also.
It is very handy being close to Dover, 'Just down the road' as they say! Also having St Margaret's beach only a short distance away proved satisfactory as well.
This is certainly a holiday park we will return to I guarantee.

Melvin & Margaret.

Room Tip: Lower front rooms have good French doors to open and use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melvin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are delighted that you had a brilliant holiday.

The play park is something that we are hoping to improve for next season.

All of your comments have been passed on to the relevant team members who pride themselves on delivering exceptional customer service.

Thank you again for the review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

St Margaret’s Bay
01304 853 262

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Margaret's at Cliffe
3.7 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
945 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
0.2 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park Resorts

Address: Reach Road, St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover CT15 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover > St Margaret's at Cliffe
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St Margaret's at Cliffe
Price Range: £38 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Margaret`s Bay Hotel - Park St Margaret`s At Cliffe
St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park Resorts Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing