We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like family”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Margaret's at Cliffe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holm Oaks Guest House
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We arrived at the Holm Oaks Guest house via taxi after Avis Rent a Car left us stranded, we should have been checking in around 6.30pm, we finally arrived a lot later than this. On arrival Pauline and Dave welcomed us into their house like they were welcoming family members. Pauline comforted my wife who was still visibly upset by the Avis debacle. After checking in, Pauline enquired if we had had dinner, we informed her no, she immediately rang the local pub and asked if they could hold the chef for us and explained our situation, the pub gladly obliged.
The next morning we were greeted by a wonderful english breakfast. the world was back on its axis for us.
Dave then drove us back into Dover to the Avis office, on mentioning that we missed the Dover Castle last night he proceeded to take us the back way to see the castle, he even went the next step and drove us to see the white cliffs of Dover.
We could not recommend this B&B anymore they look after you like family and we will be going back again to stay with Pauline and Dave, we have also recommended them to all our Uk family.

Room Tip: Book the double room, with en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter4213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at Holm Oaks for one night before our ferry crossing to Dunkerque. Everything in our room was perfect from the snow white bed linen and towels to the comfortable beds in our spacious comfortable room. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and Pauline was very friendly and helpful in suggesting the best place to get an evening meal in the village. Full English breakfast was most enjoyable with cereal or grapefruit to start and far more toast than we could manage. Certainly one of the best guest houses we have ever stayed at. We would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: From previous comments, it would appear that all rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HappyWanderer817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Great location in a lovely village. Ideal for ferries and eurotunnel. Fantastic host and the best full English breakfast money can buy. We stayed in the family room which is very spacious and more than adequate for 3 people The rooms themselves are simply 1st class, quality throughout.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DyMaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Just came back from a fabulous weekend... Rooms are5* and nothing is to much trouble for the owners. Well worth a visit.. Breakfast you can o combination of absolutely anything you ask for... Served quickly and piping hot

Room Tip: All room where nice but my favourite is the ground floor.. All have Large TVs with a large selection...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pammy0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Stayed just one night but would be happy to stay longer as you couldn't fault it. our room was the king size one with a lovely roll top bath ensuite. Great for a romantic getaway or a special treat but such good value why stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spendingpension
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Thank you Pauline again for our recent stay, I'm sorry we missed you but hope you had a good time at your family wedding, your staff looked after us excellently. We will be back again to stay at your excellent B and B

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paulineb1854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We needed a B&B near a family member who lives in St Margaret's Bay but who was being discharged from hospital. Pauline made us welcome and comfortable. No problem that we did not return until midnight because of delay at the hospital.
Certainly recommended.

Room Tip: The "standard double" has plenty of room and the bed quite big enough for two reasonably t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeoffreyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Margaret's at Cliffe
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
326 reviews
2.8 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park Resorts
St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park R...
#2 of 2 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
185 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Holm Oaks Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holm Oaks Guest House

Address: Holm Oaks Dover Road, St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover CT15 6EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover > St Margaret's at Cliffe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St Margaret's at Cliffe
Also Known As:
Holm Oaks Guest House Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing