We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great appartment in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Fairlight

Welcome to Fairlight
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Fairlight
Outside the front of Fairlight The walking area between us and the White Cliffs from the rear of the property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Welcome to Fairlight
Outside the front of Fairlight
The walking area between us and the White Cliffs from the rear of the property
Our cosy sitting room is ideal for an evening in by the fire
Seating to chat!!
Have a lovely meal and sit round the dining table
Have breakfast round the kitchen table
Prepare a meal in our newly refitted kitchen
Relax in a bath or shower
..or just enjoy the spacious bathroom...
Relax in a large double bedroom, with wash basin
..or make up at the dressing table...
The twin bedroom
Enjoy your dinner by the dining room fire...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
David C
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great appartment in a great location”
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was our second trip to stay at Fairlight this year while in Kent to visit relatives. The flat is perfect for what we need - one double bedroom and one twin bedroom, which works for our family of 4 (two kids 8 and 10). The flat is well equipped (Wifi, TV with DVD player, kitchen well stocked with pretty much all the things you need, and all in good working order) and perfectly clean. It is located in a quiet spot in St Margarets, a short walk down a footpath from a residential road - so very quiet. Parking is available at the rear of the flat, but it is a bit of a tight squeeze down a partially tarmacked and bumpy track. The owner lives above the flat and was very pleasant and helpful while we were there and has some very friendly cats!

St Margarets is a great village - a couple of good pubs, couple of cafes, village shop etc. The flat is a 10 minute walk down to the bay (a bit longer walking back up!!) and some nice walks across the cliffs both east and west. Walmer/Deal is a short drive away. Canterbury and Sandwich a bit further. So well positioned for trips out and things to do.

I'm sure we'll be staying there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing really!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
Lovely to see you again. The cats send their love!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely English Cottage in the ideal spot.”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Lovely cottage in St Margaret's. Magical spot within walking distance of the white cliffs of Dover. Family cats who visited were a delight. Would happily stay there again. Comfortable for 4 people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location
Liked least: parking is at a distance from the cottage. Can't do anything about this, pack light :)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette L
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean, lovely cottage!”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The 2BR cottage was clean, quiet and comfortable. It was a perfect location from which to see Dover and Walmer castles, the Dover cliffs and close to the seaside town of Deal and medieval town of Sandwhich. The town of St. Margaret at Cliffe is quaint with several pubs in walking distance. Many walking trails nearby for avid hikers. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoeXc90
Warrenpoint
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friends Wedding”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We arrived at Fairlight on Friday 11th July for our friends wedding on the 12th. The house is wonderful and it had everything we needed for our 3 night stay. House is spotless, warm and welcoming.

Tricia gave me the number of the local hair salon for my daughter and I to get our hair done, which was really appreciated. Tricia came out to meet all of our family and made us feel very welcome.

I would highly recommend staying in the Fairlight and the Bay is breath-taking.

We will definitely be back again for a vist.

Many thanks

Maureen

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent location for us
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martine27...
Paris, France
1 review
“A very relaxing bank holiday weekend”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A very cozy apartment in the heart of a lovely village with great pubs and restaurants and amazing sceneries (including a most impressive walk on the cliffs). Steven made us feel very welcome and we felt we were part of the village for a little while.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva H
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Real English countryside”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a lovely break there. The appartment is comfortable, nice and clean, kitchen was very well equipped. Towards the gate you come through a green footpath and our kids enjoyed they could run around the house on their own. Wonderfull English countryside and escape from a city! On the other hand around just a few miles away is so much to see so this is a perfect location for many trips in Kent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The place
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chukker6
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“perfect break from London”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Exactly what we were looking for - a short break from London in a beautiful area. We enjoyed our stay. The flat was warm and cosy and has everything you need - we appreciated the deck of cards. There is much to see nearby, though it was a shame the Dover castle is only open on weekends and we missed a visit as we didn't plan our time properly.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing